We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We booked last minute to have a chilled weekend together and this hotel hit the spot. I was able to book in for an amazing Saturday lunchtime massage, which started the relaxation time well... Lots of lounging, munching, paper-reading, drinks-slurping, comfy sleep-time, cups of tea with biscuits later, we left...fully energised and ready for the working week once more. I'm hoping we can do it again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazylegbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    330
    129
    49
    30
See reviews for
173
314
25
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

After reading some recent reviews on this hotel, I was somewhat dubious - however; I need not have worried.

The hotel is not particularly attractive from the approach, but inside it is very swish and modern. The trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were lucky to get a room upgrade to a gold king room overlooking the golf course. The room was super - everything in full working order and the bed so comfortable.

The gym and spa is well appointed, but busy at weekends with children in the pool etc so not especially relaxing at times.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants other than breakfast which was excellent. We opted instead to eat in a steakhouse in Maidstone called Flaming Henrys - save your money and the Oak on the Green - a 15min walk / £4 taxi ride - lovely gastro type pub with lots of charm, but very very busy.

I'd just like to give a nod to the staff that provided service that was second to none - that's bar, reception, concierge, spa, waiting and housekeeping staff.

Lastly, I would just add that I think this hotel would make a brilliant base for exploring, business or golf rather that a romantic type break - that said we had a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhams8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband booked an overnight package [deluxe room and Leeds Castle tickets] at the Tudor Park Marriott for Valentines weekend.
We arrived at the hotel early and they allowed us to check in early. When we got to the room we found we had been given a twin room and not the King Size room we requested.
We went back to reception and asked if they could change us to a double room. We were told they had absolutely no double rooms and they also told us it was our fault we'd been given a twin room as we'd only requested a king size room not guaranteed it. We were told that there were 2 options on their website, one requests a king size room and the other guarantees it. We did not see two options when we booked and couldn't see it when we checked the website again when we got home.
The receptionist was very indifferent and we were really upset by the experience as we were repeatedly told it was our fault. After a few minutes we decided to cancel, as we were able to cancel without charge at that stage.
At this point the receptionist did then offer us a double room but we decided not to stay there as the weekend had already been ruined, and he only offered us an alternative room once we had decided to cancel.
We were due to spend £154 with the hotel for the room and Leeds Castle tickets. The other criticism we had was that when we initially checked in the Leeds Castle tickets were not immediately available, and the hotel was quite vague about when we would be given the annual tickets.
We were also disappointed to see a sign at reception advising guests that the Zest Bar was closed every evening in February after 5pm. Bearing in mind the prices of the hotel restaurant we had planned to eat there, but this closure was not advertised on the website.
We didn't stay in the hotel and returned home, so can't comment on the rest of the hotel.
We definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic weekend away, as the attitude of the staff ruined the weekend and we didn't even stay there!
We did still visit Leeds Castle and would definitely recommend that, but would recommend you stay at another local hotel.
We usually stay in Premier Inns so we had expected a lot from this Marriott hotel. But the service was far worse than we have ever experienced in a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngwife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed in the suite (they only have one). It's a junior suite. When you flush the toilet water splashs everywhere. Overall it was very tired and need of some attention. The only plus point is that it was only £154 per night. Room service got our order wrong and blamed it on new staff. Overall the hotel is in a nice location with a lovely pool and health club. However even the pool need some repairs. Not really up to normal Marriott standards

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazohyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stay at the Tudor Park each October on our way to Calais. We used to stay each December but found we couldn't get a table in the restaurant because of Christmas do's and the hotel was very busy plus the hypermarkets in France were extra busy.

The hotel is beautiful - set in it's own grounds with a golf course. It is only just off the M20 but very quiet. There is a fitness centre with a pool. There is a resaurant which serves lovely food but at a price. There is also a bar/restaurant near the golf course which is cheaper or you can get food served in the bar area.

The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. We have never had a problem with any of them. We especially like the concierge who is called Roy. What a nice man! He will recommend places for you to see and to eat at.

We stared, a few years ago, to walk the short distance into Bearsted (about 15 mins) where there is The Oak on the Green. This is a fantastic pub and restaurant. It doesn't matter what time you go at it is always busy. You need to book about 14 days in advance to make sure you get a table. The food is wonderful and very big portions!

We would always stay at the Tudor Park when in this area and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I have previously stayed at Marriott hotels and resorts in various countries. My husband and I booked a 'golf, stay and dine' package. We enjoyed our time on the golf course and are very grateful to our starter as he was most helpful and friendly as this was a new course to us.
The leisure facilities were clean and very relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, quiet and modern. Our big let down was at dinner at their main restaurant, the Conical Grill. It was a Sunday night stay and the hotel was very quiet. From the front desk staff on down I knew we weren't going to get exceptional service as there were a few 'sour' faces amongst the staff. I know that sounds unfair to the ones who did smile or acknowledge the guest, but unfortunately, the unfriendly and lackadaisical ones are the ones you remember the most. At dinner we were seated promptly and although I had heard about slow service at this Marriott, as there was no wedding or large event taking place I thought that we'd have an enjoyable, well cooked meal. Well I was wrong. There were three tables occupied before we arrived. There were two more couples seated after us and a table of four. It took nearly two hours to finally get the dessert menu which I did not get to eat as it contained a dairy ingredient.
We ordered a simple starter (prawn cocktail), a main (steak and sea bass, which we paid a supplement for) and only one veg. It was such a slow service that as the waitress/waiter come out of the kitchen, all eyes (my fellow diners and myself) tracked the food and where it was being placed. We all gave a silent sigh and just waited our turn. It was so slow to be served that I couldn't even complain about the portions which were very small and garnished with a bit of wild green (sorrel) and four stewed cheery tomatoes on the stem.
By the time we left the restaurant I was hungry again!
Other than the dining experience, I'd recommend staying at the Marriott which was excellent and it's leisure facilities were great but do not eat there. It would be worth a cab ride or a long drive to a nearby restaurant or pub.
Sorry to focus on the food, but when you have been out enjoying the countryside or golfing or being active sightseeing,etc (that is why you choose to stay in this area, right?)
and you want a good satisfying meal (there are not many choices about-and they know it) and we got the exact opposite. I've never submitted a review before but my disappointment led me to write this review so that perhaps future patrons will not have to endure this.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We had a one-night stay for my partner's birthday, chosen very carefully as we knew we wouldn't have much time and therefore wanted "everything under the one roof" in terms of dinner, spa, pre-dinner drinks, relaxing bedroom, hearty breakfast, good view, good bath etc.

Since it was a special occasion, I'd called and double checked lots of (important to us) details before booking online. As it turned out, we were really disappointed that much of what we'd been told wasn't accurate. No individual issue was a disaster but the combination of many small issues really spoiled the occasion. Generally speaking, at the price paid we'd expected better.

The main restaurant (Conical Grill) closed earlier than we'd been told so we had to eat in the leisure club bar. Staff didn't apologise for the mix-up or seem too interested. Food in the bar was tasty enough but service was slow and not the setting for a special occasion. Would be a nice bar to have a snack with friends after the gym, watching TV.

Despite being told we'd have a bath, bathrobe and slippers and requested a high level room with view over golf course, we were given a lower ground floor room with disabled facilities. Service at reception was slow when we'd checked in so we didn't go back to ask to be moved.

Room was nicely decorated but had no bath at all, just a disabled shower with seat, rails, emergency pull cord over the bed etc. Toilet had disabled handles etc. Felt more clinical than relaxing luxury. No bathrobes/slippers were provided though they were listed as the extras we'd paid for.

We didn't use the gym (though looked good) but enjoyed the pool and sauna. Unfortunately, having had no bath to soak in, we'd thought we'd unwind in the jacuzzi instead but it wasn't working. We were told this was a regular problem so maybe not best choice of hotel if that's what you're after. A night time swim would be recommended as the pool is beautifully lit at night and during day time it seems to be open to public with kids etc.

Buffet breakfast was fine but nothing special. Restaurant wasn't too busy when we went in but tables weren't being cleared from previous guests so looked untidy and had limited choice of where to sit. The self-service hot buffet didn't have anyone around to restock it so there was little on offer. Although the residents' bar had good choice of different teas there was no choice at breakfast and no-one was available to ask for more coffee or tea. Standard of service would've been okay for a cafe or motorway services but fell short of 4* hotel.

As another reviewer said, we too had confusion over what was included in the rate we'd paid. Perhaps that was why we didn't get the upgraded room/extras we'd expected. Although our rate included 2 drinks from mini bar, we received a bill a few days later.

In summary, I'd say it's a nice hotel for staying over on business and having a quick swim and bite to eat in the morning but doesn't live up to expectations for a leisure break and the lack of attention to detail makes it rather overpriced at the £130 or so that we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bearsted
2.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
13.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ashford Road, Bearsted, Maidstone EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Bearsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bearsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a retreat 30 miles from London to the elegant luxury of the Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Enjoy championship golf, a full service spa, indoor pool, 2 bars and outstanding restaurants or explore Leads Castle and Canterbury Cathedral just minutes from our hotel's doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Maidstone
Maidstone Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing