We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion of Kent

The Lion of Kent
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lion Of Kent Is a traditional English Inn and Gastro-Pub. With a Sunday and Wednesday Carvery offering a choice of various Roast meats, Roast potatoes the largest Yorkshire Puddings you will ever see in Kent! With all the trimmings and a selection of eight seasonal vegetables. Our modern Gastro Pub menu with a twist on some pub classics. With many meals in our 2 for £12 deal. Advanced booking is recommended but not essential as we will always accommodate walk in bookings normally within 30 minutes of arrival. Food Service Times are Monday to Friday midday until 3pm & 6pm until 9:00pm Saturday & Sunday midday until 9:00pm. The pub side of the business offers a wide selection of traditional draft beers and at least 4/5 real ales rotated on a weekly basis, Varied wine list all within a comfortable warm and friendly atmosphere showing all major sporting events in the bar area with a good local trade seven days a week.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Friendly staff, good service at bar and in restaurant. You can choose to eat in the bar, outside or in the conservatory all from the same, quite extensive menu. We have been here quite a lot, it has changed hands fairly recently. We had the burgers (as usual!), they are excellent quality and nicely presented with a bit of fresh salad and some super chips. The blue cheese and balsamic vinegar dressing on mine was delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jomullner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    26
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious carvery and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our family had a lovely carvery meal this afternoon/evening, loads of choice and really yummy beef, gammon & pork and not pricey. Absolutely content now (a little stuffed I have to say! Eyes bigger than our bellies!). Recommend the Toffee Sundae too. Staff gave us a warm welcome with good friendly service. Will visit again soon! Recommend!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ridiculous price for two glasses of wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The food was average and the service was poor. The prices were....well the restaurant was empty so somebody knew what we did not but the Kick Backs music group were amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Went for a birthday meal on a Wednesday for a carvery. Very reasonably priced but a bit disappointing, starters and desserts were ok but the vegetables (not many to chose from!) from the carvery were all looking pretty tired and there weren't many left so everyone in our party just went for the choice of meats, potatoes and yorkshires. Overall thought it was pretty average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PB212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“King prawn curry was UNSHELLED shrimps!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Give it a miss.

Had to send a curry back as the tiny shrimps (sold as king prawns) weren't even shelled. Came back only half done, had clearly had somebody manually picking them off my plate.

Previous visit, Sunday buffet, they closed the buffet to "re-stock" half way through our table getting their order, so some people ate and some people didn't. Farce.....

Recommended for a beer if you like big screens all over the place bu that's about it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisSamandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion of Kent also viewed

 
Bearsted, Maidstone
 

Been to The Lion of Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing