We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under rated”
Review of Souffle - CLOSED

Souffle
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“under rated”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

have been to this restaurant before, booked to go with some friends on 20 th march. still as good, the service very good without being overdone the tables set with clean white linen everything spotless, eally enjoyed , and the food, cooked well and presented perfectly, well done to all the staff who looked after us, very friendly, cant wait for another special occasion to return

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    13
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just brilliant”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Food is epic, staff are great. What more do you want? !

Never had a bad meal, and use for all special occasions.

This is actually reasonably priced.


Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a meal for 2 (a birthday celebration), having never eaten here before we expected great things. To be honest the food was good, excellent in fact. But it was let down by poor service. There didn't seem to be any one person waiting on us, we waited about an hour for our main course only to be told "that because we were in the corner, it is easy to be missed!!" Was difficult to get service when wanting a drink (their loss as I was ordering another glass of champagne). When we did eventually get a jug of water, they topped up our sparkling water glasses with tap water, and suggested we add some more sparkling to it to bring the fizz back! Its a reasonably size restaurant on two levels, however only one ladies toilet which seemed to be busy! I don't think we will be back. Shame as the food was lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pansie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for client entertaining”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Used as a regular venue for client dinners, the restaurant is a good balance of quality, service and beautifully prepared food. The restaurant is intimate, with unobtrusive music in the background enough to 'cloak' the conversation from other tables but not to intrude on your own.
Our client feedback back on the evenings is very positive on their experience especially for the creative use of ingredients and flavours. The creative experience of the chef is very much present. No microwave catering portions here! Presentation is excellent with attention to detail showing at each course (a nice touch is the 'amuse bouche' served after orders are taken) and portions are about taste and quality and ample to reflect the quality of the dishes. Extra side orders can be added should you feel especially hungry.
The wine list is well balanced and priced
Table service shows the professional standards of the waiting staff, discreet but attentative. The table is set to white linen with glasses for water, white and red white pre-laid. If you are having fish, then a fish knife is discretely set and the meat knife removed.
It is the attention to detail, service and freshly prepared and imaginative cuisine that make Souffle our restauraunt of choice in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willpettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charity lunch menu”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yet again, Souffle has excelled! Fantastic value set lunch at £12.00 for two courses, and you donate what you wish into a separate envelope for the Heart of Kent Hospice charity. Enough choice on the menu, what we had was delicious. Discreet, efficient service, relaxed atomosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jomullner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souffle also viewed

 
Bearsted, Maidstone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing