We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions of traditional pub grub”

The Oak on the Green
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bearsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A PRIVATELY OWNED FRESH FOOD RESTAURANT AND FREE-HOUSE PUB FAMOUS FOR FANTASTIC SERVING STAFF AND FOR SERVING THE BEST AGED SCOTTISH STEAKS AND HOME MADE PIES AND PUDDINGS.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big portions of traditional pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have visited the oak many times and it's a good spot for big groups of friends to get together. Food is pretty decent and consistently good. It's pub fair, not fine dining, and there is a big menu with lots to choose from. Steamer (suet pudding) is great if you are not on a diet!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Royboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    410
    149
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very busy again, but service still good. Food excellent, especially roast belly of pork and sage mash.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place seems always busy so do book first, the food is very nice but it is a bit expensive. The tables that you sit at could be a little bigger too for four grown adults to get around, but it does make it cossy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“just keeps on getting better....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The oak on the green has seen several changes over the years, but the most recent ones have definitely been for the better. The whole place is alive with tradition and that "old kent pub" feeling. Although on the village green you could be in the middle of the countryside. Being a sister pub to The Old Mill and The Chequers on The Green, the standards as just as high with food being freshly prepared and cooked for you when ordered - not reheated and kept under a warming lamp like other places I've been to. The staff are polite and friendly even when they were full to capacity we didn't have to wait long for attention. We like this pub and have used it for light lunches and also evening meals and have always been impressed.
It was great on this occasion to have a really nice lunch then wander across to the green to watch the village cricket match - so very English through and through!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adie_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A very nice pub, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I decided to try this pub with our 2 year old daughter based on it's review in the Good Pub Guide and it was only 40 mins drive away. It was very busy which is always a good sign but we booked in advance so our table was ready when we arrived. We were informed that an emergency gas lever had been pressed in their kitchen by mistake and had caused a food delay of around 20 mins. They were very apologetic but we had no problem with this as we were in no rush. We ordered our food and around 25 minutes later the waitress arrived with our food, but it was our mains - we hadn't even received our starters yet! She apologised and rectified the problem immediately. Our starters arrived minutes later, which were lovely, fresh and ho.. When it was time to receive our mains my ribs were lovely but my Wife's chilli was hard and dried out on top. We informed the waitress who agreed that it wasn't satisfactory and brought out a fresh one a few minutes later. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was a great pub to spend a Bank Holiday Monday in. When we asked for our bill the Manager came over to offer his apologies as he'd heard (via the waitress) that our dining experience wasn't what it should have been and said he had taken the chilli and a round of drinks from our bill. I thought this was a very nice touch and very unexpected as we hadn't actually 'complained'. You could sense that excellent customer service was really important to them and issues that occurred was very rare. Considering there was a gas problem that caused a backlog in the kitchen I think they handled it really well and we would happily return and recommend this pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak on the Green also viewed

 

Been to The Oak on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing