We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

the indoor heated swimming pool is very clean with plenty of seating around it. The breakfast includes eggs, bacon, waffles, sausage, yogurt, pastries, milk, various juices and cereals. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are firm. the lobby is lovely with a large screen TV. There are even free cookies available at the front desk at night. All of the employees are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for recently visiting our hotel and sharing your comments. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our many amenities as well as your room. We work hard to provide our guests with great service and some extra perks such as the evening cookies. Our staff members have been well trained and we thank you for your recognition of them. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    115
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
143
90
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Was biten all over by bed bugs. Hallways smelled of smoke . Supposed to be a non smoking hotel and staff was not responsive when I reported it. Bedding thin & worn. Room not very clean. Pool party prohibited use of pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Nora,

We appreciate your concern and I would like to assure you we take bed bug claims very seriously. Unfortunately, you did not report your experience to us and therefore we were unable to quarantine your room upon departure, as is standard procedure. However, we quarantined your room the moment we saw your review, and we thoroughly investigated your claims. Coupled with the fact no other guest has reported any such claims, I am relieved to let you know none of our rooms contain
bed bugs. Your satisfaction is nevertheless very important to us and I invite you to contact me directly for the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Respectfully,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed labor day weekend and we loved this hotel! We stayed in the jacuzzi suite which was immaculately clean and very modern. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked very inviting. Breakfast was well stocked and ample seating room. Hotel is also in a great location - near interstate, tons of restaurants nearby and Christiana mall was a 5 min car ride. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AANaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We are certainly glad you stayed at our Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn during your recent stay. Our newly renovated rooms are indeed very modern. Our housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of keeping them immaculately clean. Thank you for your kind review on our hotel and the surrounding locations. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hotel itself is very nice, the breakfast is basic. Processed eggs, either bacon or sausage. Then you have the waffles, bagels, cereal, and oatmeal. Coffee, tea, and milk. The fitness room looked decent, and the pool area was nice and clean, The beds were average and hotel employees varied depending on who you were talking to. Overall. I would recommend this hotel. Kids will enjoy the pool, and eat the food that's already prepared such as a bagel or a waffle if you cook it yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Candi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the breakfast and immaculate shape our hotel is in. Thank you for your review and for enjoying our hotel. We hope you choose our hotel the next time you are in the Bear/Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel has come through again. I was on the road for a long time and this area is a good stopping point. Even calling late at night, the front desk was cheerful and helpful(and I was not the only one checking in late). It was neat, clean, had a great breakfast. There was tax free shopping nearby and then I could continue on my way. I will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We are so grateful that you choose to stay with us again and will in the future. Thank you for your review showing our hard work to assure all guests experience courteous service as well as a clean and comfortable well maintained room. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Never stayed in a Best Western Plus before. I hear they are relatively new and much nicer than most standard Best Western hotels. Staff friendly, breakfast was good and room was very nice and clean. Beautiful indoor pool area. Great for families traveling with kids, as I sometimes do. Restaurant in walking distance so I did not have to get back in my car after driving all day. All around, a good value. Ran into the owner on my way out. He was very nice and asked how I enjoyed my stay. Also, helpful with directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus the next time you are in the area. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorchester, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

BAD NEWS: Lobby smells- hallway smells- room smelled worse - carpet stunk- refrigerator not clean and smelled - linens and bed sheets and pillows were old, worn and not pressed. One bed spread soiled. Room cloth furniture was soiled and dirty - hotel provided "fabreeze" spray bottle and an air purifier machine. A non-smoking room that smelled of smoke. On Sunday mornings share lobby breakfast area with a large local church group conducting service.Upon checkout, the owner after I brought these items to his attention literally dismissed me with a wave of his arm and hand stating "ok,ok,ok" in broken English. I learned the desk clerk is not only the desk clerk but, does the laundry (sheets, bedware, pillows cases, linens) at night, cleans the lobby, breakfast area, pool and restrooms. Night clerk attempted to address our issues but would not change our room because my wife travels with a "service animal". I could not cancel stay because we booked over the internet.The clerk did provide two clean sheets for bedding. This hotel is NOT a PLUS and Best Western should be embarrassed to have its name associated to this form of hotel management. We are loyal Best Western travelers for many years. We have enjoyed BW but this was deplorable. I think getting dismissed after addressing the owner when checking out really told the story.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine service we strive for with all our guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. We are glad that we were able to talk to you in more detail regarding your stay. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our department heads and the steps have been taken to ensure these faults are solved promptly and impeccably for our guests.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in our area. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
Address: 875 Pulaski Hwy, Bear, DE 19701-1252
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing