We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Towanda, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms were nice a little dusty in a few places. The bed was comfortable. The food wasn't the best and it wasn't replenished when it ran out. There never seemed to be enough coffee. The staff didn't keep the tables clean. There seemed to be random people visiting others at the hotel and eating breakfast with them. One morning there wasn't anyone behind the lobby desk and finally the person that was doing breakfast went over to help some people that were at the desk. The first Best Western we didn't really care for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and providing feedback regarding your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly Ginny Schatzman at 302-326-2500.

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    115
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
142
90
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had to have my home exterminated for termites had to put the whole family up for the night . Was a last minute reservation,they accomadated us no problem,was nice that they except pets since I have two,couldnt get pet boarding last minute,pet rooms were clean and did not smell like most pet rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations, as well great services, amenities and a hot breakfast to start your day! We are pleased that the Best Western PLUS provided your family and pets a pleasant” home away from home” during the challenging times with your home. We hope that you will come and stay with us for a mini planned vacation 
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outside Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in Bear for 5 days over Mother's Day weekend. It was a very pleasant stay. The property is a little older, but well maintained for the most part - few things here and there - rust on the outside of the fridge, a torn ceiling tile, but nothing that affected my choice of whether I would stay again. The breakfast bar had a decent variety, and it was nice to have a choice of scrambled eggs,waffle, or other variety. The coffee was good too. Refrigerator and microwave in our room was great. Indoor pool was nice. The fitness room was good, only problem was when someone got on the elliptical my view of the TV from the treadmill was completely blocked. The room was clean, but some of the snowy white linen had an occasional yellow stain. The beds and pillows were reasonably comfortable. The front desk staff were nice, but I must have missed those great front desk staff everyone else raved about. The 2 negatives I have are both revolving around the the desk: We were not told of an increased rate for the weekend nights until we checked out, and the girl was not helpful about it. Also, a little thing but, we were never given info about a rewards program for the chain. Because our daughter moved nearby there's a very good chance we would stay there again, but I would rather stay where I was earning reward points toward future stays.

Room Tip: Hallway toward the pool tended to have a bit of a mildew smell, I would not want to stay too close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that we failed to enroll you in the Best Western Rewards program during your stay with us, however I have enrolled you today and you have received the points for your stay with us, and for all of your future visits!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Delaware!

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great front desk staff! They go out of there way to make sure you have a pleasant experience. They seem to cater to construction and sales folks but treat ed us like one of the family. Breakfast was very good and overall it was a great e4xperience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank refreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We very much appreciate you taking the time to review the Best Western Plus and for sharing with other travelers. Our entire team is very dedicated to providing “the best home away form home experience” to you and all of guest’s.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brittany was phenominal. She was very pleasant and helpful. She gave me a bag of toiletries for me as a birthday gift. The location of the hotel was great for us. Your staff was very helpful on our departure with helping us with information on the rewards program. Overall your staff was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for a great review and Happy Birthday! We appreciate you recognizing our staff, all of our team takes pride in providing our guest’s with exceptional hospitality. Yes, Brittany is phenomenal! Glad to hear that you joined the Best Western Rewards program, Best Western has a great rewards program that I am sure you will enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a very good experience at the Best Western. The only negative we had were the dispensers on the wall in the shower. They didn't work very well. The eggs, bacon and sausage were kept in warmers but they weren't very warm. All other food items were good. We had no problem with the internet and the staff was very nice. Overall, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 253patricial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We are glad that you had a good experience! We thank you and appreciate the feedback regarding our Hotel, both what we are doing well and what needs improvement. This is very helpful as we continue to make enhancements to our existing services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a room near expressway and there WAS a lot of road noise. Unfortunately, I believe all rooms face the highway. Pool area and pool not keep very well. Hotel in great area for exploring all things in area and major cities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for spending your birthday with us and a very Happy Birthday to you! We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to learn after your stay that you experienced noise from the highway, as we do have rooms that face away from the highway and would have been glad to move you. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
Address: 875 Pulaski Hwy, Bear, DE 19701-1252
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing