We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“would stay again!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

had a great stay - staff was awesome esp Ginny who helped us find some local attractions, spots for dinner and took time to get us situated and comfortable - she made us feel at home! Considering we have a few options to choose from when visiting this area, I would defiantly choose this hotel again and I would send family and friends here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca T, Front Desk Associate at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We greatly appreciate such positive feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are happy to hear that you felt at 'home' while staying at the Best Western Plus. We also are glad to hear that you will recommend your family and friends to our location, as word of mouth is sometimes the best form of advertisement. We hope to see you the next time you visit Delaware.

Warm Regards,

Best Western Plus Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    115
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
146
90
35
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Manager and Staff at the hotel went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. We stayed at the hotel for my daughters wedding which was at the Chesapeake Inn, in Chesapeake City MD. The Manager made sure that everything went as planned. We couldn't of pick a friendlier staff...They went out of their way to put a wedding card in my daughters room and a bottle of Verdi...it was so heart warming...I would stay at this location anytime I need a room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western PLUS, Bear, DE, and for the outstanding comments! It was truly a pleasure welcoming you and your guests, and are so happy that everyone enjoyed there stay. Congratulations to the Bride & Groom!

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean, welcoming staff, great pool and hot tub, and good breakfast buffet with eggs, sausage and bacon, and the usual carbs, Warm yummy cookies in the evening and convenient to everywhere I want to be in Northern Maryland, Southern New Jersey and PA., and all of Delaware. It has become our home away from home.

Room Tip: Higher floors mid hotel have no pool noise, but guest laundry is 2nd floor near the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We greatly appreciate such positive feedback, and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations, as well great services, amenities and a hot breakfast to start your day! We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed a pleasant “home away from home experience.”
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very clean and staff very helpful! Breakfast was ok ran out of a certain item. Room was on the third floor nice, but a little noisy from some type of motor running a couple of times during the night. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are glad that you had a good experience! We thank you and appreciate the feedback regarding our Hotel, both what we are doing well and what needs improvement. This is very helpful as we continue to make enhancements to our existing services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towanda, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms were nice a little dusty in a few places. The bed was comfortable. The food wasn't the best and it wasn't replenished when it ran out. There never seemed to be enough coffee. The staff didn't keep the tables clean. There seemed to be random people visiting others at the hotel and eating breakfast with them. One morning there wasn't anyone behind the lobby desk and finally the person that was doing breakfast went over to help some people that were at the desk. The first Best Western we didn't really care for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and providing feedback regarding your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly Ginny Schatzman at 302-326-2500.

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had to have my home exterminated for termites had to put the whole family up for the night . Was a last minute reservation,they accomadated us no problem,was nice that they except pets since I have two,couldnt get pet boarding last minute,pet rooms were clean and did not smell like most pet rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations, as well great services, amenities and a hot breakfast to start your day! We are pleased that the Best Western PLUS provided your family and pets a pleasant” home away from home” during the challenging times with your home. We hope that you will come and stay with us for a mini planned vacation 
Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outside Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in Bear for 5 days over Mother's Day weekend. It was a very pleasant stay. The property is a little older, but well maintained for the most part - few things here and there - rust on the outside of the fridge, a torn ceiling tile, but nothing that affected my choice of whether I would stay again. The breakfast bar had a decent variety, and it was nice to have a choice of scrambled eggs,waffle, or other variety. The coffee was good too. Refrigerator and microwave in our room was great. Indoor pool was nice. The fitness room was good, only problem was when someone got on the elliptical my view of the TV from the treadmill was completely blocked. The room was clean, but some of the snowy white linen had an occasional yellow stain. The beds and pillows were reasonably comfortable. The front desk staff were nice, but I must have missed those great front desk staff everyone else raved about. The 2 negatives I have are both revolving around the the desk: We were not told of an increased rate for the weekend nights until we checked out, and the girl was not helpful about it. Also, a little thing but, we were never given info about a rewards program for the chain. Because our daughter moved nearby there's a very good chance we would stay there again, but I would rather stay where I was earning reward points toward future stays.

Room Tip: Hallway toward the pool tended to have a bit of a mildew smell, I would not want to stay too close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that we failed to enroll you in the Best Western Rewards program during your stay with us, however I have enrolled you today and you have received the points for your stay with us, and for all of your future visits!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Delaware!

Warm Regards,
The Best Western PLUS Bear Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Address: 875 Pulaski Hwy, Bear, DE 19701-1252
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bear
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing