We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Marks for this Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Addy Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethany Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Addy Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Marks for this Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Addy Sea for three nights recently and the experience was 98% incredible. The location was amazing, with ocean views and a short walk down a private-access path to a great beach location. The Victorian House was beautiful and well-maintained, with a quirky room-by-room situation, but lots of charm. It had a great wrap-around porch with lots of comfortable seating for reading, wine tasting, eating or relaxing.

In our room, for instance, the toilet was in one corner closet, the shower was in another corner closet, and the sink was in a third corner. The space for each was a bit tight, but the fourth corner - an unbeatable view of the beach and ocean - made it all worthwhile.

The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of variety. A nice bonus was a packed lunch (usually chef's choice or your choice between two types of sandwiches) that - if requested - would be in the refrigerator next to the kitchen by noon each day with your room number on it.

Our hosts were very friendly and the cleaning staff quick and thorough.

The only things that keep me from giving this bed and breakfast the highest of ratings were a couple of small incidents that could have been avoided if I had known some of the more esoteric rules. First, how was I to know that opening the windows while the air conditioning was on (and it is always on) would lead to some major condensation dripping from the ceiling vents? I appreciated the note left in my room advising me of this, but did you also have to seek me out by calling for "Room 6" and let me know I had made a mistake (that I didn't know about) in front of other guests in the lobby? Regarding that other rule, how was I to know that the owner takes his breakfast at the nice cast-iron table on the porch just off the kitchen? Perhaps a little "reserved" sign would mitigate the need for you to ask me - after I've just gotten settled with morning coffee and paper - to relocate.

But, with those minor complaints aside, this was an outstanding experience and one that I would gladly repeat (especially now that I know more of the rules). The people - staff, owners, other guests - were wonderful and the house itself was close to perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A great location right on the beach and in walkable distance from the Bethany board walk. I recomend one of the beach front rooms for a front row seat to the a great ocean view that will make you forget that you don't have a tv in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nport82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A wonderful place - be sure to reserve one of the ocean front rooms - set right on the beach. Watch the sunrise, then enjoy a delicious breakfast and then head back to the beach for a walk, read or just enjoy the sun & sand!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Addy Sea last June and would definitely go back. Very relaxing. The location, right on the beach (but away from the noise of the shops on the tiny boardwalk down the road), can't be beat. We found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. Loved lounging in the shade on the big porch. Breakfasts were very good as are the snacks in the p.m. They have beach chairs, etc. for use and a cooler stocked with cold beer and other drinks on the porch for guests. Perfect after a day on the beach, bike riding, shopping, or whatever you end up doing. We love our kids, but it was a nice getaway without them (no kids allowed here...they would be bored, no TV or video games, yay!)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms on an upper floor, so we had a view of the ocean and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopalong296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was our third visit to the AddySea and we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful little B&B on the beach at Bethany Beach. We always go out of season so can't comment on what it is like in summer. At Easter it was quiet and perfect for just relaxing, watching the ocean, reading, taking long walks on the beach. No TV but wifi in the public areas. The rooms overlooking the ocean are the best, No 6 on the north corner has great views if a little quirky - a shower in a closet, a toilet in another and wash basin in the room. But that is what makes this place different. There is a lovely lounge with fire in the winter and the breakfasts are special. The building could do with a little attention , but as we left the contractors were starting on the roof and we were told there are plans to renovate the exterior and add a balcony.

Room Tip: The best, and most expensive, are the three that overlook the ocean, particularly the two corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 11 the first part of November 2012. At first glance it seemed to be very nice. One concern we had is that they do not have key locks on the doors; when you go out you cannot lock your room so do not leave any valuables in your room. Needless to say when we went shopping we had to keep a lot of things in our car locked up (items we bought, our camera, jewelry, and other valuable items.) There are locks on the inside so you can lock your room at night.The blind looked like it had chewing tobacco on it and the Jacuzzi was not well kept, the sprayer did not work and the bottom of the Jacuzzi was sharp due to some of the covers were missing on the jets; needless to say it took some of the romance away. I will say the breakfast was great and plentiful; it would have been nice if it was a bit earlier since we are early risers. I also thought they would have tried to keep the place as much as possible the same time period but instead they cut corners where ever possible and went cheap.

Room Tip: Look for a sea side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I have had our eye on the Addy Sea for a long time and finally came for a mid-week winter break, taking advantage of the $99/night special. We stayed in room 11 which was lovely with an ocean view and a two-person jacuzzi. The B&B was very quiet at this time of year so we were able to fully relax and enjoy afternoon tea, reading the paper next to the downstairs fireplace and watching the ocean from the front porch. It's a great romantic getaway off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miliestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.5 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
111 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Bethany Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addy Sea

Property: Addy Sea
Address: 99 Ocean View Pkwy, P.O. Box 275, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bethany Beach
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Addy Sea Hotel Bethany Beach
Addy Sea Bethany Beach, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing