We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good and great location ”

The Blue Crab Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elkton Road
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great good and great location ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We recently had our first trip to Bethany Beach and we will be back! We tried here on the recommendation of Trip Advisor reviews. We ended up eating here twice. It was easy to get a table for 9 on a Sunday and Tuesday night. Very caudal and kid friendly. We had 5 kids with us(ages 2-8). We liked that there was a crab cake sandwich on the kids menu. The adults would share crab, shrimp, etc. The restaurant is right on the main strip of the boardwalk area. Which made it very easy to explore the boardwalk after dinner. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    70
    23
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We make an effort to visit The Blue Crab over our Summer vacation. The Maryland crab soup is authentic and delicious - original to MD. The fried flounder sandwich that my 8 year old son ordered (not the kid's menu version) was flavorful, crispy, and quickly devoured. My salad was gigantic and the crab cakes (choice of fried or broiled) were outstanding. As I mentioned in my last year's review, the non-English speaking waitresses are frustrating as we struggled to communicate our requests and have our questions answered. Despite that, we will be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Food and Worth the Wait (and you will wait!)”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After waiting for a table for roughly and hour an hour and ten minutes at 8:30 on a Thursday, we were beginning to wonder if it was worth it. Well I'm here to to tell you it is. The Blue Crab is not the place to go if you want ambiance, but it is if you want some the Delaware coasts best seafood. I am always in search of the greatest seafood bisque and their may be a 9.5 on a scale of 10 being bisque nirvana. Whatever you want, however you want it, the best seafood we found.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have had a summer home in Bethany Beach for many years and just recently found this gem. Where have we been to have missed this!?! Good food, wonderful staff, and a very nice atmosphere. We ate outside under the umbrellas for lunch today and it was delicious. Among our favorites, the cream of crab soup (superb) and the crab sauté sandwich (delicious - try this for sure!). Now that we have found it, consider us regulars. Don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki Q D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blue Crab, Blue Diner”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our meal. There were 5 of us, and all meals lacked flavor. Lump Crab Cakes were not lump. There was no filler, but no flavor either. The Stuffed Flounder had no taste (stuffed with Crab Imperial), the special Red Snapper ditto.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applechrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Crab Restaurant also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to The Blue Crab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing