We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, clean, quiet property near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, quiet property near the beach”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Sure, the Holiday Inn Express isn't directly on the beach, but it's close enough to be a quick walk. The rooms are clean and lovely, and I really appreciate the in-room recycling cans (I wish all hotels would do this). Breakfast is quite tasty, and if you don't like the offerings there is a lovely local bakery within walking distance. Staff are super friendly, too.

I do wish the windows opened, but that's just a minor quibble. Otherwise, it's all quite good, close to the "main drag" of town (a 10-15 minute walk, depending on your pace), and usually quite affordable.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms face north, so don't get as hot during the day in the summer.
See more room tips
Green Features: In-room recycling is top-notch! Wish they used compostable plates and plasticware in the breakfast room - hopefully this can be changed soon.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank songfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for the excellent rating and for taking the time to share a few tips with future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    131
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
136
91
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

a bunch of girlfriends and I meet here twice a year. They give us great rates in the spring and fall when they are less busy as it's off season. The breakfast is a good selection; the rooms are nice -- all with fridges and microwaves. Small fitness room, comfy lobby, generally new. Easym close walk to the beach and close to decent restaurants. Would recommend - good value.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayBee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you and your friends for choosing us yet again for your beach trip. Hearing positive things from our return guests is music to our ears. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here while visiting my family. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. I used my hotel points and still felt valued. I checked in at the rehobeth beach location and the elevator was not working so they let me switch to this hotel. I will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKenneth608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
It's always wonderful to hear from an IHG Rewards Club member. We are very pleased you found great value in using your points for a free stay at our property. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Holiday Day Inn Express was very nice overall. The room was very clean and everything was in working order, you have a coffee maker, small refrigerator, nice size television, iron/board. The only thing I have a complaint about was the bed, which I found to be very uncomfortable(I hope that bed gets replaced, soon!) Other then that everything was great. Breakfast was included and they do offer some hot options like sausage, eggs, it was a little more then just continental breakfast and it was okay. The coffee was awful, but not far away I found a Wawa.
They also have a nice outdoor pool that looked very inviting but the weather was to cool for swimming.The area around the hotel is very nice, close to the beach and "town center".
We decided that we like this area the most and would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I was in room 413 and the bed by the window was really uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tuscansun233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback on your recent visit. It's great to hear you enjoyed our location, our amenities and that you are already considering returning. Also thank you for making us aware of an area that needs attention.
Looking forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Hotel was nice, clean and the staff were knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. It was out of the peak season when I had stayed at this motel, but the surrounding businesses treated me like a friend rather than a tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for showing your appreciation for the hard work of our staff. Exceptional cleanliness and friendly service are definitely our top priorities. We hope to have you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is really quite good. Clean and tidy rooms, simple decoration which is good. Breakfast is pretty good too. Downside is no fresh clean ocean air as windows do not open and stale air in the rooms. Breakfast using styrofoam plates is also totally unacceptable. You would think that the Holiday inn would be able to afford a dishwasher. Really dissapointing to be generating so much waste in a beautiful place like the ocean. Styrofoam out of all materials as well. This does not break down for 100 years. Really shame on you Holiday inn.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel where the windows open
See more room tips
Green Features: Disaster...totally unacceptable to generate so much waste unnecessarily!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Maria,
Thank you very much for the high rating. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel. In regards to the Styrofoam plates used for breakfast we truly understand your concern and we are confident that our brand (as well as others) will soon find a feasible solution to this problem. In the mean time we would like you to know that we have in place numerous programs that are environmentally friendly such us: water conservation, reducing the usage of chemical products, energy conservation and trash recycling. We are proud of our efforts and our successes and as a brand we are constantly looking for ways to reduce our negative impact on the environment.
We hope that you will return with renewed confidence that we are doing the right thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great quiet location, walking distance to beach and local quaint boardwalk. If you dislike crowds this is the spot. Close to crazy Ocean City and Rohoboth Beach. We stayed here in early May. Most of the shops and restaurants were still closed for the season but it's a short drive to Ocean City where you can get everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ranferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for visiting the "Quiet Resort". We are pleased to hear about your positive experience with our property and that you were also able to find various entertainment options in the nearby town. May is a great month to visit Bethany Beach, just before the rush of the summer season.
We hope you will consider us again for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing