We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, roomy, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and would book here again in a heartbeat. Our room (two queen) was bright, airy, clean and roomy. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good, beds were comfy. We didn't go in expecting much because beach hotels don't always live up to your hopes, but we were very happy with every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MaureenKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for the great review, MaureenKM! We're so glad to have exceeded your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as a guest sometime soon.

In the meantime, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Chris Berg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just arrived here at the hotel today. I Have stayed here before, and the hotel is fine for this price range. However, I was charged $50 over the Saturday rate I was originally quoted when I reserved last month. When making reservations, I had the IHG website open with their quoted rates for my Saturday to Wednesday stay, but called the toll-free # to make the reservation with a live person. Weekday rates were charged correctly, they match the IHG website price. By my bad for not reading the fine print of the day-by-day the charges on my confirmation, because I was charged $50 over the QUOTED website price for Saturday night (I know Saturdays cost more; but instead of the $30 or so above my weekday rate that was quoted on the IHG website, I was charged $80 above the weekday rate). That is a sneaky business practice. Either that, or maybe just incompetent on their part. So now, apparently I must go over my reservation confirmation with a fine-toothed comb for discrepancies. Or perhaps just stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank mkna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We are sorry to hear about the apparent confusion related to your reservation. We will be more than happy to review the details of your stay should you require additional clarification. Please know that our reservation and rate quoting process is very transparent and the same rates are available through our central reservation office as the IHG brand website. We adhere to reservation processes and policies set in place by Intercontinental Hotels Group. Perhaps there has been a misunderstanding as human errors can occur, however we feel we that the accusation of engaging in "sneaky business practices" is not only unfair but also unfounded. As stated above, we will gladly revisit this conversation at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel has it all, clean rooms, friendly staff, great (free) breakfast and a terrific location less than a 5 minute walk from the beach. The outdoor pool was awesome (would love it to be open until 10pm) and the beds/pillows were comfy. Best of all when our battery was dead as we were checking out, Fred came out in his dress clothes and helped jump us. And even though it was hot hot hot he was smiling. Thanks Fred! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sandy,
It was our pleasure to help you! We appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff and our property. We are looking forward to a return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location about 1 to 2 blocks away from beach. takes about 5 to 10 min to walk! Wish they didn't charge for rollaway bed if you have 5 in your family! it costs 15.00 a night extra! thought the hotel was a little pricey for the quality of the hotel but loved that it included breakfast! Usual bagels muffins pancakes bacon cereal and yogurt.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Kimberly,
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are glad that you found our location convenient and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you will keep us in mind for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are always pleased with Holiday Inn. Everyone we have stayed at has updated been clean. This one however is close to the beach which is a plus. The in room refrigerator and small kitchen sink were also nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roma033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for the high rating. We loved hearing you are a loyal guest of our brand and that we always rise up to your expectations. Keep us on the top of your list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this property over the Fourth of July. The recently renovated rooms are of average size and our room included two beds, an office chair, desk, small armchair, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was clean, but the installed clothesline over the tub was broken which made drying our bathing suits difficult.
The included breakfast was above average and consisted of typical offerings-pancakes, yogurt, bacon, eggs of differing varieties, muffins, cereal, etc. The outdoor pool was larger than most and was generally quiet even though it was about 100 yards from a crab restaurant and a liquor store.
The beach was a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel but the beach didn't seem overly crowded even over the holiday weekend. The staff was friendly, helpful and able to answer our questions with ease. The price of the hotel is what prevents me from assigning a rating of excellent. We payed a beachfront price for a second row hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Shieldsfamilyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for the extensive review of your July 4th family getaway. We appreciate you taking the time to describe in detail elements of your stay and for providing valuable insight to other travelers. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We liked this hotel except it's behind the huge, crowded Sea Colony compound. It's a good 10+ minute hike to a crowded beach. Next time we stay there, we'll drive a few minutes north to the state park beach that's a lot less crowded and has bathrooms.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank sjbb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the high rating of our hotel. We are sorry you experienced challenges with the beach access. We are indeed located 2 blocks from the beach and July is our busiest month. As you already pointed out, the Sate Parks located within a few miles of Bethany Beach offer a great alternative for those quests looking to avoid the summer rush.
We hope you will return and get to fully enjoy our beautiful beaches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
6 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
980 reviews
11 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
393 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
893 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range: £76 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing