We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz T
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect house”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this last minute with a remit to find a house that slept 14, to fit us all in and that would let us book for three nights only. We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived as this house was perfect: Lots of space, great location for walks and bike rides, near a pub with great food, a lovely garden, comfortable beds, welcoming and unobtrusive owners and an absolute steal of a price. We had a fab time. The kids ran wild in the garden. The house is lovely - warm and full of character - and the facilities are spot on. We enjoyed some lovely walks complete with great pub lunches and lots of sticky toffee pudding (close to Cartmel). We'll be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.it was a delight to have you stay at Bankfield House and see how much you and the children enjoyed it.Hope to see you again soon
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMitchell...
1 review
“Fantastic house ”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend in February with friends and would definitely recommend it. With 6 adults and 6 kids the house still felt spacious yet cosy and warm. All the bedrooms were a great size and the conservatory was perfect for eating together. Kitchen was well equipped and the welcome basket of wine and goodies was a lovely touch. Will be returning again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at Bankfield House. It is always so rewarding to get feedback from our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you all back in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Hi Jill,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review . It means a lot to us to get feedback from our guests.So glad you all enjoyed it.You are welcome back anytime !

Kind regards,

Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie H
1 review
“Perfect cosy weekend in the countryside”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The house was lovely, very clean and cosy and really warm which was great due to the weather being freezing! Beds were comfortable, the lounges were spacious and the conservatory was a highlight. Would definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
It was great having you all here and so glad you enjoyed it.Thanks for taking time to post a review and hope to see you all again.

Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you Jayne it was an absolute pleasure to help you all have a Happy Christmas in our very special house...hope we see you again

Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracey H
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our 3rd visit and still great!”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for our 3rd annual holiday. Yet again we had a lovely time. The house is just so very welcoming. We are 3 families with children of varying ages and this is a great base for the Lakes. We all had an excellent holiday yet again. Thank you to Helen and Eric who are great hosts yet again. Hope to see you again next year. Kind Regards

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Hi Tracey,
Thanks for taking the time to post your great review...we love receiving them.
Have a great festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back to your holiday home !!!!!

Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the large bedroom and bathrooms
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks for the review Michelle and glad you all enjoyed it...especially the hot tub !!!!!
Hope to see you all again
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing