We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hesket Newmarket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best ever!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I'm not sure I can top the last review. We were there the same weekend & it was the best feather down experience (having stayed in two other very good ones in previous years) we have had.
It was highly recommended by a fellow feather down farm friend, so on their endorsement we followed suit.
Can't put my finger on why Howbeck was so good, could be that Christine & John were so hospitable, the location of the farm,(only walking distance to a pretty village with local shop & great pub & close to the Lakes & fells) & also the location of the tents to the farm, all the animals & the stream. The cleanliness of the tents & showers or the fact we had very good weather! Feather downs for us so far, have been a great experience & I would highly recommend it to anyone. Especially if like us, are not seasoned campers but enjoy the outdoors but also their comfort!. We would definitely like to stay at Howbeck again, if we can get in after all the great reviews!

Room Tip: Always take a camping stove, so you don't have to wait for an hour for your cup of tea/coffee in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having never camped before, I was a bit sceptical about holidaying on a farm. But I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever had. It was so exciting being shown to our tent (seems really unfair to call it that considering the home comforts!), but it just kept getting better from there. Our cheesy baked potato delivered by John on Quad bike the first night was so delicious (Christine's homemade salad dressing was out of this world) and the homemade pizza cooked outdoors by John and washed down with red wine amongst other families was equally yummy. Our son Thomas (7) had so much fun lighting the indoor and outdoor wood burning stove every morning for our breakfast and jumping into our wellies, negotiating the goats to get to the chicken coup for our morning eggs and running back down the hill was a morning ritual. Many hours were spent playing in the stream and catching frogs and there were so many animals the kids couldn't choose a favourite, although we all had a soft spot for Ted, the 7 week old border collie. Evie (4) hit it off with Johns niece and even spent time in the farmhouse:) The local pub is brilliant......think local ales, homemade grub, flags and bunting! Scrabble by candlelight is a must:) I could write so much more but my review is long enough. My advice is go for it, it's a chilled out fun experience.....if you're lucky John will take you down the big dipper in his trailer.....just hold on:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We had the best time at Howbeck Lodge. My Daughter who is 4 yrs just loved the animals and farmer John. My son who is 15 months loved having freedom to walk and fall on the grass and meeting all the beautiful animals it was like an adventure to both the kids. My husband & I could relax knowing our daughter was safe playing and having fun.

The tents where great even for a not so good camper like me. Very comfortable and all u need for a relaxing camping break.

John & the family are great & will do all they can to make your stay the best it can be, and we couldnt thank them more for the fab time we had, we have come away with wonderful memories and cant wait to go again to make more!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent bank holiday weekend here, perfect in every way. Wonderful to see kids exploring stream, feeding animals and collecting eggs. It's difficult to capture the pure magic of Feather Down Farms, it has to be experienced. Brilliant, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed one night on a walking holiday. Nice comfortable B&B - not sure what the Feather Down Farms bit was - I was there for the B&B. All very comfortable - nice bath - particularly good after a day's walking - short walk to the excellent Old Crown Pub for dinner - and excellent breakfast. Friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliss60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days here and had an amazing time! No electric (although it is available if you need to charge phone or dry hair etc) and no mobile phone service so meant complete relaxation. The farmer and his family are very welcoming and very helpful without encroaching on your space - home made bread delivered warm to the tent in the morning is a must!! For two days we had sunshine and the other two heavy rain but the weather didn't affect the break. Beautiful location, amazing tent/cabin and very friendly farm animals! My only tips are to remember to bring things like washing up liquid etc and also there isn't a great deal of meat in the honesty shop so if you want a BBQ you will need to go to the nearest town to get supplies!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourock
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Wonderful from start to finish despite the cold easter weather. Went with my husband and 2 children, aged 11 & 9 years, for a 3 might weekend break. Welcomed by John, the farmer, and immediately made to feel at home, then shown to our tent by his daughter Jo who explained where everything was and how it worked. Tent was spacious, well equiped and clean. Straight away my daughter went to see the lambs in the lambing shed and we always knew where to find her thereafter. My son found a patch of grass with football nets and was soon playing with other children and the farmers nephew. Didnt know a match could last 4 and a half hours! Lighting the log stove was easy and glass of wine went down well whilst it was reaching cooking temperature. Cooking was easy but just a bit slower, as was the whole pace of the weekend and we couldnt have enjoyed it more. No phones, no electronic games, no TV - wonderful!

It was cold at night but the weather has been bad for this time of year but once the fire warmed up, the tea lghts were lit and we sat round playing games (these can be borrowed from the honesty shop - more about that later) it was really cosy. We took our sleeping bags so once in bed with them and a hot water bottle we settled for a great sleep.(Tip- keep the kettle on the side of the stove all the time as its handy for a cuppa, hot water bottles and for water for the dishes) Yes we were in bed earlier than usual but with all the fresh air we were shattered. In the morning I got up early and lit the stove, puting the kettle on before I went for a lovely hot shower.(Theres a hair dryer too) On return I got a hot cuppa and got the bacon sizzling before the rest even surfaced. Christine, the farmer's wife, will make and deliver freshly baked bread every morning if you let her know the night before and also does a full range of meals and breakfasts delivered to your tent at a time of your request if you do not wish to cook. However we found it fun cooking on the stove.

There is an "honesty shop" which is well stocked with items you may need or have forgotten from toiletries to cereal, eggs to ice lollies, fire lighters to coffee beans! There are also some homemade meals and baking for sale. Anything taken is written onto the sheet with your name on it and taken to Christine for payment on departure. Our kids loved going up to get items and put them on our list. This is also where you can borrow games, magazines and some wellies if you forget yours. It was lovely to see that people still trust and can be trusted!

The absolute best part of the break must be the experience of seeing new lambs born (Sheep dont make any of the fuss we do) and getting to handle and feed them. Howbeck Lodge is a working farm and John and his family (Sarah, David and Carol) are very busy at lambing time (1000 lambs were due to 500 sheep) but were never too busy to answer our numerous questions or explain what was happening and were happy to let us watch them work. Christine's 83 year old dad even delivered a lamb in his 3 piece sunday suit! Never once did we feel as if we might have been a nusciance. Bottle feeding the pet lambs and the baby goats is fantastic. In fact the only time I looked at my watch over the weekend was to make sure my daughter was back in time for the next feeding session! She loved it so much I had to check she didn't try to sneak one of the goats home! There are other animals too - a rabbit, guinea pig, horse, cows, dogs and hens. (Remember to visit the hen coop to collect fresh eggs for breakfast).

There is a small village with a post office/shop and a pub less than 10 mins walk away. The pub does nice food. There are also lots of places nearby to visit however we went out for a while to Keswick one day but the kids just wanted back to the farm. They had total freedom to play whilst we could relax and know they were safe. It really was a case of them only coming back because they were hungry! Imagine a holiday with no "I'm boreds".

Overall I cannot tell you how great a time we had other than to say we will be back next year and thank to the Stobart family for one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Room Tip: all 7 tents are well located so it doesnt matter really. 2 and 3 are closest to the shower block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge

Property: Feather Down Farms at Howbeck Lodge
Address: Hesket Newmarket CA7 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Hesket Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hesket Newmarket
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located inside the Lake District National Park you can experience true rural isolation and a little piece of heaven. There are a plethora of walks on your doorstep, quiet beaches at the Solway Firth and back on the farm we have lambs in spring, prize winning Highland cattle and paddling in the stream is a stone’s throw from the tents.We are the Stobart family: John, Christine, and children David, Joanne and Sarah, and we have farmed at Howbeck Lodge for over 20 years. Ours is a traditional sheep and beef farm of 300 acres that is worked in a sustainable manner as part of the higher level Countryside Stewardship Scheme. John is passionate about his livestock, particularly his Highland cattle and Christine is well known locally for her homemade produce. She will provide guests with her cakes, biscuits, soups, ready meals, jams and marmalades, all available from the farm pantry in the quaint little barn next to the Featherdown tents. In this lovingly restored barn our hot showers are downstairs and the farm pantry above - everything you will need for a comfortable stay here.Being inside the Lake District National Park makes it a must as a base for walkers of course, but that’s not the whole story. Our tents’ setting by the side of an enchanting stream, the company of the red squirrels and the prettiest Farm Larder anywhere. One guest’s comment was the greatest compliment we could receive: “John made us laugh, Christine’s food made us drool, and Sarah taught us how to feed lambs. It was truly one of the best holidays we’ve ever had”.Howbeck offers a great way of experiencing luxury camping in the Lake District, as you can access the centre of the region with ease on the scenic routes across the open Northern Fells. In the evening, once you’re back among the chickens, goats, rabbits, horses and Highland cattle, you can experience true rural isolation. The quiet attractive beaches of the Solway Firth are within easy reach as well. Another rich slice of rural England is served up almost every week in the area from June until September in the form of agricultural shows. You might even see John there with his prize livestock, as he is a regular trophy winner.Howbeck Farm is just a short stroll to the unspoilt village of Hesket Newmarket which boasts a lovely children’s play area, a riverside walk and the very popular Old Crown Pub which is well worth a visit along with the Hesket Newmarket Brewery Cooperative. All the beautiful lakes are within easy reach and Keswick on Derwent water is only 12 miles. For those who love the great outdoors we can give tips on the many trails and footpaths leading straight from the farm – from gentle strolls to strenuous Fell walks. There is also pony trekking within half an hour’s driveMany of our repeat visitors return particularly in the Spring for lambing time. During the summer there are near-weekly agricultural shows at which to experience a rich slice of rural England. You may even see John there with his sheep – they’re regular trophy winners!Sorry but we do not except dogs at Howbeck ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing