We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Christiana
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

They have some new items on menu.We get emails from Famous Dave's all the time my husband got the new tacos he got the catfish and the chopped pork tacos he said they were winner winner. I had the new BBQ bowl mashed potatoes and chopped pork very good.The mangers Lindsay is great we enjoy seeing her.The staff is very good always get treated awesome.

Helpful?
Thank donnajs716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food and Kitchen Manager's attitude was a joke !”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Firstly, my wife and I have eaten there about 5 times before and the service and food was excellent. This last time was a joke and as a result of the kitchen manager's attitude, we will never patronize this chain again.

A simple order, a chicken meal with a loaded baked potato ... (pay attention to the word loaded)... and for myself, a bacon cheeseburger with another loaded baked potato. We have had loaded baked potatoes there many times and they were always plentiful with bacon and cheese. This time it appeared as if they sprinkled a few flakes (very tiny ones) of bacon and not enough cheese to feed a small mouse.

When we said something to our waitress (who was very pleasant and was doing everything to correct the deficiency), she returned to the kitchen to bring a little extra bacon and cheese for the not so loaded baked potatoes. That is when the kitchen manager came out and explained that regardless of what we had in the past they are now rationing what they put on the potatoes, but would happily add more bacon and cheese for an upcharge of $1 each. We politely refused and said that if this is what they call a loaded baked potato (there's that word "loaded" again) we would ensre that we review it properly and let everyone know of their new "rationing" policy.

Well she just would not give up and then stated insisting that we take the extra bacon and cheese and she would give it to us for free this time. Again we refused and she still kept pushing the issue. She even brought it out to our table after us insisting that we did not want it. We had to ask the waitress to remove it from the table.
That so called kitchen manager has no business talking to customers this way and in our opinion should not be working there.

As for returning to a Famous Daves in the future, forget it. That was enough to sour our appetite for good,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PjnMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
642 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,756 helpful votes
“Disappointed: Service OK, Food just So-So”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We used to LOVE Famous Dave's. The place was always lively, the service fast & friendly, and the food good. It had been a while since we had been & thought it might be a nice change of pace for lunch. So, we stopped in the other day.

Once inside, we were greeted and seated immediately. Initially they tried to seat us at a booth in the back, even though we obviously had 2 in our party that could NOT sit in a booth. So, after requesting it, we were seated at a table that could accommodate us all. The tabletop however was dirty. We had wet wipes with us & cleaned it ourselves! We looked around & couldn't believe how empty the restaurant was for being 12:30pm. It was lunch hour and there were only a couple tables. This place used to be filled with people! Just an off day or bad sign?

Within minutes our waitress was around to greet us. Our waitress brought us our drinks. We ordered the 2 meat lunch specials. One of us got the ribs & chopped pork. The other one got ribs & chicken tenders. We both got fries. We also ordered a couple extra corn muffins. While we waited our waitress brought us a tray of potato chips with some sauce cups. Normally, they fill the cups up with the various BBQ sauces at the tableside & give you a description of each of them. Our waitress just left the tray--didn't fill up the sauces, no description or anything. The tray of chips was complimentary, but really skimpy! This was NOT a good sign.

Within about 15-20 minutes our food was out to us. This is SLOWER than what we would normally expect during lunch service. The food looked OK. The fries were a little tough. They were NOT very hot either. They seemed like they had been sitting for a while, which was strange since we were there early in the day. The ribs had good taste, but were tough and chewy. The chopped pork was good, but the bread that it was served over was tough and chewy. My husband said his chicken tenders were really good. The corn muffins were delicious as usual. Most of our food was salty. This is something that we recalled from past visits as well. The food here always leaves us feeling like we are dying of thirst & drinking water for the rest of the day.

Overall, we were left unimpressed this visit. I do not know if things have changed OR we just caught them on an off day, but it defiantly is not as good as it used to be. The service was slower than expected. The wait staff was friendly, but did not give us the Famous Dave's BBQ sauce preview. The food was hit or miss. Some items were good, while others were cold, tough, chewy or dried out. Just about everything was VERY SALTY. Lunch prices are a tad high for the quality & quantity of food. Atmosphere is casual and relaxed, but could have been a little cleaner.

Sad to say, but I probably won't be back after this lackluster experience. For BBQ, I would probably opt for Durham's Best in Elkton OR Mista B's BBQ Chicken & Ribs in Bear.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The service is always great. The food is hit or miss.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've eaten here several times. Someone in our party has always gotten the baby back ribs. I don't know what happened last night, but without a doubt, they were the worst ribs I've ever eaten anywhere. $25.99 for a full rack and none of us could chew the meat off the bones. We had to use our steak knives.

Another in our party ordered a burger, and was told after it came out fried to death, that they could not accommodate a medium order. OK, so the last few times it was ok, and now it's not? He had to order something else. They did give him another kind of sandwich for free.

For being a bar as well, you'd think you could get a pitcher or at least a reasonably priced beer. No, $5.50 for a 20oz Coors Light was their special. (Aside from a $2.00 PBR.)

You would also think that with over priced food, you could catch a small break on any of the beverages. That wasn't the case either. A small milk ( tiny) for a child was close to $3.00.

The service however is always fantastic. I always stick with the Burnt ends, or the catfish. That's pretty hard to screw up.

To me, this is just another franchise that's no more or less mediocre than the rest of them. That's why I gave them an average.

Not impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Barbecue”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you like barbecue, it is a good place to go, with large portions and enough variety that most non-vegetarians can find something they like.

It is as close to a good BBQ as you are going to find in the northeast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SShimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing