We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant Pub with good selection of food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse and Farrier Inn

Horse and Farrier Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in High Bentham
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is a cosy, traditional black and white timbered public house built in the 17th Century.We are family, dog, walker & cyclist friendly. We serve traditional pub grub in large & small portions (classic favourites such as steak & ale, lasagne, big battered cod, ham & eggs as well as mushroom, cranberry & brie wellington and cajun chicken)and a good selection of children's meals. We also make pizzas for eating in or taking away (collection only).We don't have TV/football screens, fruit machines or pool tables.We do have colouring pictures & crayons for kids, a great atmosphere, a good deal of laughs and treats for kids & dogs.We serve a minimum of 3 cask ales and are featured in the 2014 edition of CAMRA's Good Beer Guide, lager, cider, other beers, spirits, wines and a good selection of non-alcoholic/low alcohol drinks.We have a large car park and beer garden with seating at the rear and a patio area with tables & chairs.We hold a quiz every Wednesday night and have live music every Saturday night. We have disabled access at the rear upon request. We also hold a regular Halloween fancy dress event and other special events which you can find out about on Facebook or on our website.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Pub with good selection of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have been a number of times for a meal here, it's a very pleasant pub with lots of character, there is plenty of choice for typical pub grub at very reasonable prices, in our experience it has always been fresh veg and freshly cooked meals, so you generally have a quite a wait but the drinks are also reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackjack52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Horse and Farrier Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Blackjack52

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our pub, the food and your experiences here. It really is appreciated.

Hope you come back soon and when you do, let me know it's you.
Many thanks

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Came here on a Saturday night for food. I had the steak and ale pie which was very tasty, the gravy was well seasoned with plenty of meat in the pie. My dad had the steak which also looked good and my mum the lasagne which she said was also very good - plenty of mince and not just pasta. The chips were also well cooked although are frozen ones (as you would expect at the prices). The prices were extremely reasonable.
The landlady was very friendly and the atmosphere was also good

Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Horse and Farrier Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Jenny

I would just like to thank you for taking the time to write up your comments on the Horse and Farrier. My partner makes the steak and ale and lasagne so these comments are very much appreciated and thank you too for your very nice comments about me, again really appreciated.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
442 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“good selection of ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Called in here for a swift drink on a short walk. Staff were friendly and the garden had a view. Snug inside and a good selection of reasonably priced meals were available.
Definitely olde worlde and well worth a visit. They have music on some nights too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate P, Owner at Horse and Farrier Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Helstravels

I would just like to thank you for taking the time to write up your comments on the Horse and Farrier. We all try hard to make it a pleasurable experience, so it means a great deal when someone has enjoyed it and just to confirm our music nights are every Saturday.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My family ate here whilst on holiday nearby. We found the pub to be very friendly the landlady being VERY nice and welcoming. We had starters, main meals and a pudding. All were lovely and came at very reasonable prices. It does'nt pretend to be anything other than a nice place where locals mix with tourists; and where you can get good, solid pub grub at a very reasonable price. For most of us most of the time.....isn't that EXACTLY what we want ?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IaninPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Cask Ales, Best in Bentham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having eaten here twice over the weekend (was camping in the area) Found the food and service to be great. Highly recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gc06132014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Farrier Inn also viewed

High Bentham, North Yorkshire
Bentham, North Yorkshire
 
Bentham, North Yorkshire
Bentham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Horse and Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing