We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best b&b we have stayed in !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hill
Ranked #3 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best b&b we have stayed in !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This little gem is so cosy & welcoming. we had 2 nights here and slept veey well in the cosy well equipped bedroom. the breakfast was excellent. the gardens beautiful & the nicest couple. we will certainly be going back & will recommend to friends !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbiecakebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B which has a good position in a little hamlet half way between Windemere and Kendal. The hosts were extremely welcoming, Jo-Anne makes a great breakfast with lots of choice and Gerry is a mine of local knowledge. There are some nice little touches which makes this place stand out, like the use of local toiletries, biscuits and sausages for example. The rooms are very comfortable and there is a great topiary garden out front where you can sit on a sunny day! There's a also a pub within easy walking distance that does nice food. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed just one night at The Hill, close to Lake Windermere, as our stop in Kendal was a half-way point for us on a 520-mile trip. And we couldn't have found a more comfortable place to break our journey. We were rather fraught on arrival and, having welcomed us and shown us our rooms, Gerry and Jo-Anne recommended The Watermill Inn (a brewing pub located directly opposite their guesthouse) for refreshments - good food and good beer.
The rooms booked - one double and one single - were charming and comfortable, with good showers. The little things stood out, such as really luxurious bed linen and toiletries. There was a good choice of breakfasts the following morning, the "special" of the day being smoked salmon and scrambled egg. There was beautiful homemade bread and really lovely homemade jams. Our hosts were friendly and ready to give advice on the locality had we been staying on. Another time, perhaps. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mature couple, well travelled in the UK and around the world.
Have had two Canadian friends visiting who wanted to go to the Lakes.
We stopped at 'The Hill' overnight, 28th July.
Country location, terrific topiary garden
Excellent accomodation, clean, well appointed, good fresh breakfast. Excellent hosts.
Do packed lunches and plenty of good advice.
Would recommed to anyone and will visit again

Room Tip: Don't be put off with the thought on noise in a front room. Long way from the road and the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverhome63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Parking at rear of building, warm welcome & made to feel at at home by owners Jo-Anne & Gerry, really nice people. Room excellent, free view tv, comfy bed. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Cooked breakfast was included, had the full English & must say it was one of the best I've had! Lovely gardens out the front. Only tiny grumble would be the noise created by taps/toilet flushing from other rooms in the night/early morning but dependant on other people staying there & to be expected in a place of this nature. All in all fantastic overall stay & for the price (£65) well worth it & would definitely stay again. Great hosts, great place, great breakfast. Have a drive into Bowness, eat at The Angel Inn, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigh1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Augustus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a great 2 night mini break at The Hill, meeting friends nearby. The attention to detail in the B&B is excellent with a lovely old house, very friendly hosts and fantastic breakfasts and packed lunches. You will be made to feel very at home and between Kendal and Windemere it is a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Threebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here while making our way back south, easy to find, some where to park and the room was nice and clean, staff were very friendly on arrival. The ensuite of the Superior Double Room is a bit of an after thought and quite small without a proper door, it has a thin sliding affair, the shower was small, but then I am 6'4", it's adequate. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast was of a high quality and I enjoyed it all, it should be noted you will share a table with whomever else is staying, if you're not morning people (I confess I am not) this might not be your cup-o-tea sitting opposite strangers as you eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
0.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Meadowcroft Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
0.0 mi away
Parsonage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill

Property: The Hill
Address: Ings Village, Ings LA8 9QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star guest accommodation and have been awarded a Silver Award by Visit Britain for providing exceptional quality in all areas but in particular in service and hospitality. The traditionally-built Lakeland-stone house, built in the early 1800’s as a gentleman's residence, sits in a magnificent topiary garden featured in “English Topiary Gardens” by Ethane Clarke and George Wright, backed by a stream and overlooking the indigenous country side. The atmosphere is relaxed and tranquil.Ings Village is also the home of the Watermill Inn, CAMRA award winning pub with a national reputation for good food and real ales. With this in mind we only offer B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing