We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadowcroft Country Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$349
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
270
34
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
34
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatermill pubmicro brewerylocal publake districtb bdog ownersdog friendly pubfeel very welcomegreat pubminutes walk awaybusy roadeasy accessfriendly ownersa great place to staybreakfast was excellentfull english breakfastbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The lady who owns this guest house is Rosemary. A lovely, natural, friendly lady who seems to have a knack of making you feel so welcome that you dont want to leave! She LOVES dogs too which is great for us dog owners! This is a lovely, well kept guest house with lovely comfy beds, a wonderful breakfast and a lovely host! What more could you ask for?! Excellent! Oh and we were entertained at breakfast by a magician and balloon bender called Dave Hickery....we all came away with a flower shaped bracelet! I said l'd give him a plug! A lovely guy!

Room Tip: Tell them beforehand that you have a dog for good room allocation.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deefletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed with Rosemary & Linda over a 4 night break with our disabled, frail father. Rosemary & Linda did everything they could to accommodate us. Flexibility, friendly & a can-do attitude to helping us give our dad a holiday in the Lakes. The breakfasts were superbly cooked, the crockery was spotless with an emphasis on quality. I cannot speak highly enough of this B&B or the owners. The disabled facilities were everything we could wish for & more. The feel & smell of clean linen is unmistakable as you you relax in the comfortable beds. Simpy perfect. I've already booked again & have no hesitation in recommending this superb guest house & the lovely, lovely Rosemary.

Room Tip: I tried rooms 2, (disabled facility) 4 & 8. All were outstanding.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed in the Meadowcroft Bed & Breakfast for several years now whilst on business in the Lake District.Rosemary and Linda just amaze me,with there welcoming charm and helpfulness.The rooms are of a good size and modern facilities.Breakfast choice is basically what you would like to eat.The have good WIFI connection which is important nowadays.Yes thank another goods night sleep.This is a place you need to try if your in the area.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room with a bath as most of the rooms have showers
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at Meadowcroft Country Guest House for a couple nights this week and we have rarely had as good an experience anywhere before! Super stay in a delightful room with excellent power shower in the bathroom over roomy bath. Breakfast was delicious and Rosemary a terrific host, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her excellent staff. All-in-all a tremendous experience and we would DEFINATELY stay there again! 5* experience!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Over the last week I have stayed at Meadowcroft on two occasions. Firstly with my wife & family & latterly with a walking buddy. As usual, you are guaranteed a friendly welcome from Rosemary. The rooms are so comfortable with all you needs catered for depending on the type of room you need, some including a bath rather than a shower-ideal after a 6 day point -to-point walking trip.The breakfasts are wonderful too! freshly cooked within your view served by Rosemary's fair hand. A mile down the road is the Hawkshead beer hall in Staveley which is also a must for real ale drinkers. One thing is for sure-i'll be back!

Room Tip: For a Couple- 3,4,5,7,or 9. Room 10 for 3 people
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews