We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dog friendly stay...ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Ranked #2 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best dog friendly stay...ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Booked as a surprise for my husbands birthday and took our 12 year old jack russell. Absolutely fantastic stay...so dog friendly and access to back of pub at night for guests...again...perfect for the dog! Lovely food...great atmosphere...very helpful and accommodating staff...cant praise enough...only downside...a little noisy in the room as near to dual carriageway but wont let that put us off...already planning second visit for our dogs 13th birthday in june! Thumbs up watermill you will do for us! 2 pints of collie wobbles sle please!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    128
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
82
225
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at The Watermill Inn at Ings. We had room 8 which had a balcony, it was very clean, excellent shower and spotless bathroom. All of the staff were very friendly and the food and beer were all very good. The breakfast was excellent.Very dog friendly as well which we were very happy with even though our dog was not with us on this occasion. Good value for money and we shall return. Thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I have eaten at the Watermill on various occasions on the way to Bowness. This time we decided to stay here.
The food was excellent, ate at lunch time and again I the evening, excellent tasty food. Homemade chips are a must with the lasagne being one of the best I have eaten in a long while. Steak and Ale pie for my husband who thoroughly enjoyed it.
The place was very busy on a Saturday night, but sat by the roaring log fire with wine for myself and beer for my husband was a great night.
Atmosphere is very laid back and friendly, bar and service staff excellent.
Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day.
One down side to our stay room 4 noisy, pick another room.
Would stay again just in another room.

Room Tip: Room 4 noisy, above kitchen can hear noise from below and noise from ventilation grill outside windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice building but limited parking.
The beer was good, but the service left a sour taste in our mouths.
The woman behind the bar was downright rude, as a result we only stayed for one.
If you like your ale but manners aren't important to you then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night but we were made to feel very welcome especially by the two ladies at breakfast. The beer was excellent and the Inn is worthy of a visit just for that. Wish we had stayed for two nights.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank givius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have eaten here but never stayed at the Inn , Beer & Food fabulous , rooms very clean but a bit small for larger people .Very friendly and efficient staff. Beware the meals are VERY generous, small portions are available on some of the menu. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagoon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have been to this pub several times as I have family nearby. The staff are always friendly and welcoming ... to humans and dogs ... and they always have a supply of "treats" (which my lab appreciates!). On my last visit the game casserole was excellent and I would recommend having this when available. My husband as always enjoyed the beef and colly wobbles Ale pie. ... and a couple of glasses of the colly wobbles to wash it down! The Cumberland skillet also makes a lovely lunch. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstieJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
2.1 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Inn & Brewing Co

Property: Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Address: | near Windermere, Ings LA8 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermill Inn & Brewing Co 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill is a homely traditional Lakeland pub 2 miles East of Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Watermill Inn & Brewing Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing