We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”
Review of The Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mungrisdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely traditional type Inn set in beautiful surroundings and quiet location but within easy reach of the motorway, Keswick, Penrith and lots of little villages. Andrew and his staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfy. Great selection of cask ales available in the bar, excellent meals served in the restaurant and huge breakfast. Great advantage to us was the fact that it is dog friendly. Will definitely be going back for a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Inn is in a very peaceful tranquil location. We arrived early, dumped our bag and headed straight off to the hills, Several lovely walks straight from the inn. We arrived back from our walk to have a great selection of cask ales, drunk in the garden next to the river. Lovely.
Our room (room 7) had a good view from the window and was of a reasonable size. The bathroom radiator was rather rusty and the ceiling above the shower needs attention, but otherwise, the bathroom was fine. Nice shower. very nice bedding and super fluffy towels. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was delicious. Our room was over the dining area and was noisy until about 10 then quietened down.
Breakfast. Well the first part was not to my personal taste. I dislike flavoured yogurt, packets of Alpen and tinned grapefruit, The scrambled egg on toast was delicious - just the way i like it. Most people around me had the Full English which they devoured with great gusto. Empty plates all round.
All the staff were friendly and helpul.
Most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is in a very quiet & lovely location. The staff are very helpful and friendly as was Andrew. The breakfast is very good but unless you have a very good appetite request a smaller portion, the standard breakfast comes with 2 of each item ordered. The rooms are clean and comfortable, ours overlooked the access road, which wasn't busy, and the hill beyond. I believe that all the bedrooms have excellent views. Mobile phone signal is non-existent but there is free WIFI so smart phones will work. We went there on a Wowcher deal which was excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only had one night but very much enjoyed the stay. The staff were friendly and the room was clean, if a little on the small side, but with a good sized bathroom. We ate in the bar, I had the steak and ale pie with caramalised onions and stilton, which was a large portion and delicious, my wife had the duck with salad. She said the duck was lovely but didn't enjoy the salad which had no dressing on. I noticed other people ordering the fish and chips and was amazed at the size of the fish.The breakfast is the biggest I have ever had and sets you up for the day. There is a good variety of beer on offer and at very reasonable prices. The inn itself is set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views and we were lucky to have brilliant weather to enjoy it all. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum got a voucher online for two nights stay. It was lovely from start to finish! The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food in the main pub was beautiful! Big portions! Good local food. I had the lamb shoulder and it was the best i have ever had! The breakfast is also to die for! It is in a really tranquil setting, so quiet at night even with the window open. Perfect for exploring the lakes and i cant wait to go back again!! The only pointer i would say is if you like proper luxury its not this. The shower room could do with neatening up but its comfortable and clean.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Emh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

danny and i enjoyed our two night deal. our arrival on friday afternoon was met by Andrew he made us feel really welcome and showed us to our room which was ideal small but just right for us your not in it long anyway. lovely big white towels good tea and coffee and biscuits. breakfast was the biggest we have ever had fantastic, couldnt manage it the second day. meals in the evening were great fish and chips the first night beautifull white fish and light batter. second night had the shoulder of lamb it fell off the bone. asked about walks as we were new to the area. andrew told us about a local walk which brought you back down the fell at the back of the pub. good but the weather was not kind and it was pea soup up there will have to go back. have to say all the staff were friendly and really nice. Thanks to you all for a great stay hope to see you all soon. all the best danny and lynn.

Room Tip: stayed in room 6 good sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanette078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have enjoyed our very good value 2 night stay at the Mill Inn (via Dealmonster). The food is very good, especially evening meals, the duck was amazing. The towels are good quality and bedding is good. Hot water is not on all day, we had to wait while it got hot enough and the shower was a bit slow but OK. The management and staff are really nice and helpful. The negative is that the bedrooms are very small, and while clean it could do with a freshen up, however it is an old Inn. Transport is essential as the buses run past the main road which is about 1.5 miles away. The Mill Inn is in a great spot for touring the lakes it is between Keswick and Penrith. Ullswater being about 5 miles away with some stunning mountains and lakes all within a few miles.

Room Tip: There are only 6 ensuite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gran63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Inn

Address: Mungrisdale CA11 0XR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Mungrisdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mungrisdale
Price Range: £62 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Inn is a 17th-century country pub set in the heart of the North Lakes. Nestling in the lea of Blencathra with the Glenderamackin flowing beneath, it's a hidden gem. With 7 snug and cosy rooms for those wishing to stay along with good home-made food and real ale make it the place to be! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing