We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently spent the night at the newly renovated Crown Plaza Wilmington North. I must say from check in, which was handled very well and professionally, to the room itself (lovely view from the 7th floor, spotless, comfortable bed and bedding) to check out it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Roe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Our staff is sincerely appreciative Roe H for taking the time and effort to share your positive experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We are very proud of our $8 million dollar renovation, but it is our staff who help make it a memorable experience. Thank you very much for recognizing their hard work and diligence. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

The rooms were decent, needed a little updating but comfortable. The front desk were friendly and helpful. The beds were great, I would have given a better rating except fro the experience we had in the bar, DON'T GO TO THE BAR EVER! The main reason I stayed at this hotel is for a wedding party. They planned to finish up in the bar where we could relax and not have to worry about driving. The group started out with close to 50 people. The bartender(term used loosely) was the worst bartender I have have ever seen. Took over 20 minutes before the first drink was poured. He spent time cleaning and polishing glasses while customers were trying to order. He ignored most people the entire night. I guess he didn't want to be there and made us feel unwelcome. Two other groups came in an attempted to get drinks they also left after waiting for the bartender, who was constantly walking into the back area and leaving bar empty. The amount of money the hotel lost was insane. There was a person who came in and appeared to be a manager but said he was from a different department and could not help. The wedding party was trapped as most left their cars and took the shuttle to the hotel. That was a bad idea in after thought as no one could have possibly gotten too much to drink here. I could go on and on as it was almost comical how rude and incompetent the barmen was.
I told the front desk but they brushed it off as a joke knowing who it was. Makes me wonder about the rest of the place. This put a huge black spot on the hotel and will never return here that is for sure. Likely think twice about Crown Plaza in general as well if this is what their employees represent.

Room Tip: Avoid the bar/restaurant, RUN QUICKLY AWAY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastsidetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We appreciate you taking time to share your comments "EastSideTravel". Last year the hotel completed a comprehensive $8 million dollar renovation, which included a top to bottom renovation of our guestrooms. We're glad to read that you enjoyed both our front desk staff and our comfortable beds. We were disappointed to read of your experience in our bar and will use your comments for training and evaluation purposes. While it appears that the bar became quite busy with wedding guests, we want to do our very best to make the bar experience a friendly and efficient one and we'll make sure this happens. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have always stayed at this hotel even way back when it was Holiday Inn. I always ask for early check-in (noon) and have always received it with sometimes a short wait. This time Joe at the front desk told me we'd have to wait until 3. So we had no place to go and finally got in at 2. Then he said he wouldn't charge me for an upgrade which being a gold member, I have never been charged before. Thought he was doing me a big favor. The up grade included a refrig. that didn't work, a tub drain that didn't drain, wet towels and a floor that was VERY loud even though I requested a quiet floor. Around 3am the people on the floor finally went to sleep. Nothing was done to quiet them. I wish the hotel would post signs on the floors that quiet time does begin at 11 and people should respect others. If you are there for a party, keep the party off the floors. They might have changed their name and prices to feel up graded, but they will have to change more than that to become an up scale hotel!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay on bottom floors in back if party going on as you will hear the band. Try to find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We very much appreciate your feedback HolidayLover0. We place a high value on our repeat guests and always try to accommodate their special requests. While 3pm is our guaranteed check in time, we will always try to accommodate early arrivals. However, if the hotel was sold out the night before it limits our ability to provide early check ins, or for a certain room type. I'm glad to read we still were able to give you a check in time earlier than our 3pm guarantee. As an IHG Rewards Gold Member, you are entitled to many great benefits, and I suggest going to www.ihgrewards.com to review your available benefits. While room upgrades are not available as a Gold Member, they are available as a Platinum Member. That said, we'll strive to accommodate requests for our loyal travelers. We will address the other items you mentioned and thank you again for your past loyalty to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Upon our arrival at the hotel we were shocked to find the room we had reserved only accommodated 2 per room in a King bed. Rather than make us seek out another hotel, they graciously accommodated out needs and provided a 2nd room at no additional cost. This is good business and one of the reasons I would not hesitate to stay again. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and centrally located. The restaurant was pricey but good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IVBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear IV Bandit,

Thank You for submitting a review regarding our hotel. The staff were so glad to hear that we were able to make good solid decisions to accommodate and satisfy you during your recent stay. The Housekeeping staff work diligently each and every day to provide a clean and comfortable stay for all guests and were glad we were able to Make It Happen for you. We would love to see and accommodate you once again when you are in the area

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our week long stay at the Crown Plaza proved to be quite successful. The hotel has been newly remodeled and it's beautiful! The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The morning meal is not a free buffet as in other hotels...but you can order from a menu or pay $13 for a very full and delicious buffet. They offered eggs-any style, hash brown potatoes with herbs, oatmeal with several toppings, fresh fruit, several dry cereals, bacon-sausage, juices, and pancakes. We chose to eat from the buffet twice and the food was hot and quite good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others. It was very quiet at night...no slamming doors in the morning or at night...big plus for me!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear gaelC,

The staff of the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North is so happy to hear the wonderful comments that you mentioned regarding your week long stay in Delaware. Our staff takes pride in their hotel, and work hard to provide our business and leisure guests with a productive and enjoyable stay. The Food and Beverage team were so glad that you were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet during your stay as they work diligently to provide a well balanced meal to get our guests going each morning. We hope to see you again when you are in the area. Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here while moving our daughter to the area. Better rate than many others in the area. Close to I-95 ramp and convenient to get into Wilmington easily. Typical well kept and appointed public areas that you would expect from Crowne Plaza. Tucked in between two office buildings so you do have to watch for the entrance access, but ample parking. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Jonathon B,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our property, I am glad you chose our hotel to stay at while moving your daughter to the area. I am glad you were able to book at a good economical rate and we were able to be convenient well kept location. I do realize that the entrance to the hotel can be slightly confusing as you have to enter at the Brandywine Corporate Center to drive down to our hotel. I hope when visiting your daughter in the future you choose us again for your hotel accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our hockey teams stayed here during a tournament at Aston Ice works. It was a quick 10 minutes from the rink and they were nice to have an early morning full breakfast at 5:30 before our early morning games to get the kids going. Really appreciated! One suggestion is that you might want to reserve a dedicated conference room out of the way for "knee hockey" that the kids can sign up for specific times. We did this at a hotel outside of Boston and it worked out really well.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank e_mansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

e_mansmom,

We were so thrilled to have been able to host your hockey group and that you found the hotel to be comfortable and hospitable. I know the hotel staff worked hard to accommodate your group. The Food and Beverage Team are so thrilled that you enjoyed the full breakfast prior to the games. The hotel actually did provide a conferance room for the kids to play "knee hockey" both Saturday and Sunday, I am so sorry that you were unaware of this and the hotel will look at possibly a better way of communicating this information during check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing