We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A frequent destination, but with a little work, they could be excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Greenwood Lake, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A frequent destination, but with a little work, they could be excellent.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've stayed here on business about 10-12 times over the past year, and the Wilmington Crowne Plaza scores well on a number of areas. Cleanliness is great, the rooms are comfortable and the beds are great. Nice flat screen TV sets, with a good selection of channels, a good work area with plenty of lighting and plenty of room are all standouts. There are lots of electrical outlets, and they're quite accessible for those like me who have all sorts of business equipment along for the ride.
The in-house restaurant is above average - their breakfast is great (free with certain corporate rates), real eggs, plenty of options, and an attentive waitstaff start off the day well. Lunch and dinner are also good, however it would be nice if there were a few more options on the menu. For those who wish to venture out, there are plenty of restaurants within a few miles (driving) of the hotel.
The staff is great - very welcoming and friendly, and will go above and beyond to keep the guests happy. On one visit, I left a piece of jewelry on the bathroom sink, and forgot about it until I was home. One call and it was found, secured, and waiting for me at my next visit!
The facilities for business meetings - conferences rooms, the ballroom, business center are all fine, and well equipped. The fitness center is on the small side, two treadmills, two stair-masters, and a stationary bike (not working the days I was there). There are two TV Sets, but only one was working on the nights I used the treadmill. Unfortunately, the remaining working one would automatically change back to a local tourism channel after about an hour, which was rather annoying.
The only other negatives I've found during my repeated stays are 1. Windows - uniformly so dirty on the outside one can barely see through them, and 2. Wireless Internet is extremely anemic and uniformly slow throughout the hotel, not just in the guest rooms.
This is a very convenient hotel, right off of Interstate 95 and 495, just over the border from Pennsylvania, and not at all far from either downtown Wilmington as well as Philadelphia Airport. If the management could pay a bit more attention to the little things it would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Floors six and seven are the Club floors and also have refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much Luke K for taking the time and effort to share such a thorough and balanced review of our Crowne Plaza. With being such a loyal and regular customer, your comments carry a lot of weight with both us and I'm sure your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. You make a lot of positive observations about our staff and the hotel in general, and you give us some excellent pointers with regard to improving details large and small. For example, we are entering our Phase 2 of our Wireless Upgrade project which when completed in the 2nd Quarter, will vastly improve the wireless internet experience to first class levels. And with Spring coming, we will certainly work on some additional "spring cleaning" of our exterior windows. Again, you make many good and detailed observations of our hotel and staff and we are very grateful for taking the time to do this. All the best and we look forward to having you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    54
    18
    17
See reviews for
54
35
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This past week, I've experience remarkable Customer Service from the staff at the Crowne Plaza, especially from Shardae. She took excellent care of me during the Nor'easter. My stay wasn't planned but it was great.

Zakiya

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you very much Z O for taking the time and effort to share your wonderful experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We especially appreciate you recognizing one of our rising stars, Shardae, who was recently promoted at the front desk. She is a great asset for both us and our guests. We hope to see you again and provide another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
197 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Super nice remodel, was in the area for family holiday visit. Lobby has cool fire feature and attractive tile. We got a king bed extremely comfortable. Parking easy. Had bathroom had wow factor or this property had a hottub I would have given 5 star. Booked for 60 via Priceline no bid deals. Room 208 end of hall quiet king sized bed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you DEBarbie for recognizing the recent $8 million dollar renovation of our hotel. We're very proud of it as well as the warm and inviting fireplace in our lobby. We hope we'll see you again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and it was comfortable, clean and convenient. Unfortunately not forecasting the amount of snow baltimore got and our car being stuck, we stayed here about 2 days later. (that is the fortunate part as this hotel is a pleasure to be in) Thank god we were about 9 miles away from the hotel.
Like any given business they were short staffed given the circumstances but their bartendar Wayne did everything above and beyond to satisfy all guests at the bar. It was quiet in the afternoon but by night time the bar/restaurant was packed as people couldn't really go anywhere. From Housekeeper to front desk to manager, they all seemed to jump in to help later on.
The breakfast was decent and everything was amazing, as it was way better than freezing much less driving in a blizzard!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swt85tiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello SW85tiners, thank you for recognizing the hard work of our staff, particularly our bartender Wayne, during the recent snowstorm. We're glad you found our hotel to be a haven in the storm and appreciate your understanding of us being short staffed under the circumstances. The staff who was here worked hard and again we're happy that you had an excellent stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Comfortable room but very noisy. I could clearly hear the people in the next room having sex at 1:30 AM. A panel on bathroom console kept falling off.

Decent hot buffet breakfast for $13. Easy to find, just off Rt. 95, about 5 miles north of Wilmington, DE. Choice of restaurants in the area very limited, though I didn't try the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you Gary B for sharing your experience with us. Yes, we are very conveniently located off of I-95 and we wish you had the opportunity to try Embers Restaurant. We also have a complimentary shuttle available within a 5 mile radius. Thank you again for this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had to stop here with my wife, 4yo and 9mo when a snow storm backed up I95.

The hotel is really clean, warm, and modern. Nicer than I was expecting.

They were short staffed because of the storm but the manager at the desk and the bar tender really went above and beyond. Some others were crabby but totally understandable given the circumstances.

Would stay again if another freak storm hits while I am traveling though the area.



Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you KD78 for sharing your "snowstorm experience" with us. The snowstorm certainly took everyone by surprise. We're glad to read that although we were missing some staff because of the storm that some members of our staff did their best to make it a warm and inviting haven for you. Thank you again for recognizing our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently spent the night at the newly renovated Crown Plaza Wilmington North. I must say from check in, which was handled very well and professionally, to the room itself (lovely view from the 7th floor, spotless, comfortable bed and bedding) to check out it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Roe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Our staff is sincerely appreciative Roe H for taking the time and effort to share your positive experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We are very proud of our $8 million dollar renovation, but it is our staff who help make it a memorable experience. Thank you very much for recognizing their hard work and diligence. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Property: Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing