We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical traveler's stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Typical traveler's stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a three day conference. The rooms are fairly spacious and certainly have the typical amenities you expect - four pillows, small fridge, writing desk - but nothing special. There was a floral odor throughout that wasn't particularly unpleasant, just unwanted. Much of the food was catered on site, and it was pretty good, but again, nothing special. Parking is free, location is convenient to I95, staff is accommodating, wifi is complementary.

Room Tip: There is not much of a view in any direction, but the higher rooms see more of the surrounding areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you C W for being a Top Contributor to TripAdvisor and for sharing your experienced eye with us in conjunction with the recent conference you attended here. We are glad we met your overall expectations and appreciate your insights into the hotel. We continually strive to exceed expectations and will work even harder to do so. All the best to you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    54
    16
    17
See reviews for
53
34
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My organization held our first event at the CP Wilmington North August 8-10, 2014 and we couldn't be more pleased with the facility and staff. The facility is beautifully updated, the food was excellent and well presented, but it was the staff that made it fantastic. Everyone took time to welcome our participants and ask if they needed anything. Any requests were handled immediately and professionally, whether big or small. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much Jennifer N to both you and your wonderful group for choosing to have your weekend event at the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North. We are always deeply appreciative to those reviewers who single out the hospitality of our staff. They are the "secret ingredient" to a special stay. We would be so excited to have you and your group back again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travel back to this area quite a bit, I still have family here, and we have had quite a few events over the past couple of years. This is the first visit I stayed at this hotel; the location was just perfect for what we needed to do.
It was a nice stay, the room and common areas were clean and the service was pleasant. Clean with good customer service are the two most important things to me, and this hotel fit both of those needs :).
Here are a couple tips, in case management reads the reviews and for those who are considering a stay -
1. The bathrooms are nice, but - re-glaze the tubs, ours was oddly painted, put a couple of hooks in the bathroom, no place to put towels, hand towels, etc., the sun lamp/warmer in the bathroom did not work.
2. Bring in more housekeeping, especially when you are full. We stayed three nights our room was only cleaned once, and we were gone for more than seven hours the day the room was not cleaned, so they had access.
I would stay here again for sure and I would recommend it. I had my wedding here back in 1988 when it was a Hilton; it has been nicely updated and is in really great shape.
Oh, and the rooms are really big and very comfortable. The bed was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you egallag for being a Senior Contributor and for staying with us. We're very happy to about your tag line "Great Night's Sleep", as that's the most important part of a guest's stay! We really appreciate all of the great comments about the hotel's cleanliness and the constructive feedback on your experience so we can further improve. Both I and my management team review each and every posting so we can use every comment to know what we're doing right and what we need to improve. Thank you again and best wishes for great travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

They need signage by the road because you have to drive through the brandy-something corporate plaza parking lot to get to the hotel. The lobby and half of the hotel room looks clean and modern, but the other half looks like they have up on remodeling halfway through. The closet door is ripped off and the bathroom looks like it's from the 80s. 15 min from the airport but I'm not sure why we paid $100+ to stay in a hotel room that's been somewhat torn apart...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you Amy W for sharing your first Trip Advisor review with us. We are working with the local municipality on getting approval to install additional signage at the main entrance and expect that to happen very soon. I sincerely apologize for the issue with the closet. There appears to have been an error in the selling status of this room, and you should not have experienced that issue. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this in more detail. And thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had the worst experience!

Stayed there earlier this month while vacationing in Philadelphia.

We checked in on a Saturday night, and the hotel was fully booked. Guests were running screaming up and down the corridors and in the floors above and below us until 1:30 A.M.! We had to complain about the noise because we couldn't get any sleep. There were microwaves on makeshift tables outside the elevators and every time you stepped out of the elevator there were about 2 or 3 people standing in line to use the microwaves and you would have to walk around them with your luggage or bags, etc.

Then, I accidentally I left my $900 Canon camera on the bed in the hotel room when we checked out. Unfortunately there was not a safe in the room.

It took us a whole day to get through to Lost and Found the next day on the phones, because the phones were down - yes, for the entire day! When we finally got through later that evening, they said they didn't have it in Lost and Found, and it was gone.

I've left a few items in other hotels before over the years, but these items were always located and returned to me via Lost and Found. But not at this hotel. My $900 camera was stolen! We had to report it to the police.

An overall wretched experience. You can't trust the hotel staff not to help themselves to your property, so AVOID THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDMODE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
The hotel respects KDMODE's right to post a review of this type on TripAdvisor. So for the benefit of all Trip Advisor travelers, there are Innkeeper's Liability laws in effect in all states. All hotels are required to have a safe available for the storage of valuables free of charge. To protect hotels from fraudulent claims of items missing or stolen, hotels are not liable for any items allegedly left in hotel rooms. That said, if a guest is 100% certain that an item was left in their room, they have every right to file a police report, and in turn allow the police to investigate the matter for them. It is otherwise unfair to accuse the staff of theft, especially in light of the fact that most hotels, including our own, reunite guests with their belongings or valuables each week, in some cases items of great value. Let the law enforcement professionals do the investigation and they will determine if there is merit or not to a claim of theft. With regard to the phone system, there was indeed a local outage that affected our hotel's system, and Verizon ultimately restored service late that day. Thank you for the opportunity to share this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Claymont hotels

Hot Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I stopped for the night on our way to NYC. Very large room was very clean. The dinner at Embers was fantastic. My wife had the vegetarian platter and it was delicious. I enjoyed the Delaware salad with goat cheese.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions.
Will stop on our way back from NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doughirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much Skeetlax, for spending time at the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North on your way to NYC, and in particular for singling out both the hospitality of our staff and your great dining experience in our restaurant. We do strive to maintain the highest quality and cleanliness in our hotel and we appreciate you recognizing the hard work of our staff. Looking forward to seeing you on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Old building with renovated public areas that look very nice. Only one person at front desk the few days we were there with a constant line. Very disappointed that they placed us in a room not requested, when a frequent guest. The front desk person found us a decent room. Air conditioning unit is loud. Room was fine and clean. Pool deck is in serious need of repaving. Surprised no one has gotten hurt. Pool was wonderfully, cool and refreshing. Staff very nice. Good location to Philly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jojostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you jojostew for being a top contributor and for staying with us. We appreciate you highlighting the many improvements the hotel has made and in particular for recognizing the hospitality of our staff. We do have a beautiful pool and are in process of doing some small but important repairs to some portions of the pool deck. Thank you as well for the other observations and we will work to improve there. All the best to you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Property: Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing