We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've stayed at the Bay Resort many times and each visit has been wonderfully relaxing. The rooms are clean and lovely. The view of the bay is delightful. I love having a small kitchen with dishes and utensils available. I am always sorry when it's time for me to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    135
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
250
208
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Friendly, clean and well maintain for an older motel, the bathroom seemed to be a little musty but doable. Coffee was always available at the office and the ladies there were pleasant and cheerful. The kitchenette was perfect for a quick breakfast or light lunch. The back side facing the bay was fun to discover, horse shoe crabs, crabs and jumping fish at night, several nets were along the fence, available for the crab hunters, no mosquito. The walk to the beach was a breeze!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a group, see if you can get the corner rooms facing the pool, the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed here numerous times over the years. Its always a great time. They really have tried to keep it somewhat family oriented. There are the occasional parties that are broken up quickly. The rooms are functional. You have a mini fridge and kitchenette. A balcony and comfortable beds. The difference is the staff. They make you feel like family.

Room Tip: try to get a bayview first floor on the offseason to truly enjoy the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from staying at the Bay Resort...it was an average motel, emphasis on "motel". The room was very clean, non-descript, bathroom was very small, We stayed on the bay side; the view was pleasant and unobstructed. I would suggest staying on this "quiet side" of the motel because , although you could hear the 70+ loud drunks all day & night who claimed the swimming pool; their noise wasn't as magnified on the bay side. It did get quieter around 2:00 AM.

I would recommend staying here in the early Fall or late Spring to avoid the "non-family" atmosphere of the Summer.

Room Tip: Stay "Bay side " definitely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peg412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Bay Resort is a lovely place to stay for a family or group vacation. The pool is lovely, the staff very welcoming, and the sunsets wonderful. Being right where the action happens in Dewey, but not in a noisy area, is great. For my son, the long pier with nets there for crabbing was great. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. The kitchen areas are showing a little bit of age but are functional and well equipped.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pier and sunsets are the highest priced, but worth it. In particular, choosing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGalAlexVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just return home from a trip to Dewey Beach DE. The Bay Resort Motel is not a resort! It was nice and the bay view was beautiful. Check-in was easy and the gentlemen that checked us in was very friendly. He gave us great information about a local restaurant called Just In Thyme-highly recommend delicious food! Our room was clean (basic) but small. Bathroom was tiny. They have a great pool area which is on the backside of the building so it's private and clean. In reading other reviews before choosing this motel they indicated it was a family motel my first reaction was good. Well we arrived late on Friday kinda quiet around the pool. We were anxious to sit by the pool on Saturday for some R&R from work. Too our surprise their must have been 35+ mostly young people that came to the pool to spend the entire day drinking and partying. I have never seen so many people standing in a pool drinking all day. Nothing worse than obnoxious drunks! You couldn't move nor could a family ever bring their children to the pool. All day I never noticed anyone from the reception area come out and check on the drinking and I'm sure underage drinking was taking place. All night long it was noisy! While security was present in the evening it didn't stop the noise. My recommendation is stay away from this place during the weekend. Come on Sunday and check out on Thursday or Friday morning!

Room Tip: Stay on Bay side for the beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMay151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed fr two nights on the Bayside of the Hotel. In the mornings the bayside is in shade and a perfect place to sit on your patio or balcony to watch the seagulls dipping in and out of the water. We enjoyed the pool with friends. Our beds were very comfortable and each bed had four pillows. The people who worked in the office were always gracious and accommodating. Hot coffee was in the office every day. The rooms have a small kitchen (small refrigerator, small stove, small sink, and limited amount of dishes, pots, etc.). Could easily make breakfast or lunch in the room. Room also had a coffee pot with packets of premeasured coffee and tea bags. Would definitely stay in this hotel again. Convenient to beach, restaurants, amusement and the outlets.

Room Tip: We liked the bayside because it is quiet. Asked for room on first level. Easy to walk out to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiserMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
420 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Property: The Bay Resort
Address: 126 Bellevue St., Dewey Beach, DE 19971-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing