We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive and caring staff - helpful with everything!”
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First and foremost, the best staff anywhere! On check-in they were helpful with recommendations for restaurants, helpful with local parking and just really great people! The rooms were nice and clean, and either you look out on the pool and the bay and ocean like we did, or get the most beautiful sunset view on the bay side rooms. The pool and surroundings were nice and clean, and the bay side sand and grass area were top notch for lounging and taking in the sun. I will most definitely return!!

Room Tip: Bay side rooms have the most perfect view of the bay and sunset, but if you want one of the pool, it...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allstate125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff is so nice from check in to check out. The pool was clean. The rooms were great. The back grass area was a fun place to hang out. Went with my friends from college after graduation and had a blast here it was everything we needed and more.

Room Tip: The view from the bayside rooms are great. 1st floor bayside rooms are the best in the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

WE LOVE THIS MOTEL AT DEWEY!!!
We stay here June & September. 2 blocks from the beach. Quiet location. Friendly staff. Nice pool. GREAT Bay view!!!! Any bay view room is best (unless you're watching children at the pool).
Great for watching sunsets!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BONBethlehemPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We where 5 guys on a roadtrip from D.C. and we had made a booking for 3 rooms, becouse we where originaly going to be 6 guys. And we thought we could squeez ourself in to only 2 of the rooms witch both had 2 bouble beds in them. So we told them so in the receprion, And we dident have to pay anything at all for the 3rd room. Dewey was fun, alot of party hehee.
If you travel with a family your probebly better of in Rehoboth Beach instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I've visited Bay Resort several times and will definitely be returning! Several people's reviews have pointed out that it's not a resort but actually a motel, which is true. That's something you would easily notice by looking at their website though. This place is phenomenal for the price. You hands down cannot beat the location, with the sunsets over the bay. It is really picturesque! On our last trip we stayed in a first floor bay front room which I definitely recommend. It was so nice to be able to walk straight out of our room onto the dock to tie up our crabbing nets. The room was very clean and included some pots, pans, and utensils - everything you need for a short stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We loved the pool and spent a lot of time there. It's a bit small, but was never very crowded. We can't wait to go back this year! Do yourself a favor while you're staying here and go to Woody's for the crab cakes -- best we have ever had!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MtDrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here two separate times (2011, 2013) while vacationing in Dewey Beach. The first time we were poolside and more recently were bayside. This hotel is great, especially for the price. The price is much more reasonable than the other hotels in the area. While it is a little outdated, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Also, each room has a kitchenette area which is very convenient for longer stays. Each room also has a private balcony. The view of the sunset over the bay from our balcony was gorgeous and relaxing. The motel is very close to the beach, a 3-5 minute walk. We had no complaints during either stay. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aladavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were planning a beach vacation but couldn't commit to a full week rental, so none of the condos on the ocean were available. We like having kitchen facilities so we're not locked into having every meal in a restaurant and also like having somewhere else to sit other than the bed, so we got one of the bayside king w/sofabed efficiency rooms. Like others said, the rooms could stand to be updated, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean - these are the most important things to me! The staff was very friendly and when we thought we had a problem (a drip from the bathroom ceiling), we had an immediate response and repair. We asked ahead of time if they had grills (they don't) and were told we could bring one which we did. For the price, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Bayside has a view and is quieter.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue_S_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
10.9 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Address: 126 Bellevue St., Dewey Beach, DE 19971-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range: £78 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing