We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at the Delaware Shore”
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at the Delaware Shore”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We spent 3 nights at the Bay Resort and would have stayed longer if the weather had co-operated. Staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant - it's location on the bay front was lovely and quiet and centrally located. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfy - bathroom is tiny but not a problem at all. Kitchenette was well supplied and the iron and ironing board was a nice amenity at the shore. Nice pool area but the weather was too cool for us to even consider it. My only complaint with the area (not the hotel) was that there seems to be limited activity for those of us over 50 who like to have fun at night - everything seemed to be targeted at the under 30 crowd.

The Bay Resort was a great find and we had a very pleasant few days there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    138
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
266
213
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Although we go to Dewey every year, we had not been familiar with The Bay Resort. What a pleasant surpise to pull up to a motel that was in a quiet location with a great view of the bay.
Sunsets were amazing! Loved watching the birds too. We were able to walk to all the shops/restaurants. It was great to be there off season, although a lot of places were closed, there was enough to keep us occupied. The pool was clean and it was hot enough to go to the beach a few days during our trip. Worth a return trip!

  • Liked — view of the bay
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFMAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

This is the second time I've stayed at the Bay Resort for an end of the summer vacation and I wasn't disappointed. The price is fantastic for what the hotel offers and its location is ideal to visit both the Rehoboth and Ocean City boardwalks. Our room included two comfortable beds, a nice terrace with a view of the bay, high-speed internet access and a kitchenette which included a refridgerator, 3 stove top burners, oven, sink and microwave with all the utenzils needed to cook. We enjoyed this feature for it allowed us to only have to eat out one meal a day. The pool was very enjoyable for swimming after a day at beach. The walk to the beach is only two blocks and the bay boarders the motel property. What makes the Bay Resort so great is its staff. They are extremely hard-working and very friendly. From morning to evening, you will find the staff working to keep the hotel grounds clean and in proper working order. Summer vacation at the Bay Resort has become a tradition that I hope to continue for many years to come.
One very satisfied lodger - Taylor, PA

  • Liked — The whole package
  • Disliked — There was no elevator
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We just recently returned from 5 nights at the Bay Resort. We had a bayside room, way better than poolside. Everyone working there was very courteous. The room was spacious enough with a king bed and a pullout for our son. The pullout wasn't exactly the most comfortable but he survived. We were on the second floor which could be a bit of a hassle for families with small children or older adults as there is no elevator. The view is beautiful and the bay is very quiet even when the neighbours are 2 restaurants but we heard nothing from there at all. The room had a fridge, microwave, 3 burner stove, pots, dishes, cutlery, coffee maker and a toaster. They even give you dishwashing soap. You can eat in if you want. Very convenient. Went to the Rusty Rudder for the buffet, worth every penny. Great views here of the bay as well. Went over to Ed's on the main drag for some cheap sea food. It was OK, they make their own crabcakes or so they said.
Its a five minute walk to the beach, but its worth it. It was fairly busy but we were not there on the weekend when it might get busier.
Some good deals up at the outlet mall up on route one.
We also went to golf in the area, played the Rookery. Good deal at twilight, but the course is very ordinary and was very beat up as they have not had much rain recently. I guess they can't do much about that. Go to Baywood for twilight, but you have to phone at 6 am the morning of to book a tee time.
All in all, I would recommend Dewey Beach to everyone. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed at the hotel one time before and enjoyed our stay so we decided to stay again.This stay was even more enjoyable.The people at the front desk were very nice and accommodating.The rooms were very clean and the maid service was great. I recommend a bayfront room the views were beautiful. Enjoyed the sunsets. My son spent hours crabbing with a few other boys and we were able to watch from our room.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank deedee9470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed at the Bay Resort for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We had our sons with us (age 14 and 11).
The hotel is a standard beach hotel. the room was very clean and the good size refridgerator is a plus. Our room faced the bay which was very pretty. The folks at the front desk were super friendly . We asked for a few extra pillows which were delivered immediately. The gentleman also gave us some good restaurant tips etc. The beach is a few block walk and there are several places to eat etc within walking distance (Grotto pizza, rita's etc).
Maybe it was just the weekend we were there (holiday) but the whole town was filled with young people intent on drinking all hours of the day and night. The first day we arrived, there was a group of young girls doing beer bongs by the pool. Another group played football in the morning while drinking beer. There are 2 nightclubs very close so there were often intoxicated young people wandering the streets. one day we watched two drunk young women fall off the dock into the bay (it's very shallow) and they could not get back out. It was really disgusting.
Trust me, my husband and I like to drink and party as well, but this was out of hand. after a while even my kids (who thought the antics were funny at first) got tired of drunks everywhere. Surprisingly, the room was fairly quiet and I only heard noice in the hallways once. The party crowd left beer cans, pizza boxes etc all over the grassy area, which the hotel always cleaned up very quickly.
So of course, this is not the hotel's fault. Just think twice if you are traveling with young kids etc as this is quite a party town. Rehoboth Beach is much more family friendly in my opinion.

Overall, I would definitely visit the Bay Resort again, just maybe not on a holiday weekend.

  • Liked — quiet bayfront location
  • Disliked — crowds of drunks
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyJM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Everything you advertise in your brochure and on your website is 100% true. The rooms and pool are very clean, the bayside view spectacular, the parking convenient. Shirley and Dan both very pleasant. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank m0m24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
435 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
10.9 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Property: The Bay Resort
Address: 126 Bellevue St., Dewey Beach, DE 19971-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing