We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront Property With Best View of Dewey Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I drove down to Dewey Beach for a long weekend getaway and stayed at The Surf Club. They booked me into a third floor room, which had an excellent view down the length of the beach, surf and sand, as far as I could see. This was enjoyable while working on the computer indoors, and I was only steps from the beach when I wanted to go out for a stroll. The rooms have all the essentials of a condo, making it convenient to dine in. Restaurants and other establishments are nearby and easy to walk to. Shopping and entertainment a short drive.

Room Tip: For the best views, definitely ask for a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel has breathtaking views. We had a great stay with family. We will definitely come back next year. I'm pretty sure that the hotel is under new management. I have heard that they had some problems in the past and are cleaning up the party scene to create a family friendly place. After staying here and reading some reviews of the hotel I made some observations. Of course people who stay and party here and are told to quiet down will give this place a bad review. You can't make everyone happy. Overall its a great place and the rooms are a little bigger then normal. My compliments to Charlie and his staff!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Surf Club Hotel for a number of years. We love it there - we have a million dollar view from our ocean front windows in the units that we have stayed in. We last stayed there mid August, 2011. In fact, 4 months ago, while looking out our windows, we saw a seal come out of the water onto the beach - stay for a few minutes and then dive back into the ocean - we could not believe it - it gave us chills.

The units have always been very clean and the staff extremely friendly. They welcome you as you are friends they have not seen in some time. It really makes one feel good in this world of impersonal contact with people.

The rooms are great, with a Murphy bed that folds down, when needed, and a queen sized sofa bed that is also a couch - the neat thing about the rooms is that when you put the Murphy bed up and fold the couch up, the room becomes a very welcoming suite - great to have friends or families hang out in. A coffee machine, 2-burner stove, mini refrigerator and microwave are availale, plus TV, entertainment center and Wifi. There is also a sun room that faces the ocean with a wonderful view of the beach, as The Surf Club Hotel is "On the Sand").

Would recommend staying here to anyone who loves the ocean -- the outdoor pool, hot tub, outdoor deck with barbecue grills are great - we always come back home very relaxed - recommend it highly as a vacation spot.

And -- they are open all year for people who want a view of the ocean in mid-winter. Both Dewey and Rehoboth offer great off-season restaurant specials which makes dining out a treat. The Surf Club is a wonderful get-away when the skies are gray, but the ocean is blue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachlover898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed at your hotel for business for two evenings and was pleasantly surprised at the service of the staff. Three gentlemen, Jay, Bob, and Charlie were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to answer my questions, direct me where to park, and even helped with directions to the local store to buy medicine in an urgent situation. It isn't everyday that you find such exceptional service and this is the place to stay if you want not only a beautiful view of the beach, but the friendliest people in town! Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Dewey Beach, DE!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Surf Club is an excelent hotel to vacation at. The facility is right on the beach with breathtaking oceanfront views. My family and I stayed at the the Surf Club for a whole week, and every day was an absolute delight. Our room came with every accomidation neccessary for all of our needs which provided us a complete FUN & STREES FREE stay. Along side of the wonderful accomidations, the hotel manager, Charlie, and his staff run this place like a clock with the highest level of professionalism. The grounds, pool, hot tub, and rooms are all kept CLEAN AND SAFE at all times. So, in other words, Dewey Beach is the place to be, and The Surf Club is the place to stay! Thank you Surf Club, and see you next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm107 which was facing the ocean and had its own hallway which provided a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here the last weekend in June for my girlfriend's bachelorette party. I was not impressed, at all. The only positives for the hotel was that it is right on the beach and there is a small pool. I would not stay at this hotel again. It was damp, cramped, moldy, and over all not worth the $840 that we spent on it. The bed situation was also a bit annoying. There are 2 beds, 1 pull down murphy bed and 1 pull out sofa bed. It was inconvenient and when the beds were open, it was very cramped.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph_Setaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have been going to the Surf Club for over 10 years and started pre-kids. This year will be our last.

Service - Terrible. Upon arrival, prior to "hello" we were told we could not stay as we are a family of 5 (youngest under 2) due to room limits. This would have been good information BEFORE we trekked the 4.5 hours there. We found a work around as we had friends staying too but they made us feel very unwelcome.

Other service items - any request they made is feel like we were putting them out - nothing crazy just things like more towels, how to work the TV remotes...

Kids Activities - Terrible. If your kids like to play somewhere more than the pool, don't bring them. I have girls and they are not that loud but our room was above the office. Any jump or tumble, we were getting a call. If your kids are laughing and having fun on the balcony - getting a call.

Value - Poor. Expensive for very dated facilities and service level. This would be higher if the service level of previous years was provided.

Sleep Quality - Poor. Murphy bed was OK but it is still a bed that folds into the wall. Room was quiet though.

Cleanliness - Poor. Room cleaning was spotty at best. Easy to overlook if service did not make us feel like a nuisance to make a request.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ghentto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
616 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adams Ocean Front Resort Motel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing