We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, new hotel but still working out the kinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice, new hotel but still working out the kinks”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For the record I would like to give this hotel 3 1/2 stars. The hotel is new so the room are big for a beach hotel & wonderfully clean & modern. It's on Route 1 so it's easy to find.
Pros - free, continental breakfast that they try to keep stocked as much as possible. There was fresh fruit, powdered eggs (not my favorite), cereal, etc.. While it could be tough to find a table for 4 or more people, the tables turned over quickly. There was a free copy of the Wall Street Journal on Saturday (nothing on Sunday) by our door. We asked for & were given a room that faced outside so we could see the weather; otherwise some room faced inside the hotel. The exercise room was standard, but new & the machines were modern. There is indoor & outdoor free parking, but you have to figure out that if there isn't an "R" then you can park there. Free wifi was nice. There's lots of shops & restaurants within walking distance.
Con - they ran out of shampoo - what hotel runs out of shampoo? Then they didn't restock the soap & conditioner, they probably ran out of that as well. The indoor pool is a little small & uninviting. We were never told about a shuttle to Rehoboth - I saw that in a recent review - that would have been nice to know at check in. Elevator was incredibly slow for a 3 story building.
Overall, we used points to stay this past weekend, so it was a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, General Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
desilady1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do apologize for any challenges you encountered during your stay and we look forward to making that up to you upon a return visit.

Thanks Again,

Christine Strouss
General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    211
    97
    30
    23
See reviews for
325
271
41
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion and we couldn't have been happier. The location is just steps from the beach. The rooms are well maintained and decent sized. The décor is well done.
There is ample parking and garage space. They even had a bike rack in the garage for our bikes.

They serve breakfast in the morning which is a good way to start off your day.

The only complaint I could have is I would have liked it if they had a whirlpool.

Room Tip: Might want a room further from the elevators. I could hear them in the mornings while in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dishinitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, General Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
dishinitout,

Thank you so much for such kind words. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Thanks,

Christine Strouss
General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed only one night, but it was a great stay with our family. If we had more time we would have stayed another day. The hotel is very close to the beach, but you do have to walk a block. It is however, right on the bay and you can eat at one of the restaurants on the bay. We spend both days at the beach, but we took the trolley to Rehoboth fro dinner.
We did use the pool on both days and the breakfast was very nice. This is a nice modern place to stay in Dewey Beach. If I ever get the chance I will return.

Room Tip: Nice and Modern for the beach in Deleware
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest for one night. Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Although it was a short visit for you, we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the time spent here. We hope you do get the chance to return as we look forward to having you.

Take care,

Eric González
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visited the Hyatt Place at Dewey Beach on June 13th-15th with my family: 6&9 year old, husband, and dog. There was plenty of space to unpack and store our luggage. Our dog crate did get in the way a little bit (couldn't store this away too well) - but otherwise, the room was spacious enough. The hotel does not have "nice views" but is a short walk from the beach. The staff was super friendly - we ordered some dinner when we arrived - just some salad and soup - it took a long time to prepare, but I was chatting with the staff and other customers along the way so it was a nice wait. Because we brought our dog, I think they put us in a 'dog section' of the hotel - at least I could hear other dogs from the other rooms in the hallway. I couldn't hear them when I was in my room though. However, there was a noise disturbance two doors down that woke up my husband in the middle of the night. The staff (and police) did their best to resolve. Hotel had good wifi. We plan to go again - it was nice to have a vacation with the dog and not have to send her to an expensive kennel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your visit in the middle of June. We are happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy some time together in Dewey Beach. The Dewey / Rehoboth area certainly offers something for everyone, including dogs. If you get a chance, be sure to visit us in the fall as there are many festivities happening here that time of year. We apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered. Our team strives to accommodate all of our valued guests so that all may enjoy a great time while away from home. Thanks for mentioning the efforts and friendliness of our team. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you with us again.

See you soon,

Eric González
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Though our mini vacation was rainy and soggy. We had a very comfortable stay at Hyatt Place. Thanks to the indoor pool the kids had fun and we didn't have to hear the "Im Bored" all day long. It would have been nice if they would have had a jacuzzi with the indoor pool and more pool side seating. The breafast was good and fresh. The sfaff was very nice. They had everything you need even though they don't have a full service restaurant you won't go hungry they also have a nice little bar. The location is great for getting to the beach and bay. I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: There are no rooms facing water, that was a bummer. But you'll spend most of your time out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the compliments of our hotel! We value your feedback and are happy to hear that in spite of the rain, your family was able to enjoy your time away from home. Our indoor pool is certainly a nice way to entertain the kids on rainy days. Guests also visit the nearby Tanger shopping Outlets, restaurants, and Movie Theater nearby. Our team strives to provide the best possible service to all of our valued guests. We look forward to having you again.

Thanks Again,

Eric González
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels across the country. Most of them have poor service. we were glad u were only steps from the beach, From the moment we checked in and drank that amazing cucumber water that I am now craving so bad. The rooms were incredible, the housekeeping was wonderful and the big bathrooms were nothing like you get in any other hotel. We really did not use the pool as it looked like many people didn't but we figured if there was a day that was rainy, we at least had the indoor pool. We love the fact that your hotel offers a full breakfast instead of a continental breakfast served by other hotels. The food was really good. The entire week we were there it was beautiful and sunny without a drop of rain. Your hotel comes highly rated! There is nothing more I can say but that I miss it already.

Room Tip: From what I could see......EVERY room was a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillies4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlaceDewey, Manager at Hyatt Place Dewey Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review about your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return. Our freshly cut cucumber water awaits you in our lobby along with our complimentary full breakfast buffet each morning. Your feedback and your business means a lot to us!

Thanks again,

Eric González
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with three friends at this lovely hotel for the Fourth of July weekend to hit up the beaches and bars nearby and like every American, celebrate and have fun!! We are NOT a rowdy group but we were given three "noise violations" because some other guests thought we were too loud at 8pm, 9pm (before we left to go out) and 2am (when we got home). It was 4 th of July and at 8pm were singing god bless America, so we felt it was a little ridiculous to be told to be quiet. Nice hotel, morning breakfast, clearly full of families who want to hear a pin drop, an indoor pool that usually had kids in it, and apparently the walls are made of paper.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelchic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.1 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.8 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Dewey Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Dewey Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Address: 1301 Coastal Hwy, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2416
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Dewey Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One block from the Atlantic Ocean, the Hyatt Place Dewey Beach combines style and innovation to create a completely new hotel experience in the Rehoboth Beach/Dewey Beach area. Located footsteps from the Rehoboth Bay, guests can enjoy Delaware's most stunning sunsets from the decks of two of Dewey Beach's most popular seasonal restaurants, Que Pasa and The Lighthouse. The adjacent Baycenter and Cove provide 13,000 square feet of event space for corporate retreats, social gatherings and family reunions. The Hyatt Place Dewey Beach is the perfect destination with something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Dewey Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing