We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Standing Customer but Never Again”
Review of Bellbuoy Motel

Bellbuoy Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbuoy Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Reviewed 4 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at this motel many times. In fact, my husband stayed there many years before the current owners took over. The owners knew us by name. We booked our room with them and they never asked for a deposit - never did before. If they wanted a deposit, we would have given them our credit card at time we booked our reservation. We arrived on a Friday in July and when the owner saw us he said that he did not have a room for us. We thought he was joking! He said that we never sent in the deposit. Here we were on a Friday night in July, traveled over three hours and had no place to stay. Ok, I could understand a mix up BUT after all the years we stayed there and the dollars spent, the least he could have done was try to find us another room or suggest something. He basically turned his back on us and that was that! We were so upset the way we were treated. Luckily we were able to find somewhere else but we never went back and never will. If you want a nice place that is basically right on the beach go to Adams Ocean - so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VADoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2007

I had booked six weeks in advance, but became very nervous after reading a recent derrogatory review. However, I was relieved to find a very helpful, friendly staff and a clean well maintained room. Would I return? You bet I would! I feel as if I've found a home away from home near my favorite vacation spot.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had! There were ants all over the bathroom and sinks as well as one roach in the bathtub. The air conditioning did not work right either. The staff gave us a can of Raid as a solution to the bug problem and never fixed the AC. The one staff member was rude to us and was very nosey. That staff member watches all the guests every move and is always lurking around. Very creepy! This hotel exhibits horrible customer service!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunseeker1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2005

I was at the Bellbuoy from June 26-28th. I have stayed there many times and I highly recommend it! The location is great-the beach is at the end of the street. The motel is quiet, clean, and they have a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leesburg, Va.
15
Reviewed 13 April 2005

We have stayed at the Bellbuoy several times over the last few years.... It's a terrific, family oriented place within walking distance of all there is to do in Dewey!

Stayed: May 2003
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dewey Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adams Ocean Front Resort Motel and Villas
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
360 reviews
1 mi away
Sea Esta Motels IV
Sea Esta Motels IV
#12 of 13 in Dewey Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbuoy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbuoy Motel

Address: 21 Van Dyke St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bellbuoy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellbuoy Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing