We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Autumn Vacation”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We usually go to Rehobeth but on a whim decided to stay somewhere else. The Atlantic View Hotel is a wonderful place to get away. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The mini breakfast is good as is the late afternoon wine/snacks that is provided for the guests. It is a quiet place to stay but yet close to restaurants and convenient. The only down side is that it is not very handicap accessible. However, in spite of that we would consider returning for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218summerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    109
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
127
185
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Atlantic View many times and have been very satisfied with our stay, but not so much this past trip. The floors are very creaky which means you always hear the people above you. (We would stay on the 4th floor to avoid this, but there are no private balconies or ocean front rooms on that floor.) This is only a problem at night when you want to sleep but have night owls above you, which unfortunately we did!
This past stay, the people above us were up, thumping and creaking constantly until 3:00 AM several different nights! We wanted to complain, but the lobby was locked at 11:00 PM and we did not know who to call. We should have said something during the day, but we kept hoping the noise would stop which it did for a few nights, but then it happened again! It was really bad!
We mentioned our displeasure about the noise upon checking out and we were told we could've dialed 0 to reach someone on call at the hotel. I wish we were told that at check in. Next time , we will call for sure and won't be shy about speaking up. It really put a damper on our trip.
One other thing that bothered us this time - the early, pre-breakfast coffee ran out before we could get any. Others were unhappy about this too.
We still like the Atlantic View, especially for the fantastic location, but the thumping and creaking from the people above can really be disturbing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VCat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is our third stay at the hotel and we had a great time. We stayed on the 2nd floor ocean view this time and it was perfect. You have your own little balcony area and a perfect view of the ocean. Its a no frills, clean and friendly hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 201 closest to the stairs - easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcbworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We usually do Rehobeth after Labor Day, yes we do day trips to Rehobeth during high summer, but this is the first time in Dewey Beach. The Atlantic View Hotel was awesome. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean, and the addition of the microwave and fridge was great. The min breakfast was cute and the cookies in the evening made my night. The king size room facing the ocean lulled us to sleep every night. Even though is was early fall (23rd of September) the weather was fabulous and the night sky was great for star charting (no light polution)

All in all a beautiful fall vacation, and we hightly recommend Atlantic View Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

First night in bayside room because we decided to go for an extra night. Arrived early and had hoped room would be ready early. Went to beach and inquired of staff a few times in hopes they might clean our room first and get us in early as check out is 11AM. No luck. Checked in at 3:00 on the nose. I felt the staff member felt I was bothering her, but only hoped to get a chance to relax after a long trip. On the positive side, we were offered some chairs and a place to change so off to the beach we went which was steps from the hotel. Room was awesome and very clean. Staff was helpful during our stay and breakfast was good. Offered wine and cookies in the evening which was a nice touch. Once we moved into our ocean side room we were thrilled and wanted to stay longer. The view was breathtaking and we enjoyed a storm and waking to the sound or crashing waves every morning. Only real negative was that the smoking area was in front of the lobby and front door so as a non-smoker, that was a bit irritating. Not sure where I would move the smoking area, but would not put at front entrance. We had this property recommended by several friends and we will return many more times. Good value for the location of the property and I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheOcean960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Airy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I visited over Labor Day weekend. Our stay was flawless, no problems to report. The breakfast was above average when compared to chain hotels. Our room was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. You can't beat the close proximity to the beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had an overnight stay with my 85 year old mother. We waited for an ocean front room to open up on the second floor and it was perfect for sitting on the balcony and enjoying the ocean views. The rooms were clean and fine for an overnight stay. It was too small for a weeks stay. Rooms included a microwave, good size fridge, morning coffee/breakfast, evening happy hour and they had beach chairs for you to use. Beach is right there so its perfect and away from the busy beach at Rehoboth. Short drive to restaurants in Rehoboth and outlets. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808AlwaysSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Dewey
Beach House Dewey
#4 of 13 in Dewey Beach
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Property: Atlantic View Hotel
Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing