We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!!!!”
Review of Beach House Dewey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach House Dewey
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Beach House Dewey was truly one of the most fun and well-run beach hotels I'v ever had the pleasure of staying at. The employees, clientele, and atmosphere made my vacation one of the most enjoyable I've had in years. It is located right on the beach and near all the fun attractions Dewey has to offer. The rooms were spacious and the service was phenomenal. I highly recommend staying here if your vacation takes you to Dewey!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful experience at the Beach House Dewey! We greatly appreciate your business and your kind remarks. Making our guests happy is our first priority, and it is always nice to hear from you when we succeed in doing so.

We would be honored to have you stay with us again on your next Dewey Beach visit!!

Best,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Beach House Dewey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here on a Wednesday night and very happy with our choice. In my opinion cleaner and nicer than any of the other hotels in Dewey. Staff was kind and helpful. Great location, close to all of the restaurants/bars and of course the beach. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherMBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Beach House. Your positive comments about our staff and our property go a long way in spreading the word about our property. We are very proud of the experience we can offer to the visitors of Dewey, and it makes our efforts well worth the while when our guests recognize us for it. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but there were some hiccups. We had booked a room on Bookings.com for Saturday night, then decided to add Friday night. I called to make the Friday night reservation & talked to a live person to book the additional night. He took my credit card, but I neglected to notice that I didn't get a confirmation email from the hotel for the extra night. We showed up after a long, heavy-traffic drive from Philly on a Friday night during peak season, only to find that they had no record of our reservation. They were nice about it, but they had no recollection of talking to me and it was he-said/she-said. This is how we ended up in Lewes for the night (see review of Beacon Motel), which we discovered we liked so much more than Dewey! Saturday afternoon we finally made it into Beach House Dewey. Pros: 1) the room is modern, clean, and has everything you need. 2) LOCATION! The property is literally steps from the beach. Cons: 1) as everyone said on other reviews, it's LOUD. Dewey is a real party town, which we did not know. There is a bar across the street that has live bands pumping well into the night. Fortunately we were all tired so fell asleep easily in spite of the noise. 2) Because it's a party town, there were a lot of groups partying at the pool. My kids were intimidated to go to the pool as there were groups playing beer pong in the pool! Our room was RIGHT by the pool as well - we felt like we were intruding on them getting to our room. Headline is - this is a great place for a bachelorette party or something, but I wouldn't come back with the kiddos.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mhbiglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would first like to thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Delaware beach vacation. We would also like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on Friday night. Please give us the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit to the Dewey area.

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property--both pros and cons. It is very helpful for us to be aware of our guests' thoughts in order to continually improve our services.

Regards,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

found it on tripadvisor. it was just as described. The room was basic, but cleanand you could walk to the beach without shoes (one block). Good restaurants nearby. The hotel manager was extremely friendly and helpful. They offer out of season discounts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank N1590CQdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with an "easy" beach experience. We go out of our way to take the stress out of our guests' vacations, and it is awesome to hear that this was the case with your stay!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Took advantage of the stay 3 nights during the week and get 4th night free deal. The room was spacious, bright and clean with a small fridge and microwave. The small pool and surrounding area offered a nice spot for an after beach day cocktail and swim. No complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ophelia582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSerManager, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We know vacations can be expensive, so we are glad you were able to take advantage of the promotions we offer on our website. Please think of us again when you are planning your next beach escape!

Best,
The Beach House Dewey Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was very pleased with this classic motel with a boutique style upgrade. It was clear that it was an old motel that had been recently renovated. Neat green and blue color theme was clean and fresh feeling. The bed spread and linens were new and soft. Not scary and slimy like some motel sheets/blankets. The pool had festive colored party lights underwater at night. The staff was friendly and let us take a late night swim as long as we were quiet. Had a great girls trip. We are in our 30s and had a nice combination of peaceful beach time and fun night life.

If you are sensitive to noise, I would say that the walls were a bit thin. But when it came time for bed (1 AM) all was quiet.

The room is not ocean view, but the very quick walk to the beach is great. Located very close to liquor store, Dairy Queen, Bottle and Cork (night club), and Grotto's Pizza.

Room Tip: Hotel is three levels. Pick the second or first floor if you don't like hiking up stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedwards80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at Beach House Dewey this past weekend with my family and it was a great experience from check-in to check-out. Our room was ready when we arrived and the staff at the front desk was very friendly. The modern rooms were very impressive and were a very nice touch to the hotel. The beach is just a quick walk from the hotel, and the pool is a great way to keep the kids entertained throughout the day. The Dewey nightlife scene is also in very close to the hotel, which is great for those looking to go out. Overall, I would definitely recommend Beach House Dewey to those looking for a great place to stay in Dewey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyC225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
455 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Address: 1710 Coastal Hwy, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2333 (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range: £70 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Dewey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing