We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time for some changes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cool Springs Fish Bar & Restaurant

Cool Springs Fish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 196 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastern Shore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time for some changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have always loved this restaurant. But it is getting a little boring seeing the same old stuff.
New Menu would be nice (especially new desserts, these are really old) Maybe some more fun looking Martini/Manhattan glasses. The salad that came with my dinner last time was a little "sick" looking - spruce it up. One more small item, the wait staff. I like my waitress to be friendly but not chummy like my BFF's.
Again, the food and drinks are always good. Just looking for something new!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    61
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fishtabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of our favorite places for seafood! Friendly knowledgeable staff, clean atmosphere, delicious variety of dishes!! Now that I think of it, why didn't we go there for dinner tonight?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Come early because they open at 5 and by 5:30 the place was full. People were waiting at the bar and door way when we left.

Great service, amazing food. The Maryland clam chowder was hot with just a little kick to it.
Husband had their prime rib and it was cooked to perfection. It was huge and he couldn't finish it all. I had the Shellfish pan roast: shrimp, scallops, clams, mussels and 1/2 rock lobster in a lemon thyme tomato sauce which was a seafood lovers dream.
We both ordered dessert, but I brought the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake back to the hotel after seeing the size of my husband's bread pudding. The pudding was a large triangular serving on a plate with whip cream and Carmel sauce drizzled all over. It was still warm and just melted in your mouth. We shared the cheesecake the next night and too was decadent.


Next year we plan on eating here every night we are in Dover.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrapbooker8398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selbyville, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent server, forced vegetable choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I and four others in our five person party had a large piece of prime rib (about $30 each). The only vegetable choice was sparsely arranged broccoli on a saucer (it did not look very appealing so I did not touch it) and a potato croquet (a large flat bottomed tater tot) in lieu of mashed potatoes which always compliments this meal much better. The bread was enough but had to be asked for (I like bread or rolls to be available throughout my meal). They brought dessert examples to the table, all looked great and I had the apple crumb pie. Extremely good because I seldom eat dessert anywhere, but when put under your nose, that apparently makes the difference. Overall good food, high prices for the area, but vegetable choices were non existent. If I ever try this place again I'll go for the seafood as I've read that it's very good. My 84 y.o. mother had crab cakes (two small silver dollar sized). She said they tasted good but looked inadequate for the cost. For consistently good and under priced prime rib try Kirby & Holloway Family Restaurant in Dover, excellent experience from beginning to end, all facets of the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our top three favorites in Dover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We love Cool Springs. The food and service are consistently wonderful. The decor is simple and relaxing. There is often a wait on Fridays and Saturdays, but we just go a little later. The specials are delicious. Its a great place for seafood and a glass of wine. If you prefer a mixed drink, the bartenders are generous - nothing weak or watered down. They will even make special requests. The owner's desserts are truly amazing. In the fall, he makes pumpkin cheesecake that is out of this world. Heaven and Hell, a culinary achievement, made with alternating layers of devil's food and angel food cakes, filled with a peanut butter ganache, is the ultimate!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cool Springs Fish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cool Springs Fish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing