We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so-so”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First I will say that although I would not stay here again, the front desk clerk the night we arrived, was very nice and accommodated us by switching us to a better room at no extra charge. Having said that, this place could use some sprucing up. The first room we got smelled really bad; luckily this was not an issue in our upgraded room. They have these weird microwave/refrigerators that are connected at the power source and for some reason tick loudly when using the refigerator?! It was so loud that's what prompted our request for a different room, thinking that the one in our first room was defective. Lo and behold, the second one did the same thing but because it was a larger room, the unit was far enough away from the beds that we didn't really hear it from there. Also there was no overhead lighting (only lamps) in the first floor rooms anyway so the room was really dark. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but it was serviceable. Maybe I wouldn't have been so hard on the place if we hadn't had an exceptional stay in a hotel in Maryland the previous weekend at pretty much the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time with us your experience as well as concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience the smell and noise may have caused. We have addressed both of your concerns and made adjustments to ensure this does not happen in the future. We do provide all of our guest with a free hot breakfast daily which meets the CHOICE Standards. We are, however, glad you were able to enjoy a free upgrade as an apology for your concerns. Again we hope you will allow us to make it up to you in the future if you visit the Dover area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
32
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I came through Dover after a long night of driving. I'm glad I stopped here because not only was the price very reasonable, it was clean and Teresa, at the desk was wonderful. She was so accommodating and let us check in before check in time so we could get some much needed rest. We made it to my sisters safely and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wearytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are pleased to see that our staff was accommodating to you during your stay. We hope to accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This location was a great value! The room was clean and comfortable. The area seemed a little questionable but it was great for a quick over night stay. There is a McDonald's right next door and other restaurants right down the street. The wi-fi worked great and the breakfast was average. Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed a pleasant stay overall. If you are ever in the area in the future, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After the night prior having a bad experience the front desk at this hotel was most helpful. They have a tasty breakfast from waffles to cereal french toast toast bagels etc. they even had eggs n sausage. The room i stayed in was clean modern and it was quiet at night. I would definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for sharing with us about your pleasant stay. We strive for a high level for a high level of hospitality. We look forward to accommodating your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rock hill, sc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here while visiting family in Middletown De. There were a total of 4 rooms booked by my family. Each family experienced different problems with a result of 2 families having to switch rooms. In the end managment did give a discount for 2 of the familes for our 3 night stay. The sleeper sofas in the unit seem to all have stains on the cushion and not sure why the rooms on the 1st floor only have showers. The breakfast was sufficient enough with a variety of choices for you to grab something to eat. Very close to the mall and other attractions. We were about 22 miles from Middletown which was not bad at all.

Room Tip: Check the room before you bring your lugguage in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank white012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your response. We apologize that some of the rooms in your room block needed to be changed, however, we are happy to hear that those adjustments were made with no issue. In regards to the sofa beds, we have taken your concerns and made the necessary adjustments to ensure this will not happen again. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the convenient location as well as the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel was disgusting. The pull out bed had blood and urine stains, food under the mattress, food under the couch, bathroom was nasty. Teresa the manager was great with addressing the issue BUT the excecutive housekeeper was rude and nasty, her solution was to spray and wipe the mattress and then flip it over. WOW REALLY.. I don't except much but I do expect a clean room to lay my head

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboogieny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We have taken this response very seriously and we have made necessary improvements to ensure this will not happen again. We do have a staff dedicated to making sure the hotel rooms is extremely clean and we apologize if this was not the case during your stay. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience it may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The price is the cheapest in the area. I was stopping just for one night during my car trip down to Virginia beach so I did not want to spend too much $. It really is run down with stains everywhere in the room on the carpet and the couch. The lamp shades had cigarette burns in them and where also stained. The beds were not the most comfortable things ever, but it provided a place to sleep.
There was no vending machine that had bottled beverages only snacks, which I thought was weird, unless there was another vending machine on the 2nd floor. Overall, it was a decent stay but I may go to the holiday inn express next time because I just felt like our room was dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia K, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We are terribly sorry about your experience during your stay. We have immediately addressed your concerns. We strive for high level of hotel cleanliness and we will make sure these issues do not happen again. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated and we again apologize for any inconvenience it may caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 1784 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located near several area attractions and local points of interest. This Dover, DE hotel is minutes away from Dover Downs casino and racetrack, Dover International Speedway, Dover Air Force Base, Dover Archaeology Museum and Delaware State University. Guests of this Dover, DE hotel are invited to enjoy amenities like:• Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast• Free wireless high-speed Internet access• Free local calls• Seasonal outdoor pool• Exercise room. All of our guest rooms are beautifully decorated and come equipped with coffee makers and free coffee, spacious work desks, hair dryers, voice mail, safes and cable television. Ask about our rooms that include microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. We are a pet-friendly hotel; additional fees apply. For added convenience, we offer coin-operated laundry facilities. Ample parking is available for cars, trucks and buses.When you are traveling to the Dover area, make the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. Our friendly staff and inviting accommodations await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing