We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Inn Dover

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relax Inn Dover
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Franklin Furnace, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a great little place. It is not a big chain motel, and I wouldn't want it to be! Check in was pleasent and easy. The owner and staff are very friendly. Sure it may show its age here and there, but nothing terrible. Just a little bit of loose wallpaper and things. As said in another review, the outside is nice, with the flowers and parking and all. And the air conditioner almost ran me out of the room! My wife likes it on the cool side when she sleeps, but I about froze! And it was not turned all the way down! I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is one of many second tier motels from the 50's and 60's that have been purchased by Indian immigrants. The model is that the family lives on site and provides decent lodging at a discount price. My experience with such places has been good.

This little motel (at least room 105) was consistent with that experience. The room was clean and they had free Wi-Fi. The transaction at check-in was through a glass partition and the couch had some discoloration but other than that, it was not much less than you would get at a Holiday Inn.

The AC was above average in cooling. It's a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lawnshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This motel is very small, but very nice. The outside facility is perfect; flowers, new paint, and no trash, good parking. The rooms are perfect size, has a couch, table, refrigerator, microwave. The rooms are a bit outdated but everything works; AC gets COLD! Good service, people are nice, family owned.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamemaster10476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I usually stay at name brand hotel/motels, but took a chance at this one for the Labor Day weekend. What a delight to find this small motel (w/only 16 rooms) so clean and spacious. This family run motel is "no frills" just the basics (no coffee maker or continental breakfast) but the beds were comfortable, the room had a nice scent to it and the air/heat was great. Other guess were very friendly and so was the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dmcwcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I visit Delaware a few times a year...and with the economy I needed to look for a nice place to stay that was affordable....So I took a chance (because of good reviews) and boy was I surprised ....The room was roomy, and best of all CLEAN...one of the cleaneat
rooms I 've been in...Fairly new with comfortable beds...The free Wi-fY and friendly service was a plus also...I will be staying here again..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

travelling around, and needed a hotel in Delaware.
I booked the hotel the morning for the evening. When I got there the owner wasnt there but had made sure there was someone who could let me pay and give me the key.

When I got to the room I was pleasantly surprise. It was very clean, the room was big and spacey. Everything worked well including the wifi (which has a code)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Couldn't find any affordable motels along the coast, so I decided to try inland. The Relax Inn was better than I expected: large, updated, clean rooms with sitting area and couch. Everything worked and lots of water pressure. Good wi-fi. My only complaint: no coffee pot in room. A real deal and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Galaxy Inn
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.8 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Dover

Property: Relax Inn Dover
Address: 640 S Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-4518
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Hotel Class:1 star — Relax Inn Dover 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relax Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing