We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent burgers and cupcakes!”
Review of Restaurant 55

Restaurant 55
Ranked #3 of 197 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers and cupcakes!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

If you are a burger lover then Restaurant 55 is the place to go in Dover. You can build your own burger from a long list of toppings or choose one of the specialty burgers. Fries are also good. The place is on the smaller side, so expect to wait on a Fri./Sat. nite. Well worth it though.

Helpful?
Thank Jad1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    92
    37
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The meal I had at Restaurant 55 is one of the best I've ever had. My wife's, on the other hand, was just average, so hence the 4 star rating. I had the stuffed meatloaf. It was stuffed with pepperoni, arugula, and 4 cheeses - amazingly good! My wife had the fried shrimp and she thought the shrimp were good, but that they had too much breading. The beer choices are quite good also. So, if you're looking for good beer AND good food (a combination we've found hard to find), this is the place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia DE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First time visit, excellent food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First time visit for lunch on Saturday, right at opening. Staff was very friendly for just opening up. Place is not very big, but can handle a crowd. Plenty of room between tables, but not booths, which is no big deal. My wife chose the special with was a sausage berger that tasted a lot like those you find in Seaside Heights, NJ. I had the build your own burger and glad I did. Plenty of options, not just burgers and the size of the burgers/rolls are more than fair. Even include a pile of fries and considering the size of the burger, I wasn't able to finish. The fries could have been done a bit more, but the burger was done to perfection and was very juicy. Looking forward to a future visit, maybe for dinner next time. Pricing was very reasonable considering the price. A few buck more than what a burger might cost at other places, but the quality more than made up for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjswx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place has very good food and differnet selcetion specials, it is a little more then an average burger joint but worth the money. Plus they help support local butcher shop and produce stands by buying their stuff there. Good for the community all the way around the way i look at it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent food, sorta expensive”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Our waitress was slow and the food amount to price ratio was less than desirable. The burger and appetizers were good, just expensive for the amount of food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing