We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel stay.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staff courteous and friendly, hotel was clean and orderly. Room had good Internet connection, refrigerator, microwave. Close to all ammenities. Pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The breakfast hostess was pleasant, helpful and friendly. Price was excellent. Will gladly stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
What a great review! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    65
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
48
46
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Only good things to say about this location. My pick hotel when in Dover, DE

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us many times! Our staff has been happy to assist you in having a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed here several times. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and the place is reasonably priced.
My only gripe was that they wouldn't match the internet price which was $9 cheaper. So if your in the lobby but haven't checked in yet, you can save by going on line to make your reservation.
Just a great overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birstall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was pretty standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The room itself was actually very nice - very spacious and a mini fridge. The continental breakfast was average for a continental. My only complaint was that the room wasn't well cleaned - it wasn't filthy or anything, but there were a few random q-tips and paper items spread around the floor that the cleaning staff had obviously missed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather72682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
We want to thank you for your review! Many others have commented on the spacious rooms that we have. We like reviews as this is when we are able to have the feedback to ensure that our guests have the very best stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This 13 year old property has recently been renovated (according to a housekeeping lady). The lobby is "Art Deco," large, and inviting. There is at least one com puter for guests to use in that area, as well as free, easy to use wi-fi in the rooms. Our check-in was quick. The room is really neat; great bed, practical furnishings, all with style. The bed has a reading light attached to the headboard. There are plenty of outlets for our plethora of gadgets. A great HD TV caps off the delightful room... Free breakfast will be served in the AM. In the meantime, coffee or tea can be enjoyed in our out of your room. Our room also has a fridge and microwav oven. The bathroom is typical for this pricepoint hotel. The only downside...no functioning pool. It's outdoors, and has been put to bed for the season. Great place; especially for business, or adults who don't need a pool for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front; there is a fireman's party going on outside on the back patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilphap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for your great review! Yes, our pool closes the day after Labor Day and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We do hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Irene sent us packing from Rehoboth Beach to Dover (which incidentally received twice the rain that Rehoboth Beach did but that's another story..). Anyway, we had a very comfortable stay at the HI Express, the room was clean and the staff were very accommodating. And when I somehow misplaced our dog's leash, Joyce at the front desk quickly came to my rescue with one of hers. Would highly recommend the place for hurricane cover or just a pleasant stay in Dover. BTW -- had good sushi at Rice about 10 minutes away from there.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review and we are happy to keep you safe! Hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had to travel away from our home in Ocean City, MD to avoid Hurricane Irene. We always pick Holiday Express because they take pets. We've never had an issue but this one was very well managed. The breakfast was excellent and it was more than a continental.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you felt safe during the recent hurricane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Address: 1780 North Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Dover rests just inside the first state's capital, minutes from downtown and Delaware Bay. While there is plenty do in town, we're also less than an hour from popular Rehoboth Beach outlets and gorgeous beaches along the Atlantic seaboard. Discover the Mid-Atlantic area and Dover as our hotel's guests. This hotel in Dover, Delaware is conveniently located off Route 1 and close to P&G, Kraft Foods, ILC and other major corporations. Delaware State University, Dover Air Force Base and state government offices are also nearby. Patrons staying with us can use free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center to stay connected. Spend a day in old downtown, lounging on Dover Green and shopping tax-free at local boutiques. At night, head over to Dover Downs Casino for exciting table games, slots and racing. For outdoor recreation, you can hike or bike through Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge and visit Killen Pond State Park to boat and swim. Both are less than 15 minutes from our hotel's location. After sightseeing in Dover, Delaware, unwind in our hotel's pool. The 24-hour Fitness Center is perfect for keeping up with your workouts. The breakfast room has a large flat panel TV, so you can catch the morning news as you savor a free, hot meal. Book your room today for our consistently excellent customer service and quality amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing