We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Normally stay at another property in Dover, DE but decided to stay at this property after reading reviews. Was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean and staff was courteous and friendly. Stayed in a king suite, which was great. Liked the layout of the room in that it was a "true suite" with a separate bedroom that you can close off from the other area. Bathroom was clean and the beds comfortabled. This hotel is now on my repeat list for Dover and will be staying here again in the near future. Would recommend this property with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC-DIVA1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

We can not thank you enough for your excellent rating of the Holiday Inn Express! Our staff takes great pride in knowing you enjoyed your stay in such a positive way. We appreciate your recomendations to others to stay with us while visiting the Dover area. Again, Much appreciation for your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We ran away from the kids for a long overdue re-connection date. Although we didn't run far, we were both pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The first thing I noticed upon arrival was how wonderful the place smelled. [Us women have a keener sense of smell than you men, so the girls will appreciate this.] It was nicely decorated with an upscale feel to it. The colors were nice and welcoming. The sitting room is nice and there is a fire place.

The room itself was really nice. It was clean and all the furniture and fixtures appeared to be fairly new. Personally I loved the artwork (which is usually cruddy in hotels across the board). I just adored the photos. It gave the place good energy.

The bathroom was really nice and clean. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. The entire place was just warm and welcoming.

The breakfast was WAY better than most standard hotel breakfasts. They had eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, cinnamon rolls, fruit, cereal, toast, bagles and muffins. There was also a pancake station. They also had lemonade, apple & orange juice, hot tea and coffee. The breakfast hostess was nice. I just wish rude people would not yap on their cell phones at the table.

All in all...this was a wonderful date and hubby picked a nice place all by himself. ;-)

Room Tip: Convenient, right off Route 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pip1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for your excellent rating on the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We strive to provide a clean hotels with freindly service to all of our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the free deluxe hot breakfast as well. Getting away is important as well as exciting and we are happy to hear that helped make your getaway a pleasant one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staff courteous and friendly, hotel was clean and orderly. Room had good Internet connection, refrigerator, microwave. Close to all ammenities. Pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The breakfast hostess was pleasant, helpful and friendly. Price was excellent. Will gladly stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

What a great review! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Only good things to say about this location. My pick hotel when in Dover, DE

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us many times! Our staff has been happy to assist you in having a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed here several times. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and the place is reasonably priced.
My only gripe was that they wouldn't match the internet price which was $9 cheaper. So if your in the lobby but haven't checked in yet, you can save by going on line to make your reservation.
Just a great overnight stop.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birstall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was pretty standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The room itself was actually very nice - very spacious and a mini fridge. The continental breakfast was average for a continental. My only complaint was that the room wasn't well cleaned - it wasn't filthy or anything, but there were a few random q-tips and paper items spread around the floor that the cleaning staff had obviously missed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather72682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

We want to thank you for your review! Many others have commented on the spacious rooms that we have. We like reviews as this is when we are able to have the feedback to ensure that our guests have the very best stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This 13 year old property has recently been renovated (according to a housekeeping lady). The lobby is "Art Deco," large, and inviting. There is at least one com puter for guests to use in that area, as well as free, easy to use wi-fi in the rooms. Our check-in was quick. The room is really neat; great bed, practical furnishings, all with style. The bed has a reading light attached to the headboard. There are plenty of outlets for our plethora of gadgets. A great HD TV caps off the delightful room... Free breakfast will be served in the AM. In the meantime, coffee or tea can be enjoyed in our out of your room. Our room also has a fridge and microwav oven. The bathroom is typical for this pricepoint hotel. The only downside...no functioning pool. It's outdoors, and has been put to bed for the season. Great place; especially for business, or adults who don't need a pool for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front; there is a fireman's party going on outside on the back patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zilphap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Thank you for your great review! Yes, our pool closes the day after Labor Day and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We do hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.4 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover

Address: 1780 North Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £70 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Dover rests just inside the first state's capital, minutes from downtown and Delaware Bay. While there is plenty do in town, we're also less than an hour from popular Rehoboth Beach outlets and gorgeous beaches along the Atlantic seaboard. Discover the Mid-Atlantic area and Dover as our hotel's guests. This hotel in Dover, Delaware is conveniently located off Route 1 and close to P&G, Kraft Foods, ILC and other major corporations. Delaware State University, Dover Air Force Base and state government offices are also nearby. Patrons staying with us can use free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center to stay connected. Spend a day in old downtown, lounging on Dover Green and shopping tax-free at local boutiques. At night, head over to Dover Downs Casino for exciting table games, slots and racing. For outdoor recreation, you can hike or bike through Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge and visit Killen Pond State Park to boat and swim. Both are less than 15 minutes from our hotel's location. After sightseeing in Dover, Delaware, unwind in our hotel's pool. The 24-hour Fitness Center is perfect for keeping up with your workouts. The breakfast room has a large flat panel TV, so you can catch the morning news as you savor a free, hot meal. Book your room today for our consistently excellent customer service and quality amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing