We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast=awesome.”
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dover
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Room was very nice and clean. Location is a little sketchy just because it's obscured by several buildings in front of it. They have complimentary breakfast which is a plus, nothing to fancy, enough to get you through the day. All in all a excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F16wpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We look forward to seeing you again.
Again thank you.
Cindy Price-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff was very helpful and the breakfast selections were much better than I expected...The room was very clean and I would recommend this hotel to all family members and friends...this site is easily accessible to routes 1 and routes 13

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel.
We always appreciate feedback from our valued guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything that we may do to make your next stay even a better one. We appreciate any recommendations that you may give.
Again thank you.
Cindy Price-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

For the same amount of money you can stay next door at the Hampton Inn's cleaner sister but you do get a free breakfast at the Hampton Inn and the Hilton will cost you 10$. If I had know that the Hampton was going to be dirty and smelly then I would of paid for my breakfast. I was checked in my Becca who was pleasant but didn't really seem to be too shocked when I complained about both my rooms. I was put in room 110 first which was a great location and seemed quit from the street. But to my alarm when I pulled back the bedspread the sheets where just pulled up straight and the fitted sheet was not tucked in. The sheets were so wrinkled and unkempt plus the flat sheet was not folded back and tucked in like a freshly made bed would be in EVERY hotel I have ever stayed in cause alarm. I was afraid that this bed was slept in. Now it could be that housekeeping just doesn't know how to make and bed but I was not chancing it. So I asked for another room and to make sure it was far away from smoking. She gave me 319. First impression was why does my bed spread look like I just landed on the moon? All these bulked up balls. You could not lay on the bed without knobs in your back. I rolled back the spread and low and behold the fitted sheet was folded back and tucked in even though the sheets were still wrinkled. I called down and said what is wrong with this bedspread? She matter of fact said we try to not let the baffles in the puff ball up like that but we are having trouble with it happening. Thats it! I didn't say but was thinking...I just paid 100$ so put on a frikin new one already! I slept ok except for the barking dog in the front courtyard at 6am and the loud truck noise from the highway. Oh, and I had to shut off the fridge in the room because it was LOUD and ran quite a bit. I will say that even though I did not smell smoke in my room, the air was stuffy and the sheets smelled of a faint smell of smoke. I am sure they wash the smoking room laundry with the non so it just didn't have a clean smell. Or maybe housekeeping didn't add any dryer sheets? With the dog waking me up barking for 5 minutes I decided to shower, get breakfast and hit the road early. I had not spent much time in the bathroom upon my arrival because it was later and only just brushed my teeth before bed. So now I am looking at the floor. Human hair everywhere in plain sight! No way was that floor vacuumed. Thank god I had slippers on. I was so grossed out, I bagged the shower and just packed. I can not prove this but when I got home the next day I had to put calamine lotion on four bites I had on my stomach, like a bug had bit me and it itched. They were fresh bites. I can not say that it was from this hotel because I DID NOT see any bugs but I was not really looking for them either. But it was in the back of my mind that it may have been from the room. It is a first for me to have a few bug bites on my belly so this was weird. Breakfast was good. Lots of healthy and not so healthy options but good offering in a pleasant eating environment. Next time I will stay at the Hilton...which was clean and I should have just stayed there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiwindjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for submitting your experience. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay. We strive to provide the quality experience you expect from our brand and regret this was not your experience. We will keep your concerns in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' needs and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Cindy Price-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was very happy with the service from the first voice saying welcome to the Hampton Inn, And I was greeted and given a warm cookie, to the last voice at checkout from the front desk attendant saying "Thank You for staying and come again as I left.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We look forward to seeing you again.
Again thank you.

Cindy Price-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent two nights here in April. Excellent stay - room was clean and comfortable, the cookies in the lobby in the afternoon were great and everyone was very nice and extremely helpful. Good location on Route 13 but far enough back from the main road to be very quiet. I plan to stay again the next time I'm in Dover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klmeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We look forward to seeing you again.
Again thank you.
Cindy Price-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel recently had a major face lift. It looks better - especially in the Lobby, and the Staff are always great. The breakfast is much improved and there is usually coffee and cookies available at the front desk. By far our favorite hotel stay in Dover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 149wesleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel and traveled the following morning to Six Flags in NJ. (about 2 hours away.)
Good things to say: Hotel was clean; staff was courteous; note on headboard stating duvet covers and sheets were cleaned for arrival which is reassuring (I always wonder if the hotel I'm staying at cleans the blankets/bedspread.) Good food for breakfast (had the waffles, potatoes, and cereal during stay.) @ 2 blocks from Dover Downs (if that's your thing. It wasn't applicable to us but I thought that might help someone.
Other comments to consider: Exterior road sign not lit. If arriving at night, it would be hard to see because it sets back in the parking lot. A tip would be that it is in the "Sams Club" complex. In fact, that was our view from the room. Another note is that the hallways were always warm and stuffy. In fact, the room was when we first arrived, but the AC fixed that problem just fine. There could be some attention to detail to our room. The pictures will show some defects in the bathroom mirrors. Minor cosmetic flaw, but its that attention to detail that makes you feel confident that everything is maintained well. Look at tips for room choice, also.

Room Tip: Choose a room number ending in 16 or higher. Rooms ending in 11-15 are near elevators; and lower nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Work2Play_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest.
You can be assured that we will follow up on any issues. Please be advised that we will be doing some major improvements in the near future. We do hope that you will visit with us again in the future.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover, DE
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
1 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Dover
Residence Inn Dover
#7 of 20 in Dover
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Address: 1568 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range: £71 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn Dover hotel to enjoy museums, shopping and neighboring universities and colleges. Our Hampton Inn hotel is located only minutes away from the state capitol and historic downtown Dover. Try your luck at Dover Downs Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing