We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Not Quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Cheltenham, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice But Not Quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

From the beginning, upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk staff and she was very nice and pleasant. We had a mix up with our room, which was my fault, and the staff was very accommodating. Once we entered the room it had a refreshing odor and was clean. The problem we had was the bed. The beds were entirely too soft and the pillows as well. The beds were so soft my wife and I literally sank in the bed to the point of not being able to see our extremities. We felt like we were sinking to the bottom of the ocean. BACK BREAKER. My wife and I got no sleep. Besides this set back the hotel is descent for a nights stay but don't push it beyond that!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bussaknowsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie W, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Some of our guests say the beds are soft and very comfortable. They had the best nights rest and inquiry where they may purchase the mattresses. Then, we also have guests that say the beds should be firmer and they didn't have a good night rest. We value our guests satisfaction. We will do our best to see what alternatives we may have to make every guests stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    45
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
38
45
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip. I had a corner room on the second floor. My experience had more negatives than positives. The lists:

Negatives:
1. No tissues in my room
2. No conditioner (only shampoo)
3. Hand prints all over the tv screen
4. Loud air conditioner (it rattled so bad it woke me from a dead sleep)
5. Can hear everything outside
6. Can hear the guy exercising in his room above me
7. Room somewhat beat up (e.g., marks on the walls)
8. Air conditioner vent caked with dust

Positives:
1. A decent free breakfast
2. Breakfast lady is very nice (but very talkative)
3. Good location basically right next to Dover Downs
4. The front desk clerk asked how my stay was and I told her ok. She asked why ok and I told her most of the things above. She said she would address those issues and award me extra points on my rewards account.

Good people, not a good hotel. I would try to stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kandkwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent stop on a road trip heading south to the Outer Banks. We were upgraded on our room because the cot we requested on-line does not exist at this Marriott. The lady taking care of the breakfast area was very helpful and kind. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
393 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Have stayed here times before. Always clean, well apponted, and reasonably priced. However, I have a thing about noise at night. We bring a noise machine in case of thin walls or noisy neighbors. This time, we stayed on the third floor in an upgraded suite. Very nice and generous of the management. However, we had a "pacer" in the room above us. Back and forth, back and forth. As this hotel is made of wood, it was more than noticeable. It takes away from the otherwise wonderful experience. As breakfast is better than most, I would rate this hotel as a "5." However, the construction of this building makes it difficult for staff to make this perfect. So, I rate it as a "4." Next time, I will request a 4th floor room, and I am sure it will be a "5."

Room Tip: Stay on the fourth floor......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Clean and every hotel staffer was friendly and greeted us. Room was comfortable and quiet. Beautifully decorated in greens and blues. Free wi-fi and computer areas in lobby. Full hot breakfast that included many choices and was delicious. Indoor pool and workout room w hand weights. We will return to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamoras,pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel was clean. There was pumpkin cheesecake at the front desk when you checked in. At night they had lemonade and cookies. The employees were super nice. The free breakfast was great Waffles, Scrambled eggs, muffins bagels juice milk coffee cereals

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Modern, clean friendly staff. Pleasantly surprised upon check in I was greeted with pumpkin cheesecake....Check in was quick, front desk, courteous.oh did I mention home made chocolate chip cookies. ....Rooms are clean, beds very comfy. I even used the fitness room, basic treadmills and elipetical. Location great, close to all.
Breakfast in the am. Once again, pleased to see fruit offered instead of a bunch of carbs. I will definitely return when in Dover.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel4reel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Dover
Residence Inn Dover
#6 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover
Address: 655 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3936
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dover Hotel Dover
Fairfield Inn And Suites Dover
Fairfield Inn Dover
Fairfield Dover
Dover Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing