We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusual stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrived at the Red Roof in Dover on April 15, 2014. As usual requested a room on the second floor. We experienced noise, noise, noise! The individual(s) above our room walked, and walked, and walked "all night" disturbing my wife and myself! We thought as the night progressed they would go to bed and discontinue walking and dropping objects! We were wrong! The night became early, early, morning; and still the walking dropping continued! Reported the disturbance to the manager approximately 7:00a.m. and requested a room on the first floor. Experienced no noise until approximately 10:00p.m. There was a family with a 2 year old child given a room above us whose child ran across the floor for 45 minutes! I notified the manager on duty about the problem! He seemed very, very, concerned and immediately had the noise stopped! In all our times staying at the Dover's Red Roof we had never experience a noise problem!! We are very thankful for staff that are completely committed to making our stay a "satisfied stay!"

Room Tip: I always suggest that you choose a room away from the traffic noise if located on, beside, a main hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HENRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Henry,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and subsequent wonderful praise. Feedback, especially from such well-spoken customers like you, is not only invaluable to those researching businesses like ours, but is also important to us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Vinay

GM
Red Roof Inn,Dover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The floors were wood laminate, no icky carpet:) Staff were super friendly and nice. Most importantly, they had soft and CLEAN beds. The bathroom was so clean it sparkled; and it was spacious. The television was good size with plenty of channels. The lobby was also clean and eye pleasing. Neat freak approved;)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tienslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.



VINAY PATEL

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I frequently stay in Red Roof Inns on our vacation travels and this recently opened one in Dover, DE is one of the best we have experienced. The staff is friendly and efficient, the free breakfast included an especially delicious waffle, wifi is available in the rooms, and the flat screen TV was excellent with a satisfying variety of channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are in all rooms and breakfast is served until 10:00 a.m. with coffee available even later. We enjoyed a spacious room with two good-sized double beds, nice drawer and closet space and bathroom. We have stayed here several times and plan to return. It is not a luxury hotel but reasonably priced, especially with AARP or AAA discounts, and super comfortable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great. Elevator and carts available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank virginia041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi virginia041,

Thank you for such a great rating! Your feedback means so much and we especially appreciate that you feel that you are treated respectfully. What a nice compliment! The staff here is definitely respectful and friendly and we understand that you have several hotel choices and we appreciate that you continue to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Vinay Patel

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Proprietor allowed us to stay with our two large, calm dogs for no extra charge--nearby hotels charged $20 per pet extra, making them unaffordable to us. Room was very comfortable, with a nice flat screen TV and a high-quality, firm mattress. Breakfast left something to be desired but overall, it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your positive experience during your stay at Red Roof Inns Dover,De. We will be sure to forward your comment to our staff members. Stop by to see us again soon. We will be sure to keep up the good work.


Thanks

Vinay Patel

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was in Dover for a tradeshow at the Dover Downs. I had originally booked a room there at a "discount rate" of $120 (approx.) but when I went to the front desk, they said my reservation had been "cancelled" without my knowledge. I decided to drive to the next hotel I saw, which was this red roof inn. I got a king size room for $69 (suck it Dover Downs) and it was very nice. Considering it was a smoking room it was very clean and didn't smell bad at all, there was a very spacious desk, a large TV, and one of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen at a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Dover Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Vinay Patel

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Dover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Don't go to this hotel expecting 5 star Waldorf-Astoria experience. Expect a clean, comfortable room with a refrigerator and microwave, flat screen TV and friendly front desk staff at a very reasonable price. Our only complaint would be that the Wi-Fi did not work after the first night of our 4 night stay, but shame on us for not bringing it to the attention of the front desk (we used our son's Wi-Fi at his house during the day). Housekeeping cleaned the room to our satisfaction and the beds were comfortable. Conveniently located to Dover Downs, Monster Mile, Dover AFB and the downtown area. We have no reason whatsoever to stay anywhere else in Dover at the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Dover Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thanks

Vinay Patel

GM

RED ROOF INN,DOVER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Heading to Delaware to visit with family is always a treat. But finding an affordable hotel in the Dover-Milford-Harrington area was less than fun. After looking at several hotels in the area, we discovered this Red Roof Inn. Initially we were put off by the negative reviews. However, it appeared that the reviews over the past few months, since a remodel began, were excellent so we decided to give it a try. The room was very clean with a new flat screen tv, remodeled bathroom vanity, and a new bed which was one of the best I've slept on in any hotel (including higher priced Hampton and Marriott hoteliers). Portions of the room showed considerable wear and tear, such as the desk and nightstands. The staff were helpful and very appreciative of the business. I would definitely stay here again. Its not as nice as the higher priced hotels in the area, but is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbpandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and will pass this along to our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve and will absolutely take your comments into consideration. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 20 in Dover
95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
2.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Mainstay Suites Dover
#12 of 20 in Dover
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown

Address: 652 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3937 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover)
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £48 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing