We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Dover Downs Hotel and Casino is a great place to visit. Stayed in a jacuzzi king suite overlookiing the front entrance on the 10th floor. The room was simply amazing. Off the bedroom is a very large master bath, with jacuzzi and shower, and double vanity. The room also has a separate 1/2 bathroom to use near the room entrance. 2 large closets and lots of storage. The room had well stocked minibar fridge and another mini fridge to put your own items in. That's right --2 fridges. There is a wet bar and sink in the living room area as well. Large flat screen TV with lots of channels. Room was very clean and they leave numerous bottled waters in the room to enjoy. The have a huge supply of soap, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, shaving kit, dental kit, etc in the master bath.

All the hotel, restaurant, and casino staff were very friendly. Ate at Michelle's for 3 nights straight at dinner and the food and service was outstanding. Ate at Doc's one day for lunch which was also good. Wanted to try Frankie's but never got around to it. We did try the buffet for breakfast one day (on comp) and the food was just kinda ok. Nothing to rave about, but the staff and service were fine. Used the little coffee stand "Too sweets" several times and was pleased with the selections and service.

Used the spa one afternoon and that was a good experience, the spa is very nice and reasonably priced.

The dealers and fellow patrons at the tables were nice and fun to be with. The alcohol drinks are not free in the casino but are very reasonably priced. Nice Sports book but they only do football parlays. Did not get a chance to go to the poker room on the 3rd floor on this trip, but will next visit.

I usually go to Atlantic City 4 times a year, but now that DE has table games and Dover Downs is so great, I don't think I will be going to AC anytime soon. I will be returning to DD next week to stay again.

Book it now, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWDavisJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have been regulars at most of the larger hotels in Atlantic City. This Dover Downs Hotel & Casino beats them all....hands down. Its CLEAN and nice. The room we stayed in was large, and had the racetrack view...which I found interesting & different. It had a fridge, coffee maker, free internet (plug in), flat screen TV, and a very nice bathroom with good water pressure, a magnifing mirror, and blow dryer. We got a brochure at a rest stop in Delaware off Rt 1 for Dover Downs. The offer was $79/night up to three nights, $25 free slot play, 2 free breakfast buffets per day, 25% off spa services (which I did not use, so cannot comment on) and free valet service. They also have self park for free. It was the stay & play discover pkg. Well worth the money.
The breakfast buffet was amazing. If you can think of it, they had it...and then some! I will definatly go out of my way if necessary to come back to Dover Downs. Even the casino was 'easy' on me!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bleweyz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We traveled to Delaware last week because we had never visited that state. We are from upstate NY and thought how ridiculously close we are and had never been there. Normally we visit Atlantic City at least 5 times a year. The drive down was great. Fast going, no traffic or problems. When we got to Dover Downs in 4 and half hours, we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived at 11:50AM to the check in desk. I never thought our room would be ready, but it was. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. When we got to our room, I was happy with how spacious and clean it was. We loved the restaurants. We ate at Frankie's 3 out of 4 nights. The food was excellent and the prices were very affordable. We ate at Doc McGrogran's one nite too. That was also very good. We had breakfast at the buffet, it was very good and they gave you $2.00 off the price if you had a player's card. We toured the Nascar track with George Kellar and it was awesome. The gambling was good. I won on the slots on the fourth floor but I was disappointed with the video poker. Not any good games. My husband played poker in the poker room and he said it was pretty good. All in all it was a great trip and I would go there again in a heartbeat. Also visited Delaware Park and Harrington Casino. Loved them both. Especially Murphy's Race and Sports Book at Harrington.
We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommaBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Dover Downs Hotel was so nice and clean. Checkin/checkout was so easy. This hotel is worth a visit..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa7048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I was searching the internet for someplace within driving distance for a weekend getaway for me to treat my mother to. Dover was offering a Hot Deals...Delaware Getaway Package which sold us immediately. The package is a summer promotion and, I guess management had not completely instructed their staff about the special so there was confusion everywhere we presented the certificates that were issued at the front desk. My recommendation to management is that they give adequate information to staff because it was annoying to stand around and wait for staff to call the front desk for verification of discounts and package details. After much discussion and calls by the manager to the front desk, our restaurant bill at Micheles ended up being calculated incorrectly (not to mention the service there was slow)

Other than that, our stay was great. The rooms are spacious, and the entire hotel, inside and out is spotless and tastefully decorated. The best part of our experience however was the Toppers Spa. We received therapeutic massages and the staff there is super-accomodating, professional and friendly. They really bent over backwards to make sure we had a great experience. And, if you are scheduling a massage, Dorian and Brandy are absolutely FANTASTIC!

The casino has been updated to include table games and what an improvement! And, if you are going to the casino, Sonia at the Capital Card Courtesy Desk in the casino is very helpful, patient and kind.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LPWNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Had not been to dover downs in 5 or more years, was very surprise at the new additions, new resturants , and bars, that were good. Frankies italian resturant was good and very afforable. The oyster house was just average but did have some good happy hours. The casino lounge even had live entertainment on week nights.The casino has added tables that were nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We have been coming here since the hotel opened. Usually its a comp, but we have paid over one or two holidays. Don't come Jan-Apr. but May through December. It is a marvelous hotel. Hard to imagine anyone giving it a bad review. They bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant. You feel welcome. The rooms are spacious and white glove clean. We also enjoy evverything about the casino except losing. We just wanna have fun and genuinely enjoy our stays here. You can keep Atlantic City except for the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheeksannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover, DE
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Dover
Residence Inn Dover
#7 of 20 in Dover
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range: £117 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all! We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing