We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dover Downs Casino

Dover Downs Casino
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A huge entertainment venue that features horse racing, a hotel and restaurant, plus 2,000 slot machines ranging from a nickel to $50 per play.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
861 reviews
577 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Casino has everything that you would be interested in, video table games, slots, restaurant. Good time for everyone. Unforunately NO table games!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    211
    97
    36
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our first time playing the slots as a group with Wizard of Oz! We had a super time. Went with friends--locals-- and did NOT have time to try the restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyOakdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
334 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“fun place if you HAVE to be in Dover!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Dover would not be my first choice to have a good time, but if it was my only choice, i would spend time at Dover Downs. The table games were what you would expect from a casino, and the races were fun to watch during the all you can eat buffet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GDGandTBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Reasonable Games, Sports Gamblings, But Be Careful at Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

It had been awhile since my wife and I had been to Dover. In recent years, Dover Casino opened live tables and became only 1 of 2 places in the country (Las Vegas being the other) to have a "Sports Book". All exciting and turned out to be reasonable. Most tables had minimums of $5/hand. Having just come from Atlantic City, that was very refreshing. The dealers were all very friendly and the pit staff was very welcoming.

Dover Casino had 2 great restaurant choices, Frankies and Mac McGrogans (read my review), but the cafe is a bit of a truck stop and the food is good, but overpriced and poorly serviced by staff. The cafe staff is also not very knowledgeable, “What kind of wine do you have?” I asked, the waitress said, “Uh, we have red ……and, uh, we have white”. This kind of response does not instill confidence in the café or its staff.

Finally, and this is my biggest gripe about Dover Casino. I didn’t get the sense that it was very safe place to be at night. I personally saw an altercation at the door near the sports book and this event took place in front of a “security guard”. I walked into the sports book and I turned around and one of the “thugs” involved in the altercation was allowed in. I was shocked and did not instill confidence in me of the judgment of the security at Dover.
So I recommend the casino, but only during the day, otherwise the freaks come out at night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a great time. We even won a few hundred dollars. A great way to spend of few hours gambling. The shops were very nice and lots of great places to grab a meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dover Downs Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing