We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Must See”

Air Mobility Command Museum
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Dover Air Force Base, this museum showcases the history of military aviation through exhibits and a sizeable collection of planes that have been used throughout history.
Bear, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Free Must See”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Outstanding museum devoted to military air transport. Great rain or shine. Indoor museum features a B-17, C-47, and Waco Glider, among others. Outdoor aircraft include many "one of a kind" and "last remaining" examples. Very easy to get to, but located on an active AFB, so you'll often see HUGE transport planes taking off and landing (we saw Air Force One practicing touch-and-go's one day!). Great for kids and the volunteers that work there are super friendly and always ready to give guided tours and copious info on any aircraft on display.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    90
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went there on recommendation from someone we were talking with. We went not expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted at the door by a volunteer, Charlie, who offered to show us around. It was great! He brought us into many places marked not to enter without a guide. We went to the control tower, into one of the many planes outside. He filled us with tons of information. You can walk around the place yourself. They have everything marked and movies playing explaining things but if you can get a hold of one of the volunteers DO IT. The museum is free but they have donation boxes around. The one at the entrance is a bomb. Classic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cdmarcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good part of history to go see”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was stationed there for several years before retiring, I even had my retirement ceremony there. A great place to visit, well kept up history information.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Museum on May 23, 2014. It was pretty quiet so we spent quite a bit of time talking to one of the docents, a former USAF pararescueman. (I think his name was Dan.) He new a lot of the history behind many of the displays and was eager to answer questions and show us around. The museum has a good collection of mobility aircraft, including a C-47 that is a D-Day and Market-Garden vet. In addition there are several non-mobility aircraft on display that have ties to Dover AFB. Despite the fact that most of the aircraft are housed outside, due to their size, it appears that the staff keeps the collection in pretty good condition. I would definitely recommend this museum to any aviation enthusiast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jebigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great piece of Days Gone by”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Air Mobility Command Museum is a great place to spend a couple of hours if you are in the Dover Delaware area. Located off Route 9 in the rear portion of the Air Base.
And Admission is Free. They do however accept donations. Recently added a C-5 A Transport Plane which you may board as well as an exhibit of the Flying Fortress B-!7 and several other Vintage aircraft as well as a flight simulator you can try in the Museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultra06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Mobility Command Museum also viewed

 

Been to Air Mobility Command Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing