We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the kids”

Delaware Agricultural Museum and Village
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibit buildings with over 12,000 artifacts including a 1700's log cabin, mock milkable cow, 1930's kitchen, a 1941 Steerman Airplane Crop Sprayer, soil exhibit plus three galleries with changing exhibits. Step into the past by touring Loockerman Landing, a re-created 19th century village with a farmstead, schoolhouse, church, grist mill, train station, general store, barber shop, blacksmith and more behind the main building on Silver Lake. 866 N. DuPont Highway- Dover, DE. Open Tuesday - Saturday from10 a.m. to 3 p.m., $6 for adults, $4 seniors 65+, $3 youth 4-17, free to children 3 and under and members are free. The DAMV is a private not for profit Museum and not run by the State.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent for the kids”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The outdoor exhibits (church, schoolhouse, farmhouse, etc) are a nice mix of older buildings that have been moved onto the site. The indoor exhibits have a lot of old tractors and other displays of farm life. It's a decent place for kids when visiting the Dover area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank quickbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Geese poop galore!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The historic value of this museum and village is amazing, but there is a flock of geese that has taken over the entire outdoor area and poop is everywhere. I am surprised the Delaware State Health Department has not closed them down. We were visiting right when a school group of 3rd to 5th graders was touring, and I shudder to think how many children tracked poop onto their bus and back home. I am not exaggerating when I say that I had to watch every single step I took outside. The schoolhouse, church, mill and farmhouse are all delightful, but until the geese are gone, I would not recommend this attraction to anyone with kids or anyone with an aversion to stepping in poop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wowgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Not very big by museum standards but if you want to kill an hour and learn a bit it's not a bad place to visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryG668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to take the Kids”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I went there on field trips as a kid, so a little nostalgic for me. Now that I am a mom, I think it is pretty neat to take my kids there to learn about our local history.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheLehaneTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting and loaded with historical Dover pieces”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It was just a really unique place to experience. Many exhibits brought back memories of when were younger.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorece D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delaware Agricultural Museum and Village also viewed

 

Been to Delaware Agricultural Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing