We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great campground!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killens Pond Campground
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great campground!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family stayed at a cabin for a weekend. Love this place. Park was very clean and quiet. Price is reasonable compare to private campground. If you want to visit duing hot summer days, there is a waterpark in Killens pond state park. I guss you have to $4 pp.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peter y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is our fifth time camping in the cabins at Killen's Pond; we always go over Spring Break when you can pay by the night and we stay for 2 nights, 3 days. Unfortunately because of the season, boating and the water park are not an option but we pass the time hiking, geocacheing, taking advantage of the open fields by having a catch or kicking a ball, exploring the exhibits in the nature center, fishing. Back at the cabin we play board games, do puzzles, cook by the campfire. It's a great, inexpensive vacation. The grounds are so peaceful and the hinking trails are great. There are water views from all around, as it is a big pond. The cabins themselves are in great condition. When we first went around 5 years ago, they were only 5 years old then, but from the looks of things this year, the kitchen cabinets were already replaced, with new lighing fixtures and ceiling fans. It has all the amenities-heat, a stovetop, a fridge and a full bathroom. It's a great alternative to tent camping, and much less than a hotel, and a perfect escape in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our family camps A LOT. We go camping as a family and with scouts and other organizations. We decided to have an autumn campout for my daughters birthday (her request). They put us in Loop G, where there was no electricity and water was a little hike away. (which was fine with us) We enjoyed the quietness of having no other campers in our area. The kids could run around more and enjoy some freedom. That was nice. What wasn't nice happened on our second night there. A woman screemed NNNOOOO!!! HHHHEEEELLLLPPPP!!!!!! This was pretty scary to hear. The kids were all asleep, Thank God! A few minutes after we heard the scream we could hear someone hitting trees with a stick. They slowly got closer until they were in OUR campsite. They were hitting the trees around the tent and they were banging on the picnic table. We were able to text someone to come and get us. When they arrived they yelled from the parking lot and the person in the campsite finally ran away. We notified the camp host about the situation. At this point it was 11 p.m. She didn't even call the ranger. She didn't mention anything about the police. So we left. In the morning when we went back to get our stuff we were asked to make a statement. The Ranger has yet to contact us. We were ignored as just some scared family alone in the woods with their kids. As many times as I have camped I have never had this happen to me. I didn't appreciate the scary night and I certainly did NOT appreciate the lack of respect I was given for what had happened.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We enjoyed out time at Killens Pond Campground. It was somewhat tricky to get into some sites but the one we had was manageable. The camp host was very polite and informative about the area. We definitely would use this campground again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosiemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The G loop is not as primitive as you might want. It's really car camping.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My family stayed in a cabin at Killens Pond for a week in August. In the midst of a very hot summer, I could not see us in a tent for that long. The cabin was just what we needed. It was clean, had modern amenities like AC and comfortable beds, and was nestled on a trail in the woods. I would describe it as a rustic hotel suite with no maid service.

We were a short walk (3 minutes, maybe) from a dock on the water in one direction and a giant playground in the other direction. The neighboring cabins were close enough for friendly greetings, but far enough away that it felt very private. Even though all the cabins were occupied, it did not seem at all crowded.

There are lots of programs to enjoy, both at the campground and at the park. We took a hands-on class, a hayride, and a night hike. Plus, we spent lots of time at the waterpark.

I am already planning our next stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MacyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We brought a pop-up camper here in June 2011. The site was pretty large and clean. The water and electric was easy to hook up. We stayed in the C loop, so the bathhouse was right there. The bathrooms were kept clean and the showers were free with warm water. (I wish there was a hook right outside the shower stall to put your towel on though. The hooks are across from the shower in the public area.) The fishing dock was right behind C loop, so again, it was very convenient. They say you need to have a fishing license, but no one ever checked. There is a playground area and boat rentals, but we didn't get a chance to check those out.
Campers were friendly and no issue with quiet hours or trash.
Wood and ice is available as the front entrance.
The water park is a short ride away, but you can also use the walking trail. Parking is free if you are staying at the campground, but you still have to pay an entrance fee. It was cheap: $3 or $4.
If you forget any supplies, stores are close by.
We enjoyed our stay here and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank talaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felton
10.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#1 of 3 in Milford
391 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milford
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Harrington
331 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killens Pond Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killens Pond Campground

Property: Killens Pond Campground
Address: 5025 Killens Pond Rd, Felton, DE 19943-1916
Region: United States > Delaware > Felton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Felton
Number of rooms: 86

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing