We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brick Hotel On The Circle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We took a long weekend to enjoy the beach and the Brick was the perfect place for us to stay away from the crowds but enjoy the area. the Town of Lewes is super close – we enjoyed lunch at Taste of Italy twice (Amazing!) We enjoyed our stay at the Brick! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are so glad you found us and are hoping our paths will cross again sometime in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    60
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
239
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I had not had a vacation in a very long time and my sister gave us a stay at The Brick Hotel as a Christmas present. From the person that I spoke on the phone with to schedule our stay, to the gentleman who checked us in, to the owner who sat us for dinner, we were treated wonderfully!! The accomodations were beautiful and comfortable!! We were close to Rehoboth, as we went to the outlets and to the boardwalk, and there are many wonderful antique shops close by. Overall we had a wonderful and much needed vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed at the Brick Hotel in May & absolutely loved everything about it -- the decor, the service, the food, the porches, etc. It is peaceful, quiet town but close to Rohoboth Beach & the Cape May/Lewes ferry.
Thanks!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the newer rooms with its own balcony which I used a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had just graduated from a difficult 4 year program at the National Fire Academy and my wife and I were planning on driving back down the coast to spend some time together and to celebrate. Our first stop; Georgetown Delaware. But where to stay? A quick search netted The Brick on the Circle, a unique B&B located close to shopping and beaches. Previous reviews indicated that this place was something special and so I opted to book. As with all of my reviews I will provide the Pros, the Cons, and a Summary.

Pros:
We arrived a little tired and before the actual check-in time of 3 pm. Not to worry; Lynn greeted us with a warm and welcoming smile and immediately gave us a full tour of the property. She gave us some simple instructions as to where to unload, where to park, how to really start enjoying the area. And with "no muss and no fuss" we were checked in. The entire property is tastefully decorated, clean, and welcoming. Lynn took personal care in assuring that The Brick was done with nothing but the finest.
Once all unpacked I headed to the bar. Debby served up an ice cold beer with another warm and welcoming smile and remembered both my name and what I had ordered some two hours later; this sort of employee-guest relationship seemed to prevail at The Brick. Each and every one of the employees we encountered met us with this same warm and friendly attitude.
That evening we enjoyed a dinner in "The Vault". All I can say is that this is a MUST DO. Chef Mark is truly an artist with culinary delights and the entire meal was incredible. He constantly personally checked in to make certain we were enjoying our meal and even gave us some hints and pointers as to just how he managed to get the asparagus so tender and perfect. This man clearly and obviously loves his work and it shows in the end results. Our waitress, Jo, was also simply amazing. Friendliness abounds at The Brick and Jo was no exception. The meal was simply the most incredible experience and food my wife and I have ever enjoyed. If you stay at this property and opt not to take advantage of this incredible restaurant you would truly be missing out on something incredibly special.

Cons:
There are none. Period. Other than the fact that we could not stay longer. There were some other guest with kids (baseball players) running around until 10 pm but promptly at 10 they were quiet until around 6 the next morning. Unfortunately they were going into and out of their rooms allowing the doors to slam but this is not the fault of the property; it was the fault of selfish parents who failed to remind the kids that others might be trying to sleep. Perhaps some signs in the rooms reminding such guest might have prevented this but probably not given their age and energy.

Summary:
If I am ever in Georgetown again Lynn and Company can count on our coming back. This place was just that amazing. From the wonderfully decorated and clean accommadations to the service and food, this was the highlight of our celebrations and I cannot thank The Brick enough for the memories. From towel warms and robes to lovely antique furnishings, this entire B&B is like a wonderful trip back in time. When service, quality, and friendliness meant something and customers were to be treated with respect. Lynn and her entire staff set the bar for how travelers should be treated. I felt appreciated and completely relaxed. I cannot imagine any other property matching the standard The Brick has set. Kudos to all and sincere thanks to them!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in Room 3; there is no room on property that isn't special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, D
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I attended an event in Georgetown that required an overnight stay. There are not too many choices, but the Brick Hotel looked intriguing, and it was only slightly more expensive than the chain motels out on the highway.

The hotel is nice, but the room I stayed in (The Chambers) caused me to give the place a lower rating than otherwise. On the plus side the hotel was well decorated and the room was nicely appointed. Quality furnishings, and lots of extra touches, such as a heated towel bar and a waterfall faucet. On the minus side, the room smelled musty and, due to its location, was quite noisy. It faces the road, so there was street traffic. It is next to the parlor where people get there "breakfast", and the bed is directly under the creaky staircase to the third floor. Not too restful. Breakfast was limited to fruit and muffins. Of course, they do have an all you can eat breakfast for an extra charge in the restaurant downstairs.

So, I was both impressed and disappointed with the Brick Hotel. Perhaps staying in another room would provide a more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the garden side, rather than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deacon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have stayed at The Brick on 3 occasions and always had a pleasant stay. Lynn and Ed are wonderful and attentive hosts to this "boutique" hotel. The facility is top notch and should be among your first options, when in lower Delaware.

Room Tip: The "Tinker" rooms are smaller and don't have elevator access on the 3rd floor - still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel to a friendly reception from Lynn, one of the proprietors, who showed us around, despite obviously being busy getting ready for a wedding. The room was very tastefully decorated, with an electric fireplace for some ambience, and overall very clean and comfortable. The rest of the hotel felt much the same. As it was March and in the high 30s we didn’t spend much time on the veranda or upper porch but I did go out on them for a few moments and got a great sense of how peaceful and relaxing it would be to spend a warm evening up there. There are several common areas, all of which felt relaxing and welcoming.

We had dinner at the hotel, which was pretty darn delicious. The were happy to cater to my wife’s gluten-free diet requirement. She had the ‘fish of the moment’ which was halibut, with sweet potato mash and glazed carrots, and I had the grilled romaine salad, followed by shrimp and polenta ravioli in a shrimp blush sauce (this was SO good!). All of these were very satisfying, and the service we received from Lisa our waitress was excellent.

One might think that there’s not so much to do here in the off season, but we easily filled a weekend exploring Georgetown and the local beach towns about 30 mins away (Rehoboth, Lewes and Bethany for example), and the shops, galleries and restaurants they had to offer - though check before you go if you want a specific restaurant as they may have limited hours in the off season. Also I should mention that Dogfish Head brewery is about 20 mins away in Milton, and for those who appreciate microbrews, it is one of the best breweries in America - plus they offer free samples and a tour. Also 16 mile brewery is just a minute or so from the hotel - a much smaller, local brewery - but nonetheless producing some fine beers, and they have tours and tastings too. If beer isn’t your thing, there are several wineries nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingoqueende, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and next time be sure to also visit Georgetown's local brewery, 16-Mile...just a mile down the road!! Hoping our paths will cross again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
16.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
16.8 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Hotel On The Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Hotel On The Circle

Property: Brick Hotel On The Circle
Address: 18 The Cir, Georgetown, DE 19947-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brick Hotel On The Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brick Hotel On The Circle is a circa 1836 National Historic property that underwent a total restoration in 2008. It was restored to its original use as an Inn with 14 guest rooms with private baths, and each is uniquely furnished with antique beds. Located in the small, historic town of Georgetown, Delaware, we are within 15 miles of resort areas and shopping outlets in Lewes & Rehoboth Beach. Each of our rooms is uniquely different, with rates ranging from $99 - $169/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Kognitiv US Corp and Ebookers so you can book your Brick Hotel On The Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing