We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat, I highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real treat, I highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I travel a lot, and rarely find the Brick's winning combination - the hotel is beautiful - historic but with up-to-date features like wifi & a keurig in the shared kitchen area - the amenities are spot-on, everything is fresh and clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed relaxing on the front balcony overlooking the Circle. The bed was wonderful, too, and I slept like, well, a brick!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Palms room, which was off the road. 2 sides of the hotel are on a road, and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    61
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
248
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband an I just visited the Brick Hotel and we were very pleased!!! The young man at the desk does a great job!!! Rooms were spotless! Wine pairing offered in the evening was a nice touch. The staff at the Hotel does a great job and they think of everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They didn't answer their phone for over a week when I was trying to make the reservation. It took emails from the conference host before they made the reservation.

I had a medical emergency and cancelled before the date of the reservation and they still charged me $25 PER NIGHT, so I paid $50 because it was two nights, and they refunded the rest promptly, but only after I sent the medical proof.

Although I cancelled before the reservation date, they still charged me the first night before the date, and then for another full day even after I cancelled, and only refunded after the proof was sent in. In other words, if you tell them you are staying multiple days then they will bill you for all of those days, even if you don't show and even if you cancel ahead of time. Beware!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
This reservation was connected to a training seminar that had booked our venue. So as to accommodate their attendees, we waived our in-season 10-day cancellation policy and offered them 48 hours. This guest contacted us the week prior to the seminar to secure a reservation. Within that week and less than 48 hours prior to her arrival, she notified us that she had developed carpel tunnel and would be unable to attend; that she would be going to the doctor on Friday. We do offer a refund with medical documentation, otherwise, the reservation is non-refundable. What we received was a simple confirmation of a doctor's visit ... no diagnosis or confirmation that her medical emergency made it impossible for her to travel. Based upon my policies, I truly didn't have to refund the reservation at all.

In terms of making the reservation, she did call us 3 times on a Monday to make her reservation but apparently didn't hear on the voice recording that Mondays are my time away from the Inn, that calls would be returned on Tuesday, and that booking online was a quick option to making a reservation.

We believe we were more than fair with the flexibility we gave those associated with the training, as do event organizers. The great news is that the reviewer is recovering quickly from her carpel tunnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I thought that I would thoroughly enjoy staying at this hotel, and for the most part we did. The room was a little small and there wasn't a dresser for storing clothes. Furthermore, sirens blasted around 10:45 at night and trains 'choo'd at 6:00 in the morning. Not only were those disruptive, but being able to have our room located directly near the sitting room, we could hear those entering late on to our floor chatting amongst themselves. We thought it would have had a little bit more sound proofing. Overall our experience was good, but probably would not stay at this hotel again. It was also a bit of a drive from the beaches

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mryan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
It's not often that we just simply don't fit the bill for our guests, but we surely didn't with this guest, either in the Inn or the Restaurant (two separate reviews). Their stated concerns are, however, legitimate, but we do our best to make sure guests know what they're getting before they make a reservation with us .... 15-20 minutes from the busy beach area (yes, it is a bit of a ride and can be quite a ride depending on summer beach traffic) ... sirens (yes, we're a small town and they do still sound the siren so the firemen will know that something's going on and that emergency vehicles will be on the road; while we try to tell each and every guest this when they check in we do, admittedly, occasionally miss it which is why we make sure that it is in our Guest Handbook, provided in each guest room)....railroad (it's 3 blocks away, I've never heard noise from it -- guess I need to put my ears on) .... right across from The Parlor - indeed it is and is identified as such on the room descriptors. But it's never bad to get a reminder that we may need to reinforce to our Inn guests the need to respect those who have retired for the evening - a definite WILL DO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Brick on August 23rd and 24th, 2013. What a great place! Lynn showed me my room and all the different common rooms for the guests. The room was just like home, I felt so comfortable, the antiques beautiful. Tonja and Nicole were such great housekeepers, the place was spotless! After check out I needed a place to park my car for the day and was told, no problem. When I returned in the afternoon, both Tonja and Nicole called out to me by name and bid me farewell. If I ever get back to Delaware that is where I will stay for sure. My first time on the East Coast was a pleasure.

Room Tip: I have no tips. My room the Mayor's Manor was perfect. I am sure all the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Janet - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! There is no questions that those travelling solo like yourself commonly find The Brick as a very comfortable, safe haven away from home. Hoping that if you're ever back in our neck of the woods, we'll see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were greeted by a young man at the desk upon arrival. He was very friendly and helpful. He immediately showed me around this lovely facility. Our room, as well as the common areas, was meticulously clean. We were there for 2 nights. We had dinner at the restaurant Saturday night, service was great, food was excellent.

The only negative was that the lighting in our bathroom was poor (The Palms). But that being said, I would definitely recommend The Brick to anyone. And we will likely return for another stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palms. Except for the lighting in the bathroom, it was a very clean and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I take great pride in the level of pride that my staff takes with our property! Thank you for your kind words and rest assured, we've made note of your lighting concerns. Thanks for choosing The Brick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were looking for a nice quiet place to relax for a few days and got exactly that. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating this lovely old building, everything is beautiful. The furnishings are some of the most interesting pieces we have seen anywhere. The extra snacks when we arrived after a long hot ride were a nice touch.

The restaurant was very good and the service excellent. We will probably be back. The location was convenient to the beach and the Lewes Ferry. Thanks Lynn for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadster112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, and so happy to hear that you got what you were looking for with your stay at The Brick! Looking forward to our paths crossing again sometime in the future. Happy Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
135 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
487 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
310 reviews
14.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Hotel On The Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Hotel On The Circle

Property: Brick Hotel On The Circle
Address: 18 The Circle, Georgetown, DE 19947-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brick Hotel On The Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brick Hotel On The Circle is a circa 1836 National Historic property that underwent a total restoration in 2008. It was restored to its original use as an Inn with 14 guest rooms with private baths, and each is uniquely furnished. Located in the small, historic town of Georgetown, Delaware, we are within 15 miles of resort areas, beaches and shopping outlets in Lewes & Rehoboth Beach. Each of our rooms is uniquely different, with rates ranging from $110 - $250/night that include continental breakfast and complimentary wine pairing. The Inn is complemented by a full service restaurant & tavern, serving lunch and dinner Tuesday - Saturday, with live dinner music on the weekends. The Brick's restaurant also offers private event venues, offering full service catering and event coordination. Be it a quiet getaway, a visit to the beach without the high prices and hustle bustle, or a special celebration, The Brick has something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brick Hotel On The Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing