We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to beach accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We traveled to the Deleaware shore for a family reunion. Needing accomodations for three nights, we hesitated about staying on the beach as most of the beach hotels are quite expensive and not well kept. We decided to try the Brick Hotel in Georgetown and were very pleased with our decision. Georgetown is a quaint, quiet place just off Route 113. We traveled back and forth to Fenwick Island in about 30-40 minutes, about the same time it might take to get to some parts of Ocean City. We enjoyed the historic quality of the Brick; it is spotlessly clean and well-managed. Our room (Tinker 4) was nicely appointed with antiques and a large bathroom. In the morning we enjoyed fresh fruit, muffins, scones, yogurt and juice at the included continental breakfast. On Sunday, we tried the Brick's $9 all-you-can-eat buffet. It was nice. Selections were limited, but other items were available to order off the menu for an additional charge. We would definitely stay at the Brick again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in the Brick Hotel in downtown Georgetown for 4 nights when visiting the area beaches and real estate while looking at the potential of moving to the area. It was a cheap alternative to the expensive hotels in Lewes or Bethany Beach. We were very impressed the modernization of a fine old small hotel in that everything was clean, well appointed and done with high end luxury features especially in the bath and sitting areas. The only downside was no closet and limited space to put away clothes (I hate living out of a suitcase) especially for 2 people. There was glass corner table with iron chairs that could have been replaced with a corner media center/wardrobe that would have been a better use of space especially given the great seating areas that are common areas outside the room. The common areas had a really well appointed breakfast room including a frig open to guests stocked with juice and yogurt; a counter space with a microwave, coffee and tea service that was also available at all hours; and a side board, table and seating. This was next to a very nice living area with several sofa's and chairs that led out to rooftop/balcony outdoor seating both in the front and back of the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel 3 of the 4 nights and were very pleased with the quality of both the menu and the food despite several issues on the first night that were promptly compensated for (slow kitchen and the wrong meal). The service was professional yet extremely friendly especially the management team (they were everywhere making sure guests felt welcome and satisfied). So why not excellent rating? It's not their fault but the town of Georgetown, like many small towns, is dying due to the nearby big box stores on the highway pulling business from the downtown so signs of decay everywhere. That and the lack of closets / space to hang clothes is a fatal omission especially given the quality of the restoration that had been done.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Third stay, very comfortable property, spacious comfortable rooms for a B&B. Breakfast, fresh fruit, juice, oatmeal, coffee, scones, cakes and coffee are complimentary. Good location, center of town several nice terraces to relax in the evenings. Not much to do in Georgetown we visited for a baseball tournament and it was perfect only 5 minutes from Sports at the Beach. Really nice bar, keep in mind they shut down at 9pm promptly. BYOB for relaxing on the terraces after 9pm.

They had difficulty handling our group of 9 for dinner in the restaurant with only 6-8 other guests dinning. Appetizers took 45 min and main course was served in 4 waves over 35 minutes, total dinner over 2 hours. When we asked the manager she told us they only have a 4-burner stove and limited equipment. Food was very good in the end but I recommend small groups for dinner.

All in all, a really comfortable place, nice attentive staff and recommend it to anyone visiting Georgetown. We will return for a 4th stay.

Room Tip: Third stay and have not had a bad room, all the rooms seem to be some what equal at least for our 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebrickhotelotc, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Glad to hear this guest will be returning! I was sorry to learn that the dinner experience was obviously less than that which he was used to having in his family's previous stays with us. Surely, it is always a good idea for larger groups to give any restaurant a heads-up so that both the staff and kitchen can be prepared, especially when it is embarking on the tail-end of the dinner service hour. While we may have fallen slightly short on dinner service, our server was doing her job to try to pace the service for a leisurely, enjoyable dining experience. Her assessment was that it was a long day of beach and baseball, her guests were both tired and hungry and were ready for a quick and easy dinner. So sorry that we missed the mark this time with them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This place is fabulous! We attended a wedding and stayed in a hotel by Rehoboth Beach, but wish we has stayed here. It's charging, cute, has history and the staff is wonderful! There is even the old bank vault they turned into a wine cellar and private dinning room :)

Will be staying here when we visit again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alicoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying one night at this wonderful property in July for a wedding. The hotel is spotless and beautiful! Our party of 4 arrived early and were pleasantly surprised that our rooms were ready. The rooms are all decorated beautifully and we were welcomed with snack baskets. After an afternoon visit to the beach, we enjoyed having wine on the hotel balcony porch overlooking the lovely Circle. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us. We had coffee, fruit, scones, yogurt and pastry. Shortly thereafter, Lynn, the Hotel's Proprietor, officiated the lovely wedding in the garden. It was an intimate, moving ceremony that none of us will forget. Lynn then cracked open some champagne and we toasted the happy couple! Lynn and the Brick Hotel - A Class Act!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L75317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebrickhotelotc, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It was so wonderful meeting you all and extra special that I could officiate Carl & Giuseppe's wedding ceremony and share in their special celebration!!! Hoping our paths will cross again sometime in the future. Perhaps a 1-year anniversary party?!?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The property is amazing. It was exciting; each room having a different layout and feel. A bed and breakfast feel but a cozy hotel experience. Georgetown is a wonderful, quaint little town, and the Brick Hotel on the Circle is one of the best hotels I've been to. Three cheers. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebrickhotelotc, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

For sure our front veranda overlooking The Circle is a popular spot for our guests who want to relax and watch the world go by!! Some have said that they feel like they are reliving the scene in Back to the Future!! So glad you enjoyed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we really enjoyed our stay. the property is beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in the vines room and everything was spotless. I really enjoyed the front porch overlooking the town square great for morning coffee or late night relaxing. Our room also had a small balcony not big but fine for my wife and I to sit and relax. I would definatly stay again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Georgetown
142 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,056 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
16.4 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Hotel On The Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Hotel On The Circle

Address: 18 The Cir, Georgetown, DE 19947-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: £92 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brick Hotel On The Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brick Hotel On The Circle is a circa 1836 National Historic property that underwent a total restoration in 2008. It was restored to its original use as an Inn with 14 guest rooms with private baths, and each is uniquely furnished. Located in the small, historic town of Georgetown, Delaware, we are within 15 miles of resort areas, beaches and shopping outlets in Lewes & Rehoboth Beach. Each of our rooms is uniquely different, with rates ranging from $110 - $250/night that include continental breakfast and complimentary wine pairing. The Inn is complemented by a full service restaurant & tavern, serving lunch and dinner Tuesday - Saturday, with live dinner music on the weekends. The Brick's restaurant also offers private event venues, offering full service catering and event coordination. Be it a quiet getaway, a visit to the beach without the high prices and hustle bustle, or a special celebration, The Brick has something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brick Hotel On The Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing