We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrington
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here on our way to Bethany Beach, its about an hr. away. The front desk staff greeted us the minute we walked in, they were very friendly and helpful with the local area. Check in was a breeze !
The room was a King room, it was really clean and smelled fresh, not damp and filthy like some places. The free breakfast was actually good, I usually go into the free breakfast thing knowing it is going to be bland to just plain yuck, but their breakfast was good.
Overall this is a nice clean hotel with great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachtravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Harrington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years, but the one in Harrington, DE is a stand-out in my book! We stayed here for two days and selected it because of it's proximity to the DE beaches and the affordable price. Holiday Inn Express has a great reputation, but this facility stood out in my mind from the courteous staff to cleanliness to great free breakfast. We used our Entertainment discount on a King suite. The tub is a bit narrow though. Lovely furniture, flat screen TV, small kitchen/eating area with refrig and microwave. The refrigerator was larger than most. The bathroom had a large vanity with plenty of counter space. A large sofa bed was also in this king suite. There was an outdoor pool with towels available (although we did not get a chance to use it). We really enjoyed the breakfast and the woman who worked there was very pleasant. A good deal and a good price! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerib68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your detailed review of our property. It is great to know that an experienced traveler like yourself takes the time to commend our customer service and appreciate our hotel amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was here over the weekend with my sister and sister in law for a weekend getaway to the beach. We arrived early around 11am on Saturday, check in time is usually anytime after 3pm but, they were able to check us in early. Extremely friendly and nice staff. We had a king room suite. It was clean and very comfortable. They offer free breakfast in the morning. The eggs were not very tasty but, they had so many other items on the buffet that you could get full off everything else.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Harrington-Dover area and personally I would go back again and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We are pleased we were able to accommodate your request for an early check in. We are also happy to know you have found our free hot breakfast buffet to have a variety of items to choose from. Next time you visit try our hot pancake machine if you haven't already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Clean, newer, well maintained & staffed hotel. Delightful, helpful staff. 33 easy miles to Lewes Ferry & beaches. 1 mile from casino, which I didn't know about. Staff encouraged me to go obtain a player's card for a better discount than my AAA one. Nice continental breakfast, good assortments. Fabulous outdoor pool no one seems to use! They have a coupon for discounting a local restaurant, nothing fancy but good food. The only negative: the towels in the room - they did exfoliate my skin. If you have sensitive skin, seriously, bring your own towels. Otherwise, a terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: I had king size bed, very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zilli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with our property. We are glad you found our hotel to be conveniently located for your travel to the Delaware Beaches. The Harrington Casino is definitely the thing to do while you are in town. If you visit us again take advantage of the free weekend shuttle to the Casino. Also, we will make sure to pass along your comment concerning the towels to our housekeeping department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I can't comment on the hotel itself, however, I can comment on the level of customer service. I accidentally made reservations on the wrong date and as a result missed my stay - I was a "no show". Obviously I was not aware of my mistake at time and didn't figure it out until the day I thought I had reservations. The hotel was booked for that night, so I was out of luck. And, of course, according to policy was charged for the night I was a "no show". I spoke with the manager hoping to get some accommodation but the manager was not willing to make any adjustment. Wouldn't remove the charge, wouldn't provide a credit...nothing, just stated that she was very sorry but that was the policy. Clearly not concerned about any future business, or working with a customer on a simple, human mistake. Won't stay here. Ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Ken W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel and would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding this matter.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere, but was cheap compared to beach prices so we stayed. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was lacking and we ended up skipping it. The televisions were old. The internet was spotty. Overall it was a fine place to stay if you find yourself in need of lodging in Harrington, DE.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackJennPetefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We booked this hotel for a family reunion. We booked based on some of the reviews as we had never been to this area before. Upon arriving in our room the AC unit was making a loud banging noise. No problem as within 5 minutes we were relocated. The facility was extremely clean in the public areas, the hallways and especially the rooms. Every member of the desk crews, housekeeping and breakfast staff were exceptionally friendly. There was no evidence of the smell of smoke contrary to what was posted earlier here. The breakfast was better than expected so we cancelled plans to visit one of the nearby diners. Overall, this facility displayed evidence of a well managed operation staffed by employees who care about the customers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdm1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

We are delighted you chose our property for your family event and that you have enjoyed your room and our breakfast buffet. We hope to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrington
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Harrington
334 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#1 of 3 in Milford
420 reviews
6.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
317 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrington

Address: 17271 S Dupont Hwy, Harrington, DE 19952-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Harrington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harrington
Price Range: £70 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Delaware and Kent County s 'smartest' secret, the 2007 Quality Excellence award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Harrington. Located less than a mile from the Harrington Raceway and Casino and just south of Dover Air Force Base, this property offers much to travelers. Centrally positioned, we are also a short drive from Dover Downs Speedway and Casino and Delaware beaches. Many businesses such as Color Box, Perdue, Baltimore Air Coil, and Pepsi are within minutes of the hotel. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar then enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Don't forget about the area's numerous tax free shopping opportunities! Cap off your night by trying you luck at either of our two local casinos then come back and relax in our Smart Bedding Collection. Let us be your host and you will know why our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrington Hotel Harrington
Holiday Inn Harrington
Harrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing