We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi Sunshine”

Okura Japanese Cuisine Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Hockessin
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sushi Sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Do you feel that sushi places have become ubiquitous? Noisy, overcrowded and honestly, a bit rushed, with not-so-friendly service? Well then we have a secret. Ok, maybe not so much a secret, as Okura, our favorite place to be, has been rated one of The Best Of Delaware by its readers and editors and has many faithful happy regulars.

We have never had a bad meal or experience at Okura. We choose to celebrate major occasions here as they are always consistent in both food and service. More importantly you will be treated as a long lost friend, and those who've eaten at the sushi bar seem hestitant to leave after that last delicious bite, due to the friendly faces who share tales and laughs and are also sushi chefs extraordinaire.

If you prefer to dine at sea level the tatami rooms are quite comfortable and spacious and wonderful for a group experience or a romantic private evening. Wherever you choose to sit, and whenever you arrive, you will find a warm, cozy retreat, an extensive menu, and a staff who will feel like fun family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scintillate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sushi heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Fresh sushi and a staff that treats you like family. What more can you ask for? Sit in a tatami room with your family and celebrate as we do. Or, come by yourself and sit at the sushi bar and chat with the chef. He is amazing and pretty funny too. Amy and Victor, the owners go out of their way to accommodate your dietary needs and their special rolls are exquisite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Options4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best sushi and staff around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I treat ourselves with night out at Okura. Always super fresh sushi. Amy, the owner always makes suggestions that she knows we will like. Grab a seat at the sushi bar for the most fun!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kedwards91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We sat at the bar which was an excellent idea, because we were able to talk with the the two sushi chefs preparing the food. They prepared some excellent dishes and rolls for my guests and their personality and conversation added to the excellent dishes. The service was outstanding.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County's Brandywine Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best Place Around for Sushi & Sashimi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We've been getting takeout here for about five years. We recently got practically the same order -- a sashimi deluxe dinner, plus two specialty sushi rolls -- from both Okura and another nearby restaurant, just two weeks apart. (I won't name it, but for locals, the one in the Lowes shopping center in Avondale.)

We had never had two sashimi/sushi meals so close together, and we were really surprised at the reaction we both had. The Okura meal was SO much better! Bigger and fresher portions of raw seafood on the sashimi platter, and the sushi rolls were wrapped better so they didn't disintegrate when dipped in soy sauce. For about the same price as the other place, we thought we got much better value from Okura.

Once or twice I have had to wait longer than I thought was reasonable for the takeout order, which is why I'm not awarding the fifth dot. So call ahead (as I've learned to do) and arrive 5-10 minutes after the promised time. You'll be very happy with the quality and quantity of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wythany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okura Japanese Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Okura Japanese Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing