We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian charm and elegance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The John Penrose Virden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The John Penrose Virden House
Ranked #5 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Victorian charm and elegance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were welcomed w/ fresh flowers, fresh fruit, and a choice of charming rooms. Gourmet breakfast in front of fire, choice of wine or tea before dinner on a lovely front porch. Innkeepers, Jim and Ruth very gracious.We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkreinecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent two nights (Sept. 4 and 5) at the Virden House. It was sheer delight! Ruth and Jim Edwards are wonderful hosts. They prepare the most delicious breakfasts and serve them on the porch where you are surrounded by a lovely garden. The house is decorated with priceless antiques. Check out the bar in the dining room that came from a ship.
I highly recommend this B and B if your plans take you to Lewes.
Consider taking the ferry as there is a shuttle bus that leaves you within a few steps of the Virden house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne11209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Ruth was probably one of the nicest, most charming hostesses I have ever met. The food was delicious, the place was comfortable, interesting décor, it was all just so relaxing. I will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: all were extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katz5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

wow! what can we say. ruth and jim both made us feel very welcomed. Each morning we were excited to learn what Ruth had prepared for breakfast. Always a surprise!

Everything was delicious and very well presented. They pay very special attention to details and the services they provide. We ate breakfast each morning on the front porch in the heart of downtown lewes!

If your looking for a place to stay while in Lewes, dont stay in a hotel. Stay at John Viden BB. You wont be disappointed!

We will most definitely return soon

Abbey and Nate K.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nknight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The owners, Ruth and Jim are attentive to every detail. They are very friendly and make you feel like you are at home. The John Penrose Virden House bed and breakfast rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. This historic building is beautifully maintained. The breakfast that Ruth prepares each morning is incredibly delicious and different everyday. We will definitely be back soon! Maria and Frank G.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Virden House Bed and Breakfast. The experience was fantastic. Ruth and Jim could not have treated us better. The house and rooms were beautiful. We stayed in the Yort cottage and enjoyed coffee and cake each morning before breakfast. Ruth catered to all diets and her breakfasts were wonderful. We have recommend this B&B to our parents hoping they will enjoy the stay as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The finest, most attention to detail, most pleasant hosts of any B & B in which we have stayed.
Ruth and Jim(owners) couldn't have been more warm and attentive. Not to mention Ruth's out-of-this-world breakfasts. And the facilities were superb! All well appointed rooms and large, comfortable bedrooms. The colorful garden provided beautiful, fresh flowers throughout the house and front porch daily. All this and it's only a short(sometimes only one block) walk to several fine restaurants and attractions. If you're in this area, don't miss this gem of a B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
17.1 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Penrose Virden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Penrose Virden House

Property: The John Penrose Virden House
Address: 217 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The John Penrose Virden House Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing